We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would probably look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would probably look elsewhere”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

There's nothing wrong with the hotel per se. When we checked in, I was offered an upgrade for €80 per night. It included free Internet, breakfast and an upgraded room. I thought that wasn't worth it since we'd be there only two nights. However, since I'm a Marriott Rewards Silver member, I asked if I could use my points to upgrade. The guy at reception went through the pretense of checking, but then told me because they were full he couldn't offer an upgrade. So the question is, why could he offer an upgrade for extra money but not for points? Didn't receive an explanation. He did offer me a choice of a room with a view or a quiet room. I took the view. Turns out our view was the alley next to the hotel. One the plus side, the room was certainly adequate. Another plus was the helpfulness of the people working the concierge desk. They were great. On another note, I wish Marriott would stop charging for Internet/wifi. During our month of travel throughout Europe, they were the only hotel chain who wanted you to pay. Some of their less expensive chains offer free wifi. Why do they think they need to charge exorbitant prices in their most expensive hotels? Doesn't make any sense.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satxgrillguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    1,324
    398
    132
    75
See reviews for
491
1,264
160
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got this hotel after placing a bid on Priceline. Little did we know that the hotel was used by airline crews and Holland America Cruise Lines for their pre and post cruise tours. Unfortunately we arrived at the same time a group arrived from Holland America. Like most people I stood politely in line but one man seemed to think that it was OK to push me aside and get in line ahead of me. When I explained the situation to the woman at check-in she looked right through me and proceeded to deal with the other guest. I can only assume that either a) she prefers men or 2) has orders to take care of the Holland American guests first. In either case it was a poor beginning.
When we got to our room we found ourselves in a little cubbyhole with no room to turn around in. Iwas very clean and well maintained and the same goes for the washroom. The towels while clean were small and slightly worn.
The hotel has a great location. The minute you open the door the streets are flocked with people, stores restaurants etc.
Since my husband wasn't feeling well we opted to order room service rather that going out to eat. The order arrived exactly as requested and within an acceptable length of time. Things that were supposed to be cold were fine but anything that was supposed to be warm was also cold.
The hotel notifies you that they add a 5 Euro "tray charge" and then on top of that they add a spot for a tip on the bill. The waiter just stood there looking over my shoulder while I signed the receipt and added another tip on top of what was already there.
Not long before this stay we had stayed at a hotel in Amsterdam with the same rating but slightly less central. I had to come to the conclusion that location isn't everything and would opt for the less central hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdl2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Thought this was going to be in a good location but was disappointed. Convenient to train station but that's it. Carpet in room was filthy, never enough towels in room. We were placed in a room in adjacent bldg. long walk from elevator. Forget trying to get breakfast in the club lounge unless it's 6:30 am. Nothing is refilled. Worst Marriott branded hotel I ever stayed in.
Concierge staff was excellent!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofmombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When you come to Europe, you expect a nice but tiny room with odd bathroom configurations. Well, it was the exact opposite at the Amsterdam Renaissance. Our room was huge even by American standards (see my pictures – they pretty much say it all). When we arrived at 2:00PM, we got our room immediately even though the check-in time is 4:00PM. We are Marriott Premier Members, which probably accounts for many of the good things. The room has a full closet, drawers, and a desk with wired internet, but the Wi-Fi worked fine. The room safe was plenty large and held our iPad. The bath was average size with shower, single sink, and toilet. The ventilation was good. Two large comfy chairs sit by the window for nice reading spots. I can’t remember our room number but there were no noise issues – and, our room faced the narrow street (see picture).

Included with our room were internet access and a “continental breakfast”. Well, the internet is plenty fast and reliable. You could even get real work done. The so call continental breakfast was really a full breakfast with 3 hot items and everything else you could want. However, it is not the mega breakfast buffet with the omelet station and waffles. We got the mega breakfast on the weekend when they don’t run two different breakfast venues. Really, how much should one eat at breakfast?

The hotel is well configured for business conferences. The lobby is sparse but an upstairs lounge is great for meetings and small gatherings. A large conference center is across the street. Our group used the lounge meeting room to plan our daily adventures. Free refreshments are stocked in the refrigerator.

The hotel is in the heart of the tourist district and most frequently visited sites are within walking distance. We never ate lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant because there are so many other restaurants in the area. The 10-minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal is easy even with heavy luggage, depending on your limitations. However, take a 17 € taxi ride if you are going to the cruise terminal as it is somewhat farther and bumpy. You can get to the hotel from Schiphol airport by taking the intercity train to Centraal and then doing the walk. However, you have to carry your heavy luggage onto the train. Alternatively, just pay 60 € for the long taxi ride and avoid the strained back (or pack light!).

If you are looking for a modern hotel in the heart of the city, with full service, I would recommend the Renaissance with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and could not fault the hotel, central location, very clean and room and beds are excellent.

We would never stay on the 2nd floor again, room 138, it overlooks and outside restaurant and is very noisy, avoid this room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 138 very noisy outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie01-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night because of the proximity to the train station and Marriott's reputation. The hotel was super new and very clean. Our room was small but luxurious and the bed, as with any Marriott, was extra comfortable. Got a drink at the bar and had a chat with the friendly bartender. He seemed very happy to answer any questions we had and definitely helped make the stay more memorable. The hotel was a perfect base to walk around the city, as it is near the Jordaan district, Anne Frank House, Red Light District and the main ring of canals. Although I did not use it, the hotel's meeting space is an old renovated church! I should would love to use that sometime, but I recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a nice clean hotel near to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was awesome! We stayed here for a 3-4 day layover/vacation. The hotel is in a great location! There are restaurants nearby, the train, and many local attractions are within walking distance.

The hotel is decorated very attractively. The concierge was very helpful. The bar and bartender were amazing! We had a blast in the bar!

We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkyBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,409 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,839 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#97 of 367 in Amsterdam
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing