We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good property in a great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #82 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good property in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you want to be close to the major attractions in Amsterdam the Renaissance is perfect. It has one of the best exercise rooms in Europe and the staff is very responsive to your needs. The cafe is also a very good lunch spot.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    1,232
    368
    118
    70
See reviews for
448
1,160
153
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Best location to see the city. Close to AMS-Centraalstation and everything else. Friendly staff and spotless clean rooms in really good conditions. A lot of business travelers from the US and Asia, but you never felt to be out of place. Great bar. We could recomend for everyone from 30 to 80. Not the spot for partypeople in their twenties, but I don't think they want that to be.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank typhoon-FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Boys flying trip to the dam, did everything we needed it to...clean, efficient staff, breakfast worked. Bad bit- when I got back to the UK I found they had double charged me for the room. When I questioned this, having had to phone the hotel in Amsterdam I was told that my friends card provider had rejected the payment even though he had a receipt confirming it had gone through, they then put his share on my card without contacting me which I believe is fraudulent...

Thankfully my friend checked his bank when I mentioned this (after swearing blind he had paid) & found it had been re credited a couple of days after.

So in summary, CHECK YOUR STATEMENT!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Russsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very clean property within walking distance of the central railway station and the old town. Club lounge and reception staff are very good. Would recommend this property for leisure and business travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DollherBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend on a city break, it's a business type hotel so the design reflects this. The hotel is really central and about 4 mins walk from the train station. We requested a high floor and got a nice room on the 4th floor with a view. The room was spacious, the beds are really soft - too soft for our taste - but they had lovely feather pillows.
All the staff we met were really friendly and there is always a 'navigator' in the lobby to help with directions. We didn't get breakfast on our package because it was so expensive ( €28 each per day) but there's lots of nice cafés on the canals nearby.
Tips: ask for a room on a high floor to minimise street noise, request extra towels - we only got one 'bath' towel each and the other towels are teeny.
Restaurant Tip: La Pearla in the Jordaan area is famous for its pizzas but you'll have to book in advance - we didn't so we went to another Italian restaurant 'Assaggi's' on the same street. We had a lovely meal and they serve late ( they were still taking orders at 11pm on Fri). There's also lots of lively bars in this area so it's a good spot for a night out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just got back from a city break (17/03/14 to 21/03/14) to Amsterdam. What an experience!!! Firstly, the journey from Schiphol Airport to the Renaissance hotel was a piece of ....... was very easy. Catch one of the frequent trains (approx every 15 mins) to Amsterdam Centraal station (4 euros), then exit the station on the south side towards the town. Bear right towards the taxi rank then cross the bridge over the canal and head straight over at the traffic light controlled cross roads. The hotel is approx a 3 minute walk from here down a side turning on your right. Simples!!!
As you enter the lobby through the revolving door you are welcomed by any number of friendly, English speaking staff, all waiting to help you as much as they can. The whole decor and ambience is one of quality. If your room isn't quite ready then don't worry, they will store your luggage in a secure room whilst you start exploring) we even received a call on my mobile when our room was ready...hows that for service?). The 2B Lounge Bar on the lower ground floor is very warm and comfortable where you can order hot or cold drinks and quality food from an extensive bar menu (I'm not a big burger eater but I thought I'd give the one on the menu a try. It was probably one of the best burgers I've tasted).
Now....about our room (244). It had everything we needed for our stay (kettle, ice bucket (ice machine down corridor on same floor), iron, ironing board, hairdryer, full length mirror, fridge, tv, expensive wifi ;-) ). The bed was huge and very comfortable. The view from the window was of the 17th century domed Koepelchurch conference/event venue and a small restaurant in an old traditional looking building. The room was made up every day by the excellent maid service.
We had paid for breakfast when booking our room so when we saw how much effort had gone into the huge offering, it would have been rude not to try it all ;-). (Note to self...must go on a diet now). Once again, the staff were very polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble (if you would prefer your eggs a different way then just ask).
To sum it all up, we were lucky to have found this hotel on Airmiles (or should I say Avios) so we don't think our finances would have stretched to paying the full rate. The hotel was very clean and the decor and finishes were to a high standard. The food was also to a high standard as my now rather oversized stomach will confirm. The location was perfect and we would definitely book this hotel again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard would be quieter but your view would be sacrificed. More chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exocet350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedwig v, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, the service and our offerings. We were indeed very happy to learn that your city break to Amsterdam and to the Renaissance was a great experience and that our ambassadors were able to assist you in
making your visit a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back, next time your travels will bring you to Amsterdam again.
With best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Four of stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam during Easter week 2013 and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have stated the hotel is in a perfect situation - 5 minutes from Centraal Station, 5 minutes walk to Dam Square and in the other direction lots of lovely streets to wander around beside Amsterdam's beautiful canals. The hotel is the perfect base for exploring this exciting city - we mainly walked and also used the canal transportation, again easily accessible from the hotel.

Our rooms were allocated in different parts of the hotel, we were in the main hotel close to reception and our friends were situated quite a walk away in the annex wing although this did not cause any problems. Both rooms were very comfortable and clean, the bathrooms were modern and spotless with the usual amenities. We slept well and were more than comfortable. We had breakfast included in our rate which we all thoroughly enjoyed - an excellent buffet with varied choices of hot and cold food.

Most evenings we returned to the hotel bar for a night cap and found this a relaxing, enjoyable environment to end our day exploring.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying in the Renaissance Amsterdam when I return to Amsterdam. And Amsterdam is definitely a European city you should visit at least once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#77 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing