We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel, good location, but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #83 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and found the hotel comfortable and well located (it is an easy walk to most of the tourist sights in Amsterdam). The room was a good size and very spacious by Amsterdam standards (the room we had was larger than the average standard room at the Renaissance so we were lucky). The bed was extremely comfortable, the concierge was informative and helpful and guest services were efficient.

On the down side, the hotel lacks a bit of character and feels quite 'corporate' in nature. Check out was slow, although this was because there was a huge influx of new guests as we were leaving. We were also incorrectly charged for some drinks we never had, but these were removed from our bill promptly and without fuss. I thought the room rate was on the high side for this sort of hotel.

All in all, a good hotel, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AB11174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,146
    337
    109
    61
See reviews for
403
1,054
139
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December for christmas.Ideally situated for all attractions,and a 5 minute walk from the central station.The hotel itself is immaculate.But as you would expect from a 5 star,You pay out for everything inc.normal tv.Apart from that..Enjoyed staying there .

Room Tip: The new block has terrible views of the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodnAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed two nights in December at this property. Was initally confused on the direction upon exiting the Centraal station but once we found the hotel, we realized it is so near to the station. It will be great if the hotel can provide clearer directions to the hotel from the station.
Was given a spacious family room with two double-beds for a family of four. Having stayed in tighter rooms in the UK and Brussels, we really enjoyed the spaciousness. Even the bathroom was large.
Although the club lounge was closed and being a Marriot Gold member, we had our breakfast at the restaurant and tea and drinks at a specially cordoned off area for members.
Location was fantastic being near the central station which allowed for a easy day trip to The Hague and our onward trip. It is also the main area where canal boat cruises begin. Also within easy walking distance to tram stations and major attractions like the Anne Frank place and Royal Palace.
The family enjoyed ths stay and agreed that it was the best hotel on our trip this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

With the rates we paid I can say that it's really ordinary. First of all my room was so farmI had to walk for 4 minutes from elevators. If you forget anything and if you remember downstairs poor you. Second my room was facing one of the non traffic streets full of shops and coffee shops and was very noisy till late and incoming goods very early in the morning. Bed was comfy, bathroom small and not comfortable, showerroom was small. Breakfast was OK but again nothing special. The location was superb but there are many hotels around and you simply find the same with even lower rates.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Evren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

They call themselves a 5 star hotel. They are in fact a 3 star and because I'm nice. The front desk staff is condescending, pretending to be nice. They have rooms that are a 10 minute walk from the front desk. (Including taking two different elevators or one elevator and a flight of stairs) Cheap small room for 200 euros a night. Parking? 50 euros a night. Breakfast? Forget it. They charge like a 4/5 star and they don't even get close. Location is central if your stay in Amsterdam is based on smoking weed. Other than that is a crappy hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (Nov 24-28), but this was my, like, umpteenth stay :)

As usual, check-in is fast, check-out is even faster (just say "i agree with my bill" when you leave :), room is good (bathroom could be better), lounge has good food (both breakfast and evening set) but pretty limited drink options -- still, it's easy and cheap to eat/drink in multiple venues outside. Once you get used to it, it's really nice.

Hotel is in a really good location, less than 5 minute walk to Centraal station and metro. Tons of food choices around.

Will stay again here (and again, and again...) - why bother looking for another hotel if this one is good enough?
(actually, I might once try that Hilton next to train station, they had a nice bar)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went to this hotel last summer for 2 nights. I know the city reasonaly well, and the Marriott name and the location spoke well for it.
The common areas were under a bit of repair when I was there, and while they seemed nice, they were also a bit small. Seemed to be some sort of conference going on while I was there. Never ate in the hotel.
Room was very nice, clean and modern, and fairly large by Amsterdam hotel standards. Service was good, plenty of front desk staff cleaners.
The location is really where this place shines. Right off the the main street in Amsterdam, it is close to everything you would want in the city. It is also on a bit of a side street, so it is also secluded away from the big crowds as well.
What I find odd about this place is that it is rated 5 stars. This hotel is not 5 star, though it is a very nice 4 star. But at what I paid, it was just too expensive for what I got. If price comes down, I would stay again. Overall, a bit overrated, but I would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing