We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but better locations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is good, good design and good executive lounge. Rooms are good, but the area lets it down for me. Personally I think this area near the train station is not so great unless you are after sex and marijuana shops (but hey, it's Amsterdam) There is quite a bit of street noise from people shouting outside - maybe I got a bad room. I prefer to stay at their sister Marriott property which is in a less rowdy area, and near the museums and park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ideal for visiting the many tourist areas in the city. Closely located to the train station which is ideal if you want to explare nearby cities. The Club Loung is well-designed and with good quality food, even though it gets very crowded at time and they have a hard time replenishing the food. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Will definetely return and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braziliantraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Renaissance for 1 night on our way to Belgium. The hotel is primarily a business hotel but it suited us perfectly. Close to the train station, quiet neighbourhood, clean and modern inside and with a fabulous breakfast (one of the best we had in Europe). The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was also surprisingly large. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovetotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The employees are the highlight of this facility and they are very friendly and willing to help with what ever your needs may be. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are very nice will all of the amenities that you could need. The rooms are not always numbered sequentially so looking for certain rooms just needs a little patience. Breakfast is served starting at 6:30am and the lounge, restaurant, lobby, etc are all extremely clean. In fact, this is by far the cleanest hotel that I have ever been at. Amazingly enough, you really don't see the cleaning staff or house keepers, but they sure do an extremely awesome job for this hotel! The hotel lobby music is a bit loud near the elevators but it is always progressive and upbeat.

The only thing that I was not pleased about with this hotel is that the room doors don't seem to have a door dampener. This is very important to me as I try to get rest while at hotels prior to business. Other guests could help out by closing their doors softer but they just seem to let them slam and that causes the beds to "jar" in addition to having to wake up to a startling noise! If they do have the dampeners on them, then they need to be checked.

Ending on a good note, something that I rarely find in European hotels is adequate lighting. This hotel has GREAT lighting in the bathrooms and rooms. It is easy to properly groom in the bathroom mirrors with the bright lights.

Room Tip: I can't think of anything other than to ask the staff. The hotel is off the road and quiet in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, with a good location, a couple of minute walk away from the lanes. Nice club lounge, very spacious. However as I'm a rewards gold member I did get a room upgrade. The room was very small but nicely furnished. Not sure what a standard room would've been like.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

we stayed at the renaissance amsterdam hotel in october, the hotel is amazing, the room was not so big but comfortable, the personal really kind, check in and check out really fast and easy, the only thing to complaint was internet, 8€ per day? in 2013?
I suggest this hotel to my friends for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oikeroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

if you visit Amsterdam the Renaissance Hotel is convenient because of its central position. The location is close to the central station and you can easily access the historic center.
The staff is friendly, helpful and the standard rooms are small but clean. Like others in the city the hotel doesn`t appear in the latest standard. This in mind, watch out for promotions and don`t spent too much for a room rate

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#204 of 374 in Amsterdam
40 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $185 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing