We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel....Good/Safe location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We recently returned from a European trip which included a cruise out of Rotterdam. The trip was with my 72 year old parents, so we needed a quality, safe hotel in Amsterdam that was in a good location. We selected the Renaissance based on the reviews and a relatively good rate that was available.

My parents loved the hotel, and even said it helped make Amsterdam a much more comfortable place to visit.

The renovation was very well done, so that all the public areas are beautiful and the rooms are top notch. I agree with another poster though that you should avoid getting a room with a number in the 900's, as these are in a separate building on the SECOND floor (not the ninth floor as the number would suggest). Also, it's a long walk with your bags to the room.

A couple of other things to watch out for at this hotel. First, the senior concierge staff are on the take, so to speak, as they have side deals with cabs and will try to make things using public transportation seem very difficult so they can book you a cab or a tour. They had my parents convinced to take a taxi to Rotterdam instead of the train (and a cab once we got there to the cruise terminal). The cost was $150US, but we took the train AND the cab in Rotterdam for 4 people and it only cost $70 Canadian. Needless to say, I wasn't very impressed with this concierge.

The other thing has been mentioned many times. Unless it is included in your hotel rate, and you cannot get a lower rate by rejecting it, do NOT get the included breakfast. It is very, very over priced (although nice) and with the savings per person you can enjoy a nice breakfast at many of the area restaurants (within an easy short walk). Again, this will ensure some significant per day savings.

Overall, this is a quality Marriott property in a good location, within easy walking distance (even with suitcases) from the central train station. By the way, you go out the front of the train station, across the canal and walk to the RIGHT past two main streets with lights. Turn left and walk along that street for about 200 yards, then the road forks, take the right one and you'll see a small Renaissance hotel sign (this is not the front of the hotel, relax!). It is also centrally positioned for public transportation (trams, subway, HOHO etc), as well as being within easy walking distance to Dam square and the famous Red Light District.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coldcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,297)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,502 - 2,508 of 3,298 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Convienently situated next to the main station, shopping, and red lights district. The hotel has all basics a business traveller would need: comfortable bed, an ironing board, a small but sufficient fitness room, a decent kitchen and very attentive, freindly and helpful staff.

Things less rosy: strong foul smell, sometimes even stinking in the rooms and corridors. The room #125 is located next to the ventilation pipe - the room is either stinky (window closed) or noisy (window open) at night.

The cleaning ladies are doing a good job, it is carpeting which is well beyond its term and smells so terribly..

I'm not sure whether I'd recommend thid hotel to a friend - for such quality of rooms it's rather expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbee2ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Great location, modern hotel however please make sure that your room is not in the 900's which is the back of the hotel. I was kept awake until 4.30am by a party in the residential apartments next to the hotel. The hotel were powerless to do anything but it meant i had little sleep that night.

Recommend it so long as you can pick your room

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Pros:
- Excellent location! Right where all the action is (bars, etc), yet nicely tucked behind. Spuistraat is a wonderful walk and so is Singel, 50 meters or so from the hotel. Close to shopping, within walking distance of the train station, etc.
- Good rooms, some larger than others. I've stayed twice and the difference in size was significant.
- Good gym facilities (access to sauna and steam room).
- Professional and friendly staff.
- Amazingly comfy beds

Cons:
- The rate fluctuates a lot. I ended up with 118 euros/night but it had gone up and down quite a bit.
- Some rooms can be a bit small by some standards, but it is the Netherlands.
- They seem to be a bit cheap on the amenities. You don't get a robe & slippers by default. You have to specifically ask, then you get it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asmartscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the maiin train station that connects Amsterdam to the airport and is easy to find.
The staff were very helpful and gave us a good map and drew on where we should see and even made meal recommendations for us.
The staff were all very helpful, considerate and pleasant.
We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel after we had checked out and collect it just before we made our way back to the train station for the airport.
Mini bar prices etc are as you would expect iin a business class hotel but there are so many cafes and bars nearby that you absolutely do not have to eat in the hotel and I would recommend you don't because of the price.
The hotel is in an area that feels safe (we were 2 female friends on a city break).
The only down side was that we struggled to control the temperature iin the room effectively. First night we were really cold, then really hot, then just really hot the following night! Our room, although nice, overlooked a huge car park behind the hotel but, having said that, we didn't spend too many daylight hours in there so it really didn't matter.
Not really a child friendly sort of hotel....very businessy, but that's what we were after.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amytomsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on May bank holiday weekend with 2 friends. This was our 2nd time in Amsterdam, and having stayed in an absolute dump the last time, i couldn't believe how nice this hotel was for similar money. It's a 10 min walk from Dam train station, on a quiet, leafy street. We checked in and left our bags in the room, room was on 6th floor, spotlessly clean with 2 double beds and a MASSIVE, very fancy bathroom. When we came back later we found that the staff had added a third bed, a single fold out type, when they saw it was 3 lads. Fair play to them, that was a nice touch. Overall i highly recommend this hotel, very plush, comfortable and clean, and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel was outstanding with every detail attended to. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want the comfort of an American chain with large rooms and top-notch service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgallo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,465 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,921 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#22 of 371 in Amsterdam
215 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $203 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing