We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Use of Earned Free Points” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #81 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Use of Earned Free Points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ended a multi-week European vacation in Amsterdam. We chose the Renaissance both for its location and our ability to cash in Marriott Rewards points for free nights. From the moment we walked in the front door, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Although our room was not ready upon arrival, we were given a key to use the Club Lounge. Ultimately one of our desk clerks brought us our key and had our luggage sent to the room. Our room was large and very comfortable. What prevents me from giving this property a fifth star was the Club Lounge. The breakfast was only okay and the evening cocktails and nibbles the same. We have had much better in our travels. For business a great hotel. For vacationing a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room which is away from street noise. Inside rooms probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    1,218
    365
    115
    65
See reviews for
437
1,139
151
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a recent stay in Amsterdam I realized that quite a few things were missing from my luggage when I arrived home.i called the hotel and sure enough I had left them behind in my room.the employees in charge wrapped and packed my belongings and sent them to me at a significant charge to them.they sent me a letter telling me that the package was sent.this is my opinion was going above and beyond.we enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and were very happy with this well located comfortable and well run hotel and will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located in the old city, 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station, it is convenient for visiting the main city attractions. Nice lobby and common area, rooms are spacious and practical, the corridors a little bit impersonal but overall a pleasant place to spend some days to visit the city. Responsive and efficient staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent a weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at the Renaissance. The location is convenient; steps from the train station, pedestrian shopping mall, restaurants, canal tours, etc. The room is a good size. The beds/bedding are comfortable. We stayed on the 5th floor and heard no road or street noise. Friends staying on the second floor heard noise from a bar across the street into the early morning. Complimentary coffee from an expresso machine in the mornings was nice. The staff were very helpful. The airlines lost our luggage and the Renaissance staff tracked it down and stayed in touch with the airlines, letting us know during the day when we could expect it. We'd definitely go back but this time we'd be more prepared for the bike lanes in Amsterdam:(

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are quieter than those that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was very nice and within walking distance of the old part of the city, the palace, and Anne Frank House. The room was not large but was well appointed and comfortable. Upon arrival the room was not ready (we arrived early), however the team happily stored the luggage for us. The first room we were put in overlooked the street and was noisy. When we asked to change we were able to do so. All of the staff members we encountered were very professional and took good care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here last weekend ( September 2013 ) we had booked a club level room but on check in got moved to a family room. First impressions of the hallways to our room reminded you of being on a cruise ship with the low ceilings. The room was clean and relatively spacious but rather underwhelming and sparsely furnished. For a 5 star hotel we were disappointed to have to step into the bath to shower when the bathroom had adequate room to fit a separate shower. Poor quality toilet paper is a serious disappointment for any five star accommodation and to round it off when we asked for fresh milk for tea to be sent up to the room we were charged 3 euro. Good location, nice foyer and bar but our trip proved very expensive for what we got. Will we go back? Probably not. At 500 euro for one nights stay we expected a hell of a lot more for our money. Sorry guys but could have got better for a lot less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am a silver elite Marriott Rewards person who recently stayed in very fine Marriotts in Amsterdam, Berlin, and St. Petersburg. This hotel has some very fine common areas. A nice bar. If you are interested in the harbor, the Red Light district, and Anne Frank house, you'll want to stay here. If not, I'd stay at the Marriott, which, IMHO, was a better hotel, better value and better location for the great museums. Our room, #403, was miniscule compared to the other hotels we stayed in this trip. The room is poorly organized, and you cannot see the Tv from a chair. This is not a room with a view, unless you like looking at a brick wall, four feet away from your window. Breakfast was not included with our room. My wife had breakfast for "only" 29 Euros plus VAT. Ridiculous. We paid for our room; our friends used points and got a suite. ???

Room Tip: Do not get any room ending in 03..room #403 was pretty ordinary/ Motel 6 does better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommys1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing