We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay in an amazing city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #94 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in an amazing city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a romantic one night stay as a little treat before we went away on our honeymoon.

It was an amazing place and top quality service as you would expect in a 5*. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.

It was also located in the heart of Amsterdam which was great!

Highly advise anyone to stay here if you are considering it! We will certainly be returning!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    1,286
    387
    126
    74
See reviews for
476
1,212
155
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great front of house staff but back office needs to be more responsive.

We stayed here and were upgraded to Elite status with access to club room with free buffet breakfast. We have no problems with accomodation, room or staff.

However, as we were there over weekend breakfast was only available in Scossa Restaurant and we were charged €28.50 each per day, poor value for medicore fare. At check out were told this is normal as club room only operates Monday to Friday.

We had a meal one evening in the Café and three weeks later the charge is still held against debit card despite the cost being debited and paid on the night.

I've contacted hotel, both by phone and email, to release this pre-authorisation and as of now it is still held 18 days later and have yet to even receive an acknowledgement.

Room Tip: Careful you don't have rooms X10. They opposite ice machnes and overlook an alley where bottles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridhlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

It is a very short walk from the train station on a quiet road in a decent area. As a platinum member I was upgraded, given access to their executive lounge, free Wi-Fi. Welcome gift options were not the best (drinks/ light snacks only) so opted for points. The room was a good size with sofa/coffee table and desk areas. The bathroom was OK with a combined bath and shower but not the best toiletries. The lounge was really good though - quiet large, decent breakfast options, afternoon tea with small treat selection, hot and cold snacks at night with free beer and wine only available from 5:30 to 9:30. It has an internet connected computer with printer that was free for use. When the lounge is not open for breakfast at weekends, they let you have their restaurant's breakfast buffet for free.

I would stay here again if the rate is competitive but do not believe it is worth a premium over similar hotels such as the nearby Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC_UKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ok so your in Amsterdam but you want it to feel like something your used to so you pay up for this place. It's typical Marriottesk I was very upset with no check in before 3pm (even for platinum member) room keys don top floor did not work first time and very strict on no alcohol in the lounge before 5.30pm. Food is decent & bed is what you know, rooms are smaller and price much higher than the states. If you can use points great, otherwise you are paying a lot more for a taste of what you are used to in the states

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet especially courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate hearing from our Platinum Elite Members, and apologize for your experience.
We invite you to contact us direclty at renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com
with your feedback on what exactly went wrong, so that we will have a chance to investigate and to get back to you in
person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel last week. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city's attraction within a short stroll. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcomed and at home. The room was well layed out and very good size. We opted for an upgrade to Club status so as to enjoy the additional benefits i.e. Free Internet and access to the Club Lounge with Breakfast, Tea Break and Happy Hour, a treat after a hard day of sightseeing and shopping. Everything was perfect and we will definitely come back to the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel!

Helpful?
Thank dsmyip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Superb location. Walking distance to the main train station, even with luggage. The rooms are a bit on the small side. The breakfast buffet, if included in your room charge, is wonderful. If not, the cost is exorbitant. Service was friendly and helpful (giving out maps with directions to pre-reserved restaurants). I give this an average rating because for the cost, one might expect more. But, the hotel is a nice one, if a bit costly for what it is.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiles3usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We did receive your feedback regarding your stay.
We invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com
with your feedback on what exactly went wrong, so that we will have a chance to investigate and to get back to you in
person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam for two days prior to our River Cruise.
Hotel staff was excellent and the room was spacious and clean. It wasn't ready when we arrived at 9 in the morning(after the overnight plane ride), but was made available by noon.

Hotel is centrally located in the City. So it was easy to walk around town and return to the hotel, as needed.
Getting to the port for the ship was an easy 10 minute cab ride. The more adventurous could walk.
An excellent choice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing