We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location of this Hotel is wonderful! It's about a quarter mile walk to the main station. It is nestled in a quiet alcove, yet steps away from decent places to grab a bite to eat, a small grocery store. Single Canal is a few blocks away. One of the most trendy shopping areas is a short walk away and there are many cafes, coffee shops, and interesting areas to prowl near by. We were not afraid to wander the neighborhood in the evening, although we were never out after 10 pm. Americans will be happy with this hotel because the beds are as you would expect in The States. Comfortable mattress (not two twins shoved together), crisp linens, and standard height.off the floor. The room is generous in size with plenty of room for baggage and things. The room was cleaned and the bed crisply made daily. Check in was handled quickly and with courtesy and staff were always available to help guests plan daily activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibabidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,169
    343
    110
    63
See reviews for
420
1,072
139
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for three nights. We stay in a lot of Marriott hotels as we are Marriott Rewards members. The hotel lived up to the Marriott name.

The room was spacious, clean, and in Marriott style. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

I used the fitness center- well equipped and modern.

The location is great. If you are traveling by train or wish to travel to the airport from the hotel, the hotel is a five minute walk from the Central Train Station. (NOTE: Airport trains run every 15 minutes and take about 15 minutes to arrive at airport).

In addition, the hotel is great to head in any direction in the city. If you are looking to rent a bike and do as the residents of Amsterdam do, rent a bike at Hotel Scooters (make a left out of hotel and a right at the corner...13 Euros per day for a bike).

With our Marriott Rewards status, we were provided free breakfast. On the weekends, the breakfast is served in the restaurant and is abundant.

DAY TRIP- Recommendation:
Rent a bike. Take the free ferry across the canal by the Central train station. Follow the signs for Volendam. Ride out to Volendam for lunch and drinks. WARNING: 30 miles roundtrip. But you are on biker paths and see amazing views.

Two complaints (not so much for travelers, but for Renaissance staff that may view this):
1- We had to go to the front desk three times because our room keys did not work. That is problematic especially when the elevator requires a room key to select your floor. There apparently was a problem with the front desk machine.
2- The hotel offers free WiFi to certain Marriott Rewards members. Instead of providing a username/password or some other type of access, you have to create a password every 24 hours to access the WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for 3 nights with my wife and 1 year old daughter in late July 2013. The location is conveniently located <5 minutes from the central station. Many of the historical sites and museums are located within a 15 minute walk. The room was clean, modern and the A/C worked perfectly. The service was the best I have ever had in Europe. The cleaning staff, front desk, concierge, guest services, bar tenders, and the hotel restaurant staff were all amazing. Traveling with a 1 year old presents many problems; however, the mentioned staff made these problems their own and graciously helped me find resolutions. E.g., After mistakenly buying buttermilk at a local grocery for my daughter, I asked the bar tender if he had milk to fill a small cup. He asked how old the baby was and then recommended whole milk, which he provided for free. I could go on and on...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for one night, during our last night in Amsterdam. With my platinum status, we were upgraded to a “Superior room” – which was a nicely appointed one-room suite with full living room. The location was fairly good – very near to the train station (only a few blocks away) and walking distance to the bars/restaurants. Also, the surroundings were not too noisy. Unfortunately, the negatives far outweighed the positive attributes. Housekeeping woke us up in an attempt to clean our room at 8am on a Saturday (on the day of check out – which they should have known); there was a smell in the corridors during the entire time of our stay; the bathroom was incredibly small and only the bare minimum number of towels was provided; the breakfast was of extremely poor quality; and the clientele was very very touristy – large families; children running around constantly; extremely loud conversations in hallways, in the lobby and at breakfast. There were many tourists hanging out in sweatpants, ripped t-shirts, etc. The rooms were NOT soundproof (so be warned). I would not recommend this hotel to either business professionals or tourists looking for a charming experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidtheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location - 5 minute walk to main train station in Amsterdam, minutes to red light district, flower market, and many other tourist attractions including canal tours. Concierge was very helpful. Restaurant was nice but not great. I would stay there again if I visited this wonderful city again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of three of business options when staying in the centre. The hotel is fairly good, the location is great but for some reason staff training is non-existent! When checking in I was told that I'd have a twin. Errr no I won't, I didn't book one and not being an 8-year old I don't want one. After arguing the point for what seemed like an eternity and being told that they were fully booked and there wasn't one available, one was found. It was a decent enough room, but was located half a mile from the reception via two lifts and a tunnel between hotels.
On the plus side, breakfast was very good!

Room Tip: I'd would email the hotel to confirm room choice if booking via an online travel agent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

5 minute walk from rail station, centrally located, and very friendly. we enjoyed the benefits of the club lounge, including free drinks and food, but you do need to get in before many of the American visitors grabbed most of the food. We had a very comfortable stay and had no complaints at all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,410 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing