We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, seriously over priced and rather underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here last weekend ( September 2013 ) we had booked a club level room but on check in got moved to a family room. First impressions of the hallways to our room reminded you of being on a cruise ship with the low ceilings. The room was clean and relatively spacious but rather underwhelming and sparsely furnished. For a 5 star hotel we were disappointed to have to step into the bath to shower when the bathroom had adequate room to fit a separate shower. Poor quality toilet paper is a serious disappointment for any five star accommodation and to round it off when we asked for fresh milk for tea to be sent up to the room we were charged 3 euro. Good location, nice foyer and bar but our trip proved very expensive for what we got. Will we go back? Probably not. At 500 euro for one nights stay we expected a hell of a lot more for our money. Sorry guys but could have got better for a lot less.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,763 - 1,769 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am a silver elite Marriott Rewards person who recently stayed in very fine Marriotts in Amsterdam, Berlin, and St. Petersburg. This hotel has some very fine common areas. A nice bar. If you are interested in the harbor, the Red Light district, and Anne Frank house, you'll want to stay here. If not, I'd stay at the Marriott, which, IMHO, was a better hotel, better value and better location for the great museums. Our room, #403, was miniscule compared to the other hotels we stayed in this trip. The room is poorly organized, and you cannot see the Tv from a chair. This is not a room with a view, unless you like looking at a brick wall, four feet away from your window. Breakfast was not included with our room. My wife had breakfast for "only" 29 Euros plus VAT. Ridiculous. We paid for our room; our friends used points and got a suite. ???

Room Tip: Do not get any room ending in 03..room #403 was pretty ordinary/ Motel 6 does better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommys1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel we knew we were in the right place...The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful...The assigned room was just beautiful...Clean and comfortable...The complimentary breakfast was fabulous...In addition, the servers were very pleasant...We were at club lounge level and found it to be a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a snack...The hotel is in a great location...We were within walking distance of wonderful restaurants, shopping and the canal cruise...This was a totally satisfying experience...If and when we return to Amsterdam, the Renaissance will be our home away from home...

Room Tip: Ask at the desk upon arrival...They are really very cooperative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandigirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because with a Marriott you usually get consistency. Close to the center of town but not necessarily a clean area. The hotel service was not good. The room a bit dirty. Pay for Wi-fi and breakfast on top of it all. We were not impressed. An average hotel experience at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdadwangchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for one night before embarking on a cruise and were totally satisfied with our experience. We were able to check in by 9:30 a.m. after an overnight flight from the US, and enjoyed the Club Level breakfast before setting out to see the city. With the proximity to the canal boats and Central Station it is a great spot. While frequented by flight crews and business people it put us exactly where we wanted to be to explore before leaving late morning the next day. A front office manager offered us assistance as we walked through the lobby, and we asked to see the Koepelkerk, now their conference center. He took the time to take us through via the connecting passageway and shared his enthusiasm for working at the property. Even though a bit more than we ususally pay at a Marriott property, well worth it for the convenience and reliability.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location of Amsterdam - a quick 10 minute walk and you are at one of the canals.
Great amenities and a great afternoon snack/breakfast buffet if you get club lounge level - only complaint is we only found out about the fact we had access to this the next afternoon.
The other only other complaint is Housekeeping starts before 9 am and was very loud in the hallway - talking, vacumning, etc., - not used to this in other nice hotels we have stayed in on the trip.
Other than that - it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance. The location is in walking distance to the train station and close to the canals. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. Rooms were small, but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 375 in Amsterdam
143 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing