We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, but Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #92 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Good Location, but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, but the area was very noisy. There was noise from early am to 11 or 12 pm. we only stayed at this property for 2 nights, so we really didn't bother to try and see if there was another part of the hotel that was quieter. The hotel itself was very nice, the staff was ok, nothing outstanding, just a very average hotel. The room we were assigned was very nice , the bathroom was a decent size.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side. We were street side 2nd floor, not good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    1,264
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,186
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time for us in Amsterdam and we chose this hotel for its location. We were able to walk directly from the train station to the hotel with our luggage and navigated the city easily on foot. The staff was wonderful. From the doormen to the concierge everyone was very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay here on our next visit to this lovely historic city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is good, good design and good executive lounge. Rooms are good, but the area lets it down for me. Personally I think this area near the train station is not so great unless you are after sex and marijuana shops (but hey, it's Amsterdam) There is quite a bit of street noise from people shouting outside - maybe I got a bad room. I prefer to stay at their sister Marriott property which is in a less rowdy area, and near the museums and park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ideal for visiting the many tourist areas in the city. Closely located to the train station which is ideal if you want to explare nearby cities. The Club Loung is well-designed and with good quality food, even though it gets very crowded at time and they have a hard time replenishing the food. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Will definetely return and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Renaissance for 1 night on our way to Belgium. The hotel is primarily a business hotel but it suited us perfectly. Close to the train station, quiet neighbourhood, clean and modern inside and with a fabulous breakfast (one of the best we had in Europe). The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was also surprisingly large. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The employees are the highlight of this facility and they are very friendly and willing to help with what ever your needs may be. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are very nice will all of the amenities that you could need. The rooms are not always numbered sequentially so looking for certain rooms just needs a little patience. Breakfast is served starting at 6:30am and the lounge, restaurant, lobby, etc are all extremely clean. In fact, this is by far the cleanest hotel that I have ever been at. Amazingly enough, you really don't see the cleaning staff or house keepers, but they sure do an extremely awesome job for this hotel! The hotel lobby music is a bit loud near the elevators but it is always progressive and upbeat.

The only thing that I was not pleased about with this hotel is that the room doors don't seem to have a door dampener. This is very important to me as I try to get rest while at hotels prior to business. Other guests could help out by closing their doors softer but they just seem to let them slam and that causes the beds to "jar" in addition to having to wake up to a startling noise! If they do have the dampeners on them, then they need to be checked.

Ending on a good note, something that I rarely find in European hotels is adequate lighting. This hotel has GREAT lighting in the bathrooms and rooms. It is easy to properly groom in the bathroom mirrors with the bright lights.

Room Tip: I can't think of anything other than to ask the staff. The hotel is off the road and quiet in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, with a good location, a couple of minute walk away from the lanes. Nice club lounge, very spacious. However as I'm a rewards gold member I did get a room upgrade. The room was very small but nicely furnished. Not sure what a standard room would've been like.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing