We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, no. Location, yes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #86 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Value, no. Location, yes.”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went to this hotel last summer for 2 nights. I know the city reasonaly well, and the Marriott name and the location spoke well for it.
The common areas were under a bit of repair when I was there, and while they seemed nice, they were also a bit small. Seemed to be some sort of conference going on while I was there. Never ate in the hotel.
Room was very nice, clean and modern, and fairly large by Amsterdam hotel standards. Service was good, plenty of front desk staff cleaners.
The location is really where this place shines. Right off the the main street in Amsterdam, it is close to everything you would want in the city. It is also on a bit of a side street, so it is also secluded away from the big crowds as well.
What I find odd about this place is that it is rated 5 stars. This hotel is not 5 star, though it is a very nice 4 star. But at what I paid, it was just too expensive for what I got. If price comes down, I would stay again. Overall, a bit overrated, but I would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    1,325
    399
    132
    75
See reviews for
492
1,265
160
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We hadn't been to Amsterdam in a number of years and though we enjoyed the city, very much, our hotel experience was the lowlight of the trip. I decided to check rates and found them lower on line than the rate we had even though I am guaranteed the lowest rate. I talked to the front desk and they adjusted the bill. Caveat emptor! Also, we were told to have breakfast either in the lounge or in the restaurant, as it is complimentary. My wife goes to the restaurant and is turned away and sent to the lounge. I was working in the lounge so I called and the manager came and assured me we had access to the restaurant for breakfast. Of course, we were turned away the next day. This is the third Renaissance property we have had problems with, in Europe, in the last three years. Needles to say, they no longer enjoy my business. They were so good a few years ago.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station (5min walk), modern and well maintained. I stayed there in December and have to say that the christmas decorations made it a warm and welcoming place. The staff appeared to be careful, friendly and very professional.
Our room was of decent size, offering the usual equipement for this type of hotel (safe, ironing board, TV, coffee machine...) and comfortable mattress. The only negative point is the quite low-ceiling, it was inclined on one side of the room and if you are above 1m85 and not careful you'll keep bumping into it.
Last point I would mention is the gym center which was of medium size (4 trendmills, 3 elliptical bikes, 1 bike, and a wide range of dumbells), like the hotel well maintained with staff frequently coming to ensure that there were enough towels and warm towels available.

Overall a good place to stay in Amsterdam for a reasonnable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeatStick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip.
Location is good ...close to central station and the center of amsterdam.
Rooms are really too small ....smallest that I have ever stayed at (I have stayed at many euope hotels which have small rooms but this was extremely small)
Breakfast is good and elaborate.
Staff is friendly and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have stayed here around 7 times during the last 6 months. The service is attentive, the food is great, the rooms comfortable and nicely decorated.
It is a busy hotel, with flight crews in and out each day.
The staff are friendly, and it's central location is useful for the Metro access and tourist areas of Amsterdam.
Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here. The location is great - a few short blocks from the central station but in a quieter neighborhood. The service was excellent in the restaurant and the concierge lounge. Our room was very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Its probably a bit expensive for what you get. Everyone seems to bleat about EURO 25 for internet access in the rooms and EURO 25 for breakfast and other stuff so blah, blah, blah to you. Don't be so boring Mr. Skid and get out of your room and roam the Dam, obviously after going to Greenwoods for breakfast (5 min walk along along the Singel), even if you are supposed to be working! The Renaissance is a classy launch pad for all excursions through, around and across the most interesting capital city in the world and you have to pay for the privilege - beats the old days of Bobs Youth Hostel 9 Gilders a night and having to share a dorm with a load of Shanks!. Then end your hard days activities with a nice brew in the picturesque Koepelcafe although make sure you are not in a hurry to finalsie any deal as you will miss the Love Boat. We will be back next year Sir Marriott of Hotels.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbledashski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,412 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#75 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,842 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#96 of 367 in Amsterdam
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing