We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient Location With Clean, Comfortable Rooms and Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #85 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient Location With Clean, Comfortable Rooms and Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We moved to this hotel after a disappointing experience at our original booking. It was very comfortable with an up-to-date bathroom. Easy walk to canals and nice restaurants, but quiet at night for sleeping. A big bonus was the club room, included for travelers on United Airlines with Silver or Gold status. The club room had unlimited beverages and coffee, plus fantastic snacks in the afternoon and a delicious buffet breakfast. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    1,150
    339
    110
    61
See reviews for
409
1,057
139
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nicely decorated room, with a good soft bed, but:

1) very small. You have to squeeze around the end of the bed, and there is no room at all for luggage

2) a lot of traffic noise

3) my pet hate: Internet at 80 euros for the week. It's provided through Swisscom, so when it didn't work you end up getting put through to a Swisscom call centre rather than somebody that can sort the problem out at the hotel

There are far better hotels in the same locale, such as the excellent Crowne Plaza over the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigvanderLinden, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We were very sorry to learn that you encountered various inconveniences
and we wish to express our sincere apologies.
We will review your comments with our team and hope you will visit us again,
so that we can regain your confidence in our service and reputation.
With best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you want to be close to the major attractions in Amsterdam the Renaissance is perfect. It has one of the best exercise rooms in Europe and the staff is very responsive to your needs. The cafe is also a very good lunch spot.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Best location to see the city. Close to AMS-Centraalstation and everything else. Friendly staff and spotless clean rooms in really good conditions. A lot of business travelers from the US and Asia, but you never felt to be out of place. Great bar. We could recomend for everyone from 30 to 80. Not the spot for partypeople in their twenties, but I don't think they want that to be.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank typhoon-FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Boys flying trip to the dam, did everything we needed it to...clean, efficient staff, breakfast worked. Bad bit- when I got back to the UK I found they had double charged me for the room. When I questioned this, having had to phone the hotel in Amsterdam I was told that my friends card provider had rejected the payment even though he had a receipt confirming it had gone through, they then put his share on my card without contacting me which I believe is fraudulent...

Thankfully my friend checked his bank when I mentioned this (after swearing blind he had paid) & found it had been re credited a couple of days after.

So in summary, CHECK YOUR STATEMENT!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Russsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very clean property within walking distance of the central railway station and the old town. Club lounge and reception staff are very good. Would recommend this property for leisure and business travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DollherBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend on a city break, it's a business type hotel so the design reflects this. The hotel is really central and about 4 mins walk from the train station. We requested a high floor and got a nice room on the 4th floor with a view. The room was spacious, the beds are really soft - too soft for our taste - but they had lovely feather pillows.
All the staff we met were really friendly and there is always a 'navigator' in the lobby to help with directions. We didn't get breakfast on our package because it was so expensive ( €28 each per day) but there's lots of nice cafés on the canals nearby.
Tips: ask for a room on a high floor to minimise street noise, request extra towels - we only got one 'bath' towel each and the other towels are teeny.
Restaurant Tip: La Pearla in the Jordaan area is famous for its pizzas but you'll have to book in advance - we didn't so we went to another Italian restaurant 'Assaggi's' on the same street. We had a lovely meal and they serve late ( they were still taking orders at 11pm on Fri). There's also lots of lively bars in this area so it's a good spot for a night out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,942 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing