We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place for a business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #83 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location is fantastic, just a short walk to the Centraal Station, lots of cool little restaurants and shops nearby. If you are looking for something that may "enhance your Dutch experience", you probably want to look elsewhere. This hotel is just like any other Renaissance/Marriott around, all the way down to the powdered eggs served at the buffet. But, if you want consistency, then this is your place. Rooms are nice, clean, not too European, i.e., LOTS of pillows! Americans love that crap. BUT, the exterior walls are not very sound proof! I had to listen, each night, to noise of pedestrians and partiers across the street, and there was this insanely bright light shining almost directly into my room. THAT was seriously annoying. Like anywhere else in the city, you are at no disadvantage for not speaking Dutch. If/when I come back to Amsterdam, it will depend on my needs. If it's for business, I'll come here. If for vacation, I'll pick something more in line with local culture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dclaghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,146
    337
    109
    61
See reviews for
403
1,054
139
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. we stayed in room 247 for 1 night and the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with a bathtub. The location was very close to all major sightseeing places including shopping malls and restaurants. The breakfast was very limited for a five star hotel and the wait on the eggs corner made it hard for others to reach for plates or the rest of the buffet. Internet is not free and we were lucky to have internet reach to our room since we were above the lobby. the concierge was very helpful with recommendations for things to do or where to eat. Its a nice hotel only if you are willing to pay the price tag!

A note to mention, the minibar fridge is censored so if you remove anything from the fridge for more than 30 seconds it will be added to your bill even if you do not use it. Be ware!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

but it is not. There is no better location. We've stayed in four locations around the city, all claiming to have the best spot. Renaissance can state that as an understatement. Whether it is for work or play, this hotel seems comfortable and supportive of whatever agenda. One of us worked; one of us simply rested.
Staff is excellent, handling every request (even ones that required back of the front desk assistance) with extreme patience and care.
Only complaint we had in a four-day visit was that the Executive Lounge was so crowded. It was disturbing to watch guests pounce on appetizers and make dinner by taking half of the container. Lines formed for "free wine." Staff could not keep up with this type of guest behavior but certainly tried.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was really a one-bedroom. Absolutely quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montanacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good hotel, although expensive.
Rooms are excellent, with great bars and restaurant.
Close to railway station.
Recommend for business travellers.
I would strongly recommend and stay here again.
One of Amsterdam's best but expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Typical business hotel (I was there for a conference), except no free wifi in the rooms (only in reception area). Poor experience at breakfast - rather than simply note our room numbers, the "welcomer" insisted on checking first whether our breakfast was included, and refused to let us sit until he had. It wasn't, but we were quite happy to pay separately. On discovering it wasn't included, he STILL wouldn't let us sit, but insisted he had to "go upstairs to check with management". We lost patience and left. Hotel breakfasts at expensive enough without having to wait interminably for their bureaucracy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms starting with 9. They're not on the 9th floor, they're in a different building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfield01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely lounge great staff excellent location. Really inventive menu nice restaurant with middle eastern food lots of staffing doormen concierge walk to local bar one minute comfy room games to play in lounge free nibble snacks

Room Tip: Ice machine on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very clean and nice hotel in a perfect location in the centre of Amsterdam. Very good breakfast buffet, and very nice rooms.

Do have to say that to my opinion the rates for internet/other stuff are way too high though, that's why they wouldnt get 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keesverhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing