We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely 5* hotel in quiet location but close to Central Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tyneside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely 5* hotel in quiet location but close to Central Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a 2 night short break at the Renaissance in August 2013, we arrived mid morning so our room was not ready so we checked in and left our luggage with the concierge while we went for a look around the city centre. The Central Station is only a few hundred metres away but the Renaissance is in a quiet road so there is hardly any traffic and there was no problem with noise at any time, perfect location.
The check desks were very busy when we returned at 3pm but it did not take long to get our room keys, unfortunately the first set did not work so we had to get a replacement set but this only took moments.
Our room was on the first floor and had a king size bed for us and an extra bed for our son, the extra bed meant that the room had less space to move around in but it did not feel cramped. The quality of the room, beds, bedding and furnishing was excellent and the bathroom had an excellent walk in shower.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel but this was very good, there was an adequate selection of hot and cold buffet items and the service was very good, no complaints at all. There were loads of restaurants nearby so we ate the rest of our meals outside the hotel. The lobby, restaurant, lounge and other public areas were all of a very high standard, spotless and well maintained.
At the end of our stay check out was very efficient an quick, again we left our luggage with the concierge while we went around town before our departure time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dek2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,169
    343
    110
    63
See reviews for
420
1,072
139
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augie101898
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can walk to hotel from train. Many great places to eat nearby. Rooms are loud can hear your neighbors and the people in the hall. Can get interesting at 5 am on a Saturday night!
Great bed very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augie101898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is well located to tourist activity, easy walk to station (train to airport) and many tourist attractions. Room and breakfast were fine. Own garage if you own/rent a car. Hotel was quite busy which meant we needed to wait for service at the reception.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I completed my 3rd stay at the Renaissance last month, and it has really improved since my first visit in 2007. The hotel common areas are totally updated, and the concierge lounge is among the best I have found in Europe in a Marriott property. You will do some walking (or take the tram) to find the tourist destinations, but you can't beat the location if you are arriving by train. Literally a five minute walk. The rooms are fully updated, and most renovations appear complete. This is a fine hotel, and one that I will return to again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Lving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is perfect, easily accessible from Central Station, which allows you to take a train from Schiphol Airport. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are attentive, gracious and helpful. The lounge for Marriott gold and platinum members is so much better than the lounges in US properties, and is open all day and late into the night. It's a wonderful place to relax and read and have a bit to eat (wonderful food).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street, at least not on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OpusPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived for a few days pre cruise and were happy that our exxisson hotel shuttle dropped us off right at the hotel. It is kind of in a side street, which at first take made it hard to spot when we went for a walk, but once we got our bearings realized the location was perfect. The free wifi in the lobby was useful once someone showed us the trick to connect. Rooms were lovely, bed comfortable, temperature a little hard to control. They give out free maps so no need to buy one, as we did. Walking distance to Ann Frank house, make sure to buy tix in advance, line was hours long without them, and central station. The pedestrian walk behind the hotel has a supermarket with a bank ATM, places to eat and stores to shop. It goes from the first canal up to dam square. Great way to walk without worry about getting hit by a bike :). It was raining one night so we ate in the hotel. Food was excellent. A little confusion since the restaurant has a closed sign and they serve in the outdoor cafe in the summer months so others thought they couldn't be served. "Navigator" who gives help was kind of gruff when we asked directions. Not as friendly as all the rest of the staff. We had a problem with our door lock, key code kept wiping out, required several trips back to the front desk...a long walk.

Room Tip: See if u can get one closer to the elevator, not a usual tip but the hotel is large and it can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziq614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Suffering with arthritis I am a big fan of Renaissance Hotels, having experienced sleeping in their superbly comfortable beds that I wake up without any aches & pains! So I was a little disappointed that the bed was not as comfortable as I have slept in previously at other Renaissance properties

However, everything else about this hotel was brilliant. It's location is perfect being just a few minutes walk from Central Station and also a few steps from the canals, shops, cafes
The hotel staff were wonderful, when we checked in the receptionist offered us a room closer to the lift without us asking, and we arrived to a nice bright & comfortable room in a convenient spot!

The breakfast was excellent, if you did not find what you were looking for amongst the extensive choice the staff would cook it for you....always with a big smile nothing was too much trouble

We dined in the hotel and found the food & ambience most acceptable. The lobby was always busy with free WiFi users!! The gym looked well equipped and immaculately clean

This is a lovely hotel, with exceptional staff who really look after guests. I would thoroughly recommend it and would stay there again myself if I could be sure of a more comfortable "Marriott Style" bed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing