We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$281
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$295
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$221
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$251
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,608)
Filter reviews
3,609 results
Traveler rating
1,449
1,458
457
152
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,449
1,458
457
152
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecentral stationgreat locationguest servicesconcierge deskwithin walking distancedam squareminute walkriver cruisered light districtanne frank houseearly checkquiet streetmini barbreakfast was includedvan gogh museumnavigator
Filter
Updating list...
1,970 - 1,975 of 3,609 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got this hotel after placing a bid on Priceline. Little did we know that the hotel was used by airline crews and Holland America Cruise Lines for their pre and post cruise tours. Unfortunately we arrived at the same time a group arrived from Holland America. Like most people I stood politely in line but one man seemed to think that it was OK to push me aside and get in line ahead of me. When I explained the situation to the woman at check-in she looked right through me and proceeded to deal with the other guest. I can only assume that either a) she prefers men or 2) has orders to take care of the Holland American guests first. In either case it was a poor beginning.
When we got to our room we found ourselves in a little cubbyhole with no room to turn around in. Iwas very clean and well maintained and the same goes for the washroom. The towels while clean were small and slightly worn.
The hotel has a great location. The minute you open the door the streets are flocked with people, stores restaurants etc.
Since my husband wasn't feeling well we opted to order room service rather that going out to eat. The order arrived exactly as requested and within an acceptable length of time. Things that were supposed to be cold were fine but anything that was supposed to be warm was also cold.
The hotel notifies you that they add a 5 Euro "tray charge" and then on top of that they add a spot for a tip on the bill. The waiter just stood there looking over my shoulder while I signed the receipt and added another tip on top of what was already there.
Not long before this stay we had stayed at a hotel in Amsterdam with the same rating but slightly less central. I had to come to the conclusion that location isn't everything and would opt for the less central hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vdl2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Thought this was going to be in a good location but was disappointed. Convenient to train station but that's it. Carpet in room was filthy, never enough towels in room. We were placed in a room in adjacent bldg. long walk from elevator. Forget trying to get breakfast in the club lounge unless it's 6:30 am. Nothing is refilled. Worst Marriott branded hotel I ever stayed in.
Concierge staff was excellent!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofmombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When you come to Europe, you expect a nice but tiny room with odd bathroom configurations. Well, it was the exact opposite at the Amsterdam Renaissance. Our room was huge even by American standards (see my pictures – they pretty much say it all). When we arrived at 2:00PM, we got our room immediately even though the check-in time is 4:00PM. We are Marriott Premier Members, which probably accounts for many of the good things. The room has a full closet, drawers, and a desk with wired internet, but the Wi-Fi worked fine. The room safe was plenty large and held our iPad. The bath was average size with shower, single sink, and toilet. The ventilation was good. Two large comfy chairs sit by the window for nice reading spots. I can’t remember our room number but there were no noise issues – and, our room faced the narrow street (see picture).

Included with our room were internet access and a “continental breakfast”. Well, the internet is plenty fast and reliable. You could even get real work done. The so call continental breakfast was really a full breakfast with 3 hot items and everything else you could want. However, it is not the mega breakfast buffet with the omelet station and waffles. We got the mega breakfast on the weekend when they don’t run two different breakfast venues. Really, how much should one eat at breakfast?

The hotel is well configured for business conferences. The lobby is sparse but an upstairs lounge is great for meetings and small gatherings. A large conference center is across the street. Our group used the lounge meeting room to plan our daily adventures. Free refreshments are stocked in the refrigerator.

The hotel is in the heart of the tourist district and most frequently visited sites are within walking distance. We never ate lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant because there are so many other restaurants in the area. The 10-minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal is easy even with heavy luggage, depending on your limitations. However, take a 17 € taxi ride if you are going to the cruise terminal as it is somewhat farther and bumpy. You can get to the hotel from Schiphol airport by taking the intercity train to Centraal and then doing the walk. However, you have to carry your heavy luggage onto the train. Alternatively, just pay 60 € for the long taxi ride and avoid the strained back (or pack light!).

If you are looking for a modern hotel in the heart of the city, with full service, I would recommend the Renaissance with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and could not fault the hotel, central location, very clean and room and beds are excellent.

We would never stay on the 2nd floor again, room 138, it overlooks and outside restaurant and is very noisy, avoid this room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 138 very noisy outside!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie01-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night because of the proximity to the train station and Marriott's reputation. The hotel was super new and very clean. Our room was small but luxurious and the bed, as with any Marriott, was extra comfortable. Got a drink at the bar and had a chat with the friendly bartender. He seemed very happy to answer any questions we had and definitely helped make the stay more memorable. The hotel was a perfect base to walk around the city, as it is near the Jordaan district, Anne Frank House, Red Light District and the main ring of canals. Although I did not use it, the hotel's meeting space is an old renovated church! I should would love to use that sometime, but I recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a nice clean hotel near to the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kafreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews