We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a very clean and well located hotel. Convenient to the central station and Ann Franke House. Staff is very cordial and efficient. Had a very pleasant stay, would recommend. If you are a Marriott gold member, has a very nice concierge lounge with a terrific coffee/espresso maker.

Room Tip: Rooms are for the most part small but quite comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nchomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Best location, near to all attractions, even naughty ones. You can find Bus, Taxi, Tram, Central station all jus few steps away. An evening stroll by the rivers, other popular attractions, Curio shops, gen. shopping, all easily reachable from this hotel.

Room Tip: Look out for rooms with window not opening to nearby building, common in Amsterdam.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopikrishnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel has an amazing location and the staff was extremely friendly to us. I traveled with my family to Amsterdam for a long weekend and we had the best time there.

They offer to us a upgrade which included access to the club lounge which was well worth for chilling out after a long day and have a drink or two with our family. We decided to stay an extra day and they quickly accommodated this on our stay.

It's not so luxurious like Renaissance in São Paulo, Brazil, but it certainly is set to a great standard.

Room Tip: Book or upgrade your room have access to the club lounge which was well worth.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passionate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights from 28/2-2/3. Room is ok and clean but quite small. Location of hotel is great in walking distance from everything an approx. 500 meters from central station. Staff friendly and helpful. There is a lot of noise from the hallway and impossible to sleep late over the weekend. On Saturday morning at around 8.30 the maid opened the door to our room without even knocking. I was right out of the shower when door just opened! Breakfast was not included and internet in the room costs the extravagant sum of EUR 19,95 per day, so I believe that better value for money can easily be found in Amsterdam. I am rating this hotel 3 because of the noise and high cost of internet. Room, bed, pillows, cleanliness okay.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the lobby, staircase and elevators as possible as every single bit of no...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests and use your feedback to improve our service and offerings. I do apologize that you encountered noise during your stay. As well, while we do look to offer competitive amenities, such as internet, breakfast, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I took a while picking my hotel for this trip, but was very happy with my choice. We chose a club room. The price included breakfast as well as unlimited soft drinks throughout the day and between 5.30-9.30, wine beer and hors d'oeuvres. All the food was superb - would I go back to this hotel, yes without a doubt. Staff were friendly and the nice big comfy bed was to die for. They did initially give us a quiet room which had an inside view, we asked for a nicer view and within minutes this had been sorted and we had a view of the church opposite. We were floor 5 and did not find it noisy at all. The hotel is in a good position within 5 minutes walk from the station and easy access to all the sites. A good choice i'm sure you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A short 5 minute walk from Central station to the Renaissance Hotel.
It took all of 3 minutes to check in and the deluxe room was perfect for our 3 night stay.All the staff we encountered including the housekeepers who went out of their way to be friendly with a good morning were wonderful.the concierge or Navigator as their called gave us some great restaurant tips were again outstanding.
The lounge bar served a great cocktail but would of loved to change the music as thier was a DJ who played house music, hardly appropriate but the surroundings were relaxing so it didn't cause too much of a problem.
Overall if your looking for a a quiet ,tranquil then this is your choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatcat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is great and the location in wonderful. The rooms are very well equipped with all the amenities but the showers could use some work. I would stay away from the first floor as the rooms are very very small. Also if you are very tall the ceilings in this hotel are very low in the common areas.(ie. you can easily touch the ceiling) the location is next to a nice canal and also in the heart of the tourist district.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor, small rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csteets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,922 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $194 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing