We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on May bank holiday weekend with 2 friends. This was our 2nd time in Amsterdam, and having stayed in an absolute dump the last time, i couldn't believe how nice this hotel was for similar money. It's a 10 min walk from Dam train station, on a quiet, leafy street. We checked in and left our bags in the room, room was on 6th floor, spotlessly clean with 2 double beds and a MASSIVE, very fancy bathroom. When we came back later we found that the staff had added a third bed, a single fold out type, when they saw it was 3 lads. Fair play to them, that was a nice touch. Overall i highly recommend this hotel, very plush, comfortable and clean, and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,569 - 2,575 of 3,374 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel was outstanding with every detail attended to. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want the comfort of an American chain with large rooms and top-notch service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgallo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I just returned from a two week European vacation where my husband and I stayed in a variety of properties in multiple EU countries. This hotel was definitely one of the better stays we had during our trip. During our stay at the Renaissance we were extremely pleased with the great location and modern amenities of this hotel. We rode the train during our trip and when we arrived in Amsterdam, the hotel was literally a short walk across the street with our luggage; no need for a cab or any other mode of transportation besides good walking shoes. The hotel is located in the center of the tourist attractions & the staff was immensely helpful with any information that we requested. The room was immaculate and the service was impeccable. The only negative I can remember is that going to the rooms there are a series of steps with no built in rolling ramps for luggage. The concierge will deliver your luggage to the room for you though, so you don't have to struggle with suitcases. I appreciate a nice hotel & definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in the vicinity of all the main tourist attractions with a clean, modern room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZetaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

While I have a certain impression of European Hotels, the Renaissance proved to be a marked exception. From trying to help us with an early checkin, helping with getting us a room that was large enough for our 2 kids and us to the incredible deal that we had where the kids could eat free, we had a wonderful stay at this Hotel.

The Breakfast Buffet (which was included in our rate) was wonderful and our kids really are well. The only downside was that the Coffee machine would occassionally go into a self cleaning mode which could take about 15 minutes. The Hotel has a great free coffee machine in the mornings from where one can take a fill.

The great location (not far from Central Station/Dam Square) is an obvious plus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GagsDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Let's start with the good: 1) great location, walking distance to Centraal Station 2) newly renovated, everything brand new 3) rooms were well appointed, adequate size for Europe, certainly NOT 5 stars 4) complimentary coffee in the lobby during the early morning hours

Now for the bad: 1) No customer service whatsoever-pretty non-chalant about everything 2) need more elevators and they seemed to have missed the ones they have during the renovations-one elevator doubles as a guillotine if you don't enter within the first 3 seconds 3) it is a very busy business hotel with many people trying to get information from the front desk or the concierge 4) they need another concierge, at least during the busy hours 4) they charge for everything-$7.00US for 15 minutes on the internet!

To be fair, we had two serious issues with the hotel during our six night stay and the hotel did respond. The first incident took a bit of doing and reminding later on about their agreement; the second incident had an immediate and surprisingly fair response. The one staff person who truly understood customer service and how to run a hotel was Guus Verhulst-outstanding hotel representative. Marriott should put him in charge of the whole place.

Perhaps the most frustrating thing is the way you have to reach the front desk or concierge from a phone in the room. There is one button called "Delighted to Serve" ;ironically, it seems they are neither-they are not delighted and they do not serve. I attempted to use it and many times you are left on hold before speaking to anyone for long periods of time. I was connected to the wrong room a couple of times, I received misconnected calls, and yet it is the only button you can use to get anyone in the hotel. If you press "0" you get the acutal operator from the phone company.

My brother in another room had as many or more issues and miscues on the part of the hotel all related to rather simple requests and service. The difficult part is that you have a certain expectation from the Marriott name and brand so it is doubly disappointing when they fail to deliver. It would take a long time before I give this hotel another shot.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjpbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I know I'm about a year behind on this review, but after dealing with other Amsterdam hotels this year that were not as good I thought it would be nice to say something nice about one of the better hotels in town.
The hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms look great! They're spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge!
The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Had it almost every morning while in town.
Great location, easy to walk around everywhere from the hotel and was a short walk away from the station. Yet far enough away from the loud streets so you could sleep at night.
Down sides - the breakfast is great, but is a little pricey even for a hotel breakfast. After we booked the room we called the hotel to verify that we will not be on a floor that is close to the construction noises, but when we checked in we could lean out the window and have a conversation with the workers... not quiet. We moved up to a higher floor and paid the extra money to do so with no complaints, but were disappointed that we had to do so since we called in advance to ensure that the construction would not be able to be heard if we were to book with them.
Final disappointment, again, not a huge deal but seems to happen all the time when booking a Marriott, we were asked if we would like a smoking or nonsmoking room, requested smoking, and arrived at the hotel to find out that the entire hotel was a nonsmoking hotel. Again, not a big deal but it is disappointing when you're assured something on the phone and find the contrary when checking in.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We booked through www.expedia.com and got an AWESOME rate! WAY cheaper than what friends of ours paid for and they weren't even staying in as nice of places or in such a great location. It's about a five minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station and it's really easy to find. Check-in was quick, easy, and friendly and there's a concierge who can help you book tours (plus a great free map...maps run 2 euro at tourist stops). The location is great; it's on the edge of the red light district, the trams run nearby, it's quiet and safe, there's a bunch of restaurants and cafes nearby. Really...we were very impressed. We're Americans living in Europe so we travel a lot and this is the best place we've stayed in for the money we paid (we got really lucky with the price though too...$227 total for a Saturday and Sunday night...). The hotel was very clean, the rooms were nice, the bed was "cushy," and really...I can't stop saying good things about this place. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it was 20 euro per person; instead we went around the corner and got breakfast for 10 euro per person :) Safety - we got back really late one night after being out and there was a security guard that verified our information when we came back before letting us in the door to the hotel. For the British, Americans, and Australians: This is a five star hotel, but because it's Europe, it's not flashy 5-star (just something to remember). We travel Europe a lot and there is a difference so don't feel ripped off because you don't get the jacuzzi or huge room you usually get. This place is very nice and lavish though.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank areyouserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#205 of 374 in Amsterdam
40 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $185 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing