We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
FunkyMiya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my sister. It was my first time in Amsterdam and this hotel was perfectly placed. A five minute walk from the station (Centraal) but slightly confusing as to how to get there. Luckily there were signs for the hotel. As this was at the back of the main road it was fairly quiet and was not disturbed during the night. Check in was smooth, the staff pleasant giving us information as to where to eat etc. Our room was a nice decent size. I personally thought it was spacious but my sister thought otherwise (had stayd in larger apparently). There was no wifi in the rooms, however you could access it in the corridor and there is complimentary wifi in the lobby. The room included an iron and ironing board together with safe.

As you leave the hotel, there are many places to eat. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was fairly pricey. There is also a supermarket a couple of minutes on a small strip of where food places are. If you are looking for views from your room, this is not the best place but fantastically located. 5 minute walk from Dam Square and the station. There was a canal literally a stone's throw away from the hotel.

The night before you check out, your invoice is slipped under your door to reflect any charges you have incurred. We had to pay City Tax is not included so don't forget to make allowance for that.

Fantastic location but price should have included breakfast or wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,170
    344
    110
    63
See reviews for
420
1,073
139
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable bed. Food in restaurant is fine, but expensive, would suggest that you eat at any of the nearby restaurants.
Close to central station, an easy walk

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank weechancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Rennaisance Amsterdam. We appreciate hearing from you and will use your feedback to improve our services and offerings. We look forward to having you as our guest on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed here thrice in the past 2 weeks. Excellent location - a stone's throw from Amsterdam Centraal station. Rooms are very elegantly furnished and the lounge is first rate. Very much central and a joy to be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SajivKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was staying with my wife in this hotel for 5 nights.
Hotel is very convenient located only 5 minutes walk from central railway station. Most city attractions are walkable from the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room was very good, nice furnished and decorated, very clean and comfortable.
Our room (3rd Floor) was very quiet, facing the main street and the side alley.
Breakfast was great but very expensive. (In our case, breakfast was included - Highly recommended).

Downsides:-
- Internet in the room is very expensive.
- The hotel does not have facilities you are expecting to find in a 5 stars hotel:- No Spa, No Jacuzzi, No swimming pool....
- Housekeeping Is a little bit flimsy: -
They kept charging us false bills for consuming items from the minibar (all cancelled at check out).
For a strange reason, they did not put a new soap bar every day, and we have request it many times.
Only one night they offer us a courtesy chocolate bar.

Room Tip: Avoid using the hotel internet service. Book your room with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great hotel. Friendy staff. Beautiful hotel lobby. The room was spacious, even for four people. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was also nice and spacious. WIFI was slightly expensive, as was the buffet breakfast - but there was at least a good selection. Wonderfully located. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Staff at hotel was wonderful and helpful especially Boet at navigator desk and Browyn at guest services. Fabulous location and clean room with great matresses. Found the hotel to be very guiet (room 541). Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie042272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
238 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel was really good, and I enjoyed my stay. Perfect position in the center but at the same time in a quite street. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good breakfast and most of all, amazing personell. It is not easy to find this level of kindness in the Netherlands, but here everyone was perfect. Even the maintenance guy in the elevator was kind. I would indeed come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,413 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing