We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #83 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located in the old city, 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station, it is convenient for visiting the main city attractions. Nice lobby and common area, rooms are spacious and practical, the corridors a little bit impersonal but overall a pleasant place to spend some days to visit the city. Responsive and efficient staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,146
    337
    109
    61
See reviews for
403
1,054
139
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent a weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at the Renaissance. The location is convenient; steps from the train station, pedestrian shopping mall, restaurants, canal tours, etc. The room is a good size. The beds/bedding are comfortable. We stayed on the 5th floor and heard no road or street noise. Friends staying on the second floor heard noise from a bar across the street into the early morning. Complimentary coffee from an expresso machine in the mornings was nice. The staff were very helpful. The airlines lost our luggage and the Renaissance staff tracked it down and stayed in touch with the airlines, letting us know during the day when we could expect it. We'd definitely go back but this time we'd be more prepared for the bike lanes in Amsterdam:(

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are quieter than those that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was very nice and within walking distance of the old part of the city, the palace, and Anne Frank House. The room was not large but was well appointed and comfortable. Upon arrival the room was not ready (we arrived early), however the team happily stored the luggage for us. The first room we were put in overlooked the street and was noisy. When we asked to change we were able to do so. All of the staff members we encountered were very professional and took good care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here last weekend ( September 2013 ) we had booked a club level room but on check in got moved to a family room. First impressions of the hallways to our room reminded you of being on a cruise ship with the low ceilings. The room was clean and relatively spacious but rather underwhelming and sparsely furnished. For a 5 star hotel we were disappointed to have to step into the bath to shower when the bathroom had adequate room to fit a separate shower. Poor quality toilet paper is a serious disappointment for any five star accommodation and to round it off when we asked for fresh milk for tea to be sent up to the room we were charged 3 euro. Good location, nice foyer and bar but our trip proved very expensive for what we got. Will we go back? Probably not. At 500 euro for one nights stay we expected a hell of a lot more for our money. Sorry guys but could have got better for a lot less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am a silver elite Marriott Rewards person who recently stayed in very fine Marriotts in Amsterdam, Berlin, and St. Petersburg. This hotel has some very fine common areas. A nice bar. If you are interested in the harbor, the Red Light district, and Anne Frank house, you'll want to stay here. If not, I'd stay at the Marriott, which, IMHO, was a better hotel, better value and better location for the great museums. Our room, #403, was miniscule compared to the other hotels we stayed in this trip. The room is poorly organized, and you cannot see the Tv from a chair. This is not a room with a view, unless you like looking at a brick wall, four feet away from your window. Breakfast was not included with our room. My wife had breakfast for "only" 29 Euros plus VAT. Ridiculous. We paid for our room; our friends used points and got a suite. ???

Room Tip: Do not get any room ending in 03..room #403 was pretty ordinary/ Motel 6 does better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommys1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel we knew we were in the right place...The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful...The assigned room was just beautiful...Clean and comfortable...The complimentary breakfast was fabulous...In addition, the servers were very pleasant...We were at club lounge level and found it to be a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a snack...The hotel is in a great location...We were within walking distance of wonderful restaurants, shopping and the canal cruise...This was a totally satisfying experience...If and when we return to Amsterdam, the Renaissance will be our home away from home...

Room Tip: Ask at the desk upon arrival...They are really very cooperative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandigirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because with a Marriott you usually get consistency. Close to the center of town but not necessarily a clean area. The hotel service was not good. The room a bit dirty. Pay for Wi-fi and breakfast on top of it all. We were not impressed. An average hotel experience at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdadwangchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing