We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #81 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 days with a friend and the staff and the location are awesome. The hotel is a 5 min walk from Central Station and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Great dinner recommendations and the fitness center is fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,302)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Renaissance Amsterdam has one of the best locations in the city. It is a very short walk to the train station and the tram line. It is also within walking distance of all of the major museums. The room was very nice and a good size for a European hotel room. The concierge, or navigator, was very helpful and gave us some very useful information. The Club Room, if that is available to you, was very nice with a good breakfast and very nice appetizers in the afternoons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Despite making a fuss at check in and even presenting him with a toy, the joy ends there for children staying at the Renaissance Amsterdam. No bed for the child and no extra towels as requested.
Room rate supposedly including breakfast is only for 2 people so our 2 year old son was charged 12 euros a day for breakfast! Made worse by the greeter lying about the hotel policy.
Trying to relax in the bar after a day at the Zoo was told 'the child must wear his shoes in the bar'.
At a private halloween party the same barman tried to get us to leave saying it was 'private'. We had to get the host to satisfy him that we were invited guests.
Room only okay not as good as the Marriott brand with single glazed windows and the view of a run down alley. Carpet dirty and mysterious decor. Bought media package in room to find it did not include wifi just tv internet. Could go on and on but don't want to be a boring reviewer.
Would not stay here again Amsterdam has way better hotels in this price bracket.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double glazing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pros of this hotel: location good, room clean and spacious, breakfast very good.
Cons: Front of house staff definitely not as friendly as rest. Housekeeping, restaurant, and bar staff all very friendly, and very helpful. Front of house just less friendly, we asked for recommendation for Chinese food without any consultation Sea Palace was booked (which was average and overpriced!) and we felt obliged to go even though it was good 20 minute walk away. Express check out in room didn't work but we had no explanation nor apology at front desk. Just didn't have same high standards as rest of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotlady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week in November, 2013. The location is absolutely perfect for walkability and access to just about everthing you might want to see. Easy train ride from Schipol to Central Station. Train station is a ten minute walk fro the hotel - and you can drag your suitcase - there are no stairs. Hotel is on a quiet side street away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but to take advantage of what is here it is simply a walk around the corner. Anne Frank House, Flower Market, Red Light District and Museum District are easily walkable. Comfortable, clean room, helpful staff. Perfect all-around stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNo30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a 2 day conference in the hotel , I arrived in the pm and had to wait around 15 minutes to check in, including one of the hotel staff cutting in front of me with another guest so not a good start. I was given a room in an annex which is reached by taking 2 different elevators. Getting there, I find a room that is dirty (dust mites handing around the ceiling), bathroom around 15c, broken/worn parts everywhere, in short a dump.

I am normally a Marriott fan but this place is a disgrace.

Managed to change rooms the next day but next room that impressive either. My colleagues had similar experiences. At room rates around 250 euro I expect a good experience.

The only positives are the location and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: if you still want to stay there, stay away from the annex, room numbers 900
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed in a family room for four nights (4 people). Peaceful and clean hotel. Helpfull staff. Good central location. Booked early and got a really good deal, so great value for money. When booking it was stated that there would be a fridge available in the room but there was only a mini-bar, other than this there wasn't much negative to say about our stay. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showt1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,924 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $204 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing