We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Staff are very helpful but not intrusive.
Excellent breakfast. Great location close to everything.
We only stayed B&B for 2 nights but found it very good. Beds are really comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKCELSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    1,263
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,185
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

First off, let me state this is my third stay here, with others planned. It's convenient, it's nice, its comfortable. The cannelloni is top notch (yeah, that was a bit of a surprise, huh?). The bell staff tries their hardest to help and does admirably well. Lounge personnel arevery accommodating.

So, I will point out the drawbacks but they don't prevent me from staying here.

- A quick search will tell you the internet access pricing is stupidly high. I mean beyond insanity. If you check in on 4Square, you can see the vitriol come through. It's included in our corporate rate. But if it's not in yours, lug your machine downstairs and use the free wifi down there.

- There doesn't seem to be the ability to check in early if you've traveled internationally. They are nearly continually sold out and the cleaning service does not release rooms quickly. It's good for them, but when you are exhausted from your lovely and generously sized (NOT) coach seat, and desiring nothing more than a shower and elevate your feet...not...going...to...happen

- Getting a taxi can be challenging, since the property is on a bit of a side street. It's either really easy or really hard, but has taken a much as 20 minutes. PS - it always happens on the day you're late. count on it

Overall, worth the trip. Try Lai Wai for Singapore Noodles at the end of the block and a hamburger at the end of the street isn't bad. The Tapas restaurant across the street was not our favorite. There is a great breakfast shop right up through the alley and then straight ahead, at 1pm clock position. -c-

Room Tip: try to get something toward the front - the 20's are all along the back wall and the farthest fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a larger “family room” at the Renaissance and were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. We had been in Italy prior to our time in Amsterdam and it was a relief to have an air conditioner that really worked. Ideally, the windows would have been left open, but you only need to leave the windows open for a little while in Amsterdam to figure out that you won’t get much sleep with the windows open. The room was spacious; the bathroom was very clean and modern; and the beds were great. The concierge lounge was open 7 days a week and featured breakfast, tea and evening snacks. As well, Heineken was on tap or in bottles (as well as several wines). While the “warm” food in the evening was largely forgettable, the hummus, olives, bread and cheese were excellent. As well, the large bowl of ice was a welcome site. On the weekends, breakfast is served downstairs in an adjoining restaurant and it was very good. Excellent selection of breads, pastries, salmon, etc. Very well done. Like with most Renaissance properties, the staff were excellent whether they were working the front desk, the bellhop, the concierge desk, or at breakfast. All top notch and doing a great job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

All the time that I spend in this hotel was very nice....the room was comfortable..the location of the hotel was great...is so close to the city centre and this is very convenient...all people in the lobby are very kind and willing...the concierge (navigator) give us very useful advice for food and museum...they are very nice and careful. Absolutely recommended.
Assolutamente consigliato per la location vicinissimo al centro e alla stazione centrale e per la gentilezza, cortesia e professionalita' dei ragazzi della hall, per niente distaccati o freddi ma sempre disponibili e attenti. Da scegliere assolutamente

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurasv0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a 2 night short break at the Renaissance in August 2013, we arrived mid morning so our room was not ready so we checked in and left our luggage with the concierge while we went for a look around the city centre. The Central Station is only a few hundred metres away but the Renaissance is in a quiet road so there is hardly any traffic and there was no problem with noise at any time, perfect location.
The check desks were very busy when we returned at 3pm but it did not take long to get our room keys, unfortunately the first set did not work so we had to get a replacement set but this only took moments.
Our room was on the first floor and had a king size bed for us and an extra bed for our son, the extra bed meant that the room had less space to move around in but it did not feel cramped. The quality of the room, beds, bedding and furnishing was excellent and the bathroom had an excellent walk in shower.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel but this was very good, there was an adequate selection of hot and cold buffet items and the service was very good, no complaints at all. There were loads of restaurants nearby so we ate the rest of our meals outside the hotel. The lobby, restaurant, lounge and other public areas were all of a very high standard, spotless and well maintained.
At the end of our stay check out was very efficient an quick, again we left our luggage with the concierge while we went around town before our departure time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dek2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie101898
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can walk to hotel from train. Many great places to eat nearby. Rooms are loud can hear your neighbors and the people in the hall. Can get interesting at 5 am on a Saturday night!
Great bed very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augie101898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is well located to tourist activity, easy walk to station (train to airport) and many tourist attractions. Room and breakfast were fine. Own garage if you own/rent a car. Hotel was quite busy which meant we needed to wait for service at the reception.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing