We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #81 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I always stay at the The Renaissance when in Amsterdam. I am a Platinum member of the Marriott Rewards program, so that has some influence on my decision of where to stay, but the location of the Renaissance is outstanding. It is a four block walk to the train station and is close to lots of great shopping and restaurants. Additionally, you can get on the tram just a block or so away. Their service is very, very good. The amenities are what you would expect from an upscale property. The club lounge is outstanding with comfortable seating and great views of the street below. The food in the restaurant is pretty decent, too. I needed some help with booking a train trip to Dusseldorf while I was there, and their Guest Services department really exceeded my expectations with their assistance on that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance in Amsterdam July 19, 2013. The hotel was very, very nice. It is centrally located, we were comfortable walking distance through town. The room was beautiful, quite large. Great bathroom, shower had great pressure. We had free wi-if, and the breakfast in the priority lounge was huge!...loved it there and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. It's in the perfect location. We have been to Dam before, and this is definitely the best location, it's a few minute walk from all the main streets and station, lots of shops around. Its right near the canal. Its only half an hour stroll from the museums, 10 min from Ann Frank. If you like coffee shops, there are a few good ones right on the doorstep.
The hotel is impressive, the lobby is nice, the rooms lovely (We had a guest room, with a much better deal online rather than the price quoted from the hotel direct) it had a massive bed, little table and chairs, and desk. The bathroom was very small and basic but nice, shower good.
The things that let it down were that on day 1 we didn't have any milk or spoons in our room. My partner went to reception the ask for some, where he got sent to the restaurant, and was handed the little room milks. The next day, we still had no milk, but some stirrers, again my partner went and asked for some milk and was told to go to the shop. We just wanted a cup of tea. The same day we asked for some dressing gowns in the room (it said all the rooms had them online). They never appeared. The room has climate control, but it didn't seem to work, it was always cold even though it had 'heating'. The only english channels on the tv are bbc 1 and 2 and news. You have to pay for wifi anywhere except the lobby.
We agreed we would eat in the hotel restaurant once on our stay, so we went to get a table at 6.30. We were sat waiting for someone the seat us for quite a long time. The restaurant is nice and has an open kitchen. My bf who is a chef loved this. He ordered a pizza and chips and I ordered the red snapper. We were told the pizza takes a long time to make. So the pizza arrived, and a dish in front of me that was not red snapper. I asked what it was and the waitress said bream (I purposely didn't order this as it cost more, and i didn't like anything it came with). When I told the waitress (who was very friendly) her response was 'but you ordered bream....' I didnt want to a fuss or to wait for it to be changed so I left it as it was. At some point half way through my bfs chips arrived. When I was on my last mouthful the same waitress asked if I wanted some different veg, I got some cold asparagus. The meal wasnt even changed over on the bill, so I had to pay the more expensive price for a bit of fish and cold asparagus. Not very impressed. Over all I really dont see why this is a 5 star, the hotel is lovely but no one is very friendly and the service no where near to the level you expect. They got alot wrong. It was such a hassle to just make a cup of tea. And they never re stocked the mini bar. Will probably stay at the Crown Plaza across the road next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a well located modern hotel, within a walking distance of the main railway station. True, it is not in the heart of the city on the main square, but most things are walkable and a tram station is very near by.

We stayed 5 nights in the hotel. During our first night we were placed in a room facing the street and the tram sounds woke us up at 6am. We asked to move to a more quite room and where offered a room facing the courtyard, which was perfectly fine for us. Needless to say there isn't too much of a view from from this room, but there is also no disturbing sounds.

People with prams or heavy luggage might also wish to consider asking for room in the main building to avoid the couple of steps one need to climb up or down when passing between the buildings.

The rooms themselves are medium sized but good for a couple.

Breakfast buffet was quite big and offered a well rounded choices of foods.

All in all, good value for money

Room Tip: To avoid the tram noise, choose a room facing the courtyard. To avoid stairs in the hallway, ask for...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 559ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very close to the train station, and not too far from the airport, the Renaissance Hotel was a nice hotel for the two nights we stayed in AMS. The beds were comfortable and the room had all the usual comforts known to the brand.

We used Marriott points and everything was set up when we arrived. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in assisting us with shopping excursions and tour idea. The bartenders went well above the call of duty to assist me in connecting wifi to the internet.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an exterior view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikni2wri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for 2 nights - 9th & 10th August on a hen weekend. There were 6 of us in total in 3 rooms and all rooms were lovely and clean, well maintained and what you would expect for a decent business hotel. Breakfast buffet was included and was good with plenty of choice. The hotel has a lovely bar area with relatively reasonably priced drinks. Check in and out was easy but check your bills as 2 of our rooms were charged with items from the mini-bar that we hadn't had - apparently if you touch anything up it goes on your bill. These items were removed with no fuss by reception staff who were all helpful at all times - very professional. The hotel is 10 mins stroll from the station and another 10 mins to the Dam square. The hotel staff are happy to arrange a taxi if you are going further afield. Loved this hotel and Amsterdam and a great (and dignified!) time was had by all.

Room Tip: Don't expect much of a view from any rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GellybeanRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great business hotel, very friendly staff, nice gym ,great location Very nice lobby
Easy to walk to any part of town, Very close to the Railroad Station and many tourist attractions
Wonderful Breakfast although a bit costly .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,923 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $195 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing