We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location but overpriced room with a ladybird nest in - not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location but overpriced room with a ladybird nest in - not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam more than 10 times and appreciate that there are very few places in the center that offer good value. This is advertised as a 5 star hotel, but in my opinion offers far from a 5 star hotel standard.
The location of the Renaissance is excellent, just a 5 minute walk from Centraal station and the main tourist areas of Amsterdam.
The hotel itself is of a good standard. However, the room was fairly small and on my final day, having seen a couple of ladybirds in my room during my stay (which I put down to housekeeping opening the window), I discovered a ladybird nest behind the curtains!!! Room service should have surely seen this previously had they been cleaning the room thoroughly. The management refunded 1 night for this, but that was besides the point - it was not something I'd expect to happen in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    1,171
    345
    110
    63
See reviews for
422
1,078
139
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, great breakfast. Quite expensive but Amsterdam is for accommodation...

Room was clean and well appointed. They even have an English plug socket which was really handy and BBC1 and BBC2. What more could you ask for?

Location was superb too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank antspants04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip. The hotel was lovely, the room was charming and comfortable. It was a bit of a maze to get to our room, but no big deal. The staff was just amazing, friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous, so close to everything. Definitely a good value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived in the early morning straight from the airport. They gave us our room without a blink of an eye they gave us our room. As usual the "Marriott" bed wonderful. It may be a large hotel, but don't underestimate the value of an extremely comfortable bed after a trans-Atlantic flight.

The cafe was great. We sat in the late afternoon, drinking beers, and people watching. The food was good, too.

The extra special treat at this hotel is the Concierge. He was amazing. We simply asked for some ideas, directions. He gave a mini course on the history of Amsterdam as he circled places on our map. You could tell he was so proud of the city and wanted us to share in his joy!

We were taking a Viking River cruise and the boat was docked very close by.

Great place for the weary traveler!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTuscan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of our DFDS Amsterdam mini cruise, and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is practically round the corner from Central Station but still in a lovely part of the city. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly, they also let you leave your luggage there while you explore on your last day! Rooms are huge for a city centre hotel, gorgeous bed we didn't want to leave and amazing breakfasts too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winniethepoohtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice hotel near the train station. Also near many places to eat and drink. Red light district is close but not to close. Hotel is nice rooms are on the small side and it is clean. The Executive Lounge is small but nice and the smack food they serve is fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed overnight for only 1 night before flying out early the next morning. This was ideal because it was close to the train station. At the same time you can still walk anywhere touristy in the city and there are lots of quieter streets nearby to go relax at a cafe or whatever you need. Pretty standard rooms, but plenty of space and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing