We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although it was the smallest room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Although it was the smallest room we have ever stayed in, we had to remind ourselves that this was Europe and we had a prime location in that we were very centrally located, a street over from the famous Red Light district. The beds were absolutely Marriott comfortable! although we had requested King, the two queen did quite nicely. The hotel staff was friendly and accomodating, The restaurant and room service was excellent! Nice having a window that opens too for a bit of the April fresh spring air!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is located about 3 blocks from Central Station, which is very convent for taking the canal cruises, and catching a train to another city. We had a club room which I found very useful. We got our breakfast in the club room, which was made up of sliced cheeses and meats and all types of breads, as well as eggs and bacon, and sweet breads. You made your own coffee from a machine you would find in a coffee shop, steam and all. There was a well stocked fridge with sodas, which you would devour from a day of walking around. Around 5PM there was happy hour with wine and snacks. On Saturday and Sunday the club room is closed for breakfast and you eat in the main dining room. They called the buffet American style, they had everything I needed, this was included in the price for the club room. The room was very large, it had a bedroom area and a living area and very large windows. The room was very bright even in the rainy weather. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room number 140 is an accessible room with a queen bed. It overlooks a side street, but I didn'...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connie391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for just one night in early June, but it was an extremely pleasant stay. We'd arrived early on a flight from the States, and even though it was hours before check-in, the front desk was extremely accommodating and were able to provide us a room, even at 9am! This is always a plus, as many hotels hold strict to the check-in time, even if rooms are available. So it was great to get a room immediately after the overnight flight. The front desk was friendly, but tremendously professional.

The room was a bit small by U.S.-standards, but average (maybe even better than average!) by European standards. It was clean and stylish, and had in-room coffee and tea (always a plus to save a few euro).

We had a king sized bed, and it was supremely comfortable. Also worth noting -- it was a true king sized bed, and not the fake two-twins-joined-together that you tend to see in European hotels. So two very enthusiastic thumbs up for the real king bed. Pillows and blankets were both great. It was an excellent night's sleep.

The bathroom was super clean, had great toiletries, and plentiful towels.

The hotel's location is really good. Just under a ten minute walk from Centraal Station, and an easy walk to all the major sights in the central area of Amsterdam. There are also lots of little food options easily available in the neighborhood. We definitely felt safe walking around at night too, and the canal lit up in the dark is just lovely. Just a note -- we were surprised to see red light activities outside the actual red light district. Not a detractor on the hotel, more of a cultural difference, but there were definitely red light windows just down the block from the Renaissance.

I wish there had been free wifi in the room, but it was only available to us in the lobby. This was definitely better than nothing, but it would have been nice to not have to leave the room.

We didn't try any of the in-hotel food/drink options.

Overall, it was a very nice stay. The hotel was rated as a five-star, and I'm not quite sure it was there. It was a tremendously nice four-star business hotel, but wasn't quite the luxury of a true five-star (though it was close to five-star prices). Still, we'd likely stay here again on future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edythevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just stayed three nights at the hotel.

I selected this property for a business trip to Amsterdam. It´s within walking distance from the central station in Amsterdam. About 5-10 min. away from the tracks. As most general stuff was already mentioned here, I will keep the focus of this review on how the hotel treated me as a Platinum Premier member.

1. There is no dedicated check-in position for high Marriott Rewards members. I had to wait about 15 min. in line before someone opened a third check-in position. I had not to ask for my welcome gift and my check-in card was ready. Cheese plate was better than average and wine was a full bottle!

2. No upgrade was given. I just got a regular rooom with a king sized bed, as requested.

3. Lounge is on the 1. floor (use the stairs ...its much faster than the elevator. As I was never told, when the lounge is open and what they offer when, I can not give any details here. I can only describe what I experianced. At 8pm there was no more food available. Not even crackers or nuts or sweets....just nothing. Asking gently if there are at least some peanats left was without success. At 10 pm the beer was loocked. They have 3-4 different types free of charge. I did not saw any other alcohols beside the beer...not even for sale. Food offered in the evening was always empty, as the lounge was full and they only brought a small plate out....for a bunch of people waiting. It lasted for about 3-4 minutes before it was empty again. Even cheese was runnig out quickly. This offer can not be compared to other Marriott hotels within Europe....well...maybe Lissabon is at the same low level. They also have wine free of charge...till sometimes before 10pm. Than its locked. They offer reg, white and rose (all chilled!). Softdrinks were available all the time I entered the lounge. Breakfast at the lounge was always busy. Scrambled eggs and meat was always more cold than warm. 2-3 types of cheese plus cold cut. Selection never changed during my stay, but was ok. Different types of bread and toast as well as danishs was enough to choose from. Also fruit and youghurt was offered plus two different juices. You have to sit at these small coffee tables for breakfast, which is not very comfortable. One of the two coffee machines was broken twice. I saw no one from the staff working on it.

4) Business Center: I had to print a bunch of paper and was hoping for some professional assistence from the hotel. Well, there is a slow printer in the lounge for free (realy slow....2 pages per Minute) and a bigger printer downstairs (which was out of paper). No further help...even for money was available. I ended up at the Okure hotel, who offered that service for an edequate service charge.

5) Gym: Is on the same floor as the check-in....just a view steps down. I had a look into it but did not used it. Its of medium size and of well equipped (cardio, machines, free weights).

6) Rooms: My room was to a silent side street. Small window, that can be opened. AC worked perfectly. It cooled the room down excelently. This is a big plus. There is nothing worse than an AC that does not works properly. As the weather changed on my second day, I turned it off and slept with open windows. The AC is central and makes just very little noise. The way from the room to the lounge was less than 5 min. The bedding is excellent soft marriott bedding. The best they have to offer! I slept like on a cloud. Bathroom was very small with small buthtub. Hai-r and Showergel was used on the first day but never filled up again on the following days. My room had evening turn-down service (dont know if this is for every room). They offer Feodora Milk Chocolate for the night.

7) Check-out: Same problem as check-in...you have to wait in line...and the line was long.

8)
Restaurant and bar: Not tested during my stay. However used the italian place outside in front of the hotel....be warned....they serve pre-made frozen pizza. Portions are quiet small (this place has no relation with the hotel). Full american breakfast was EUR 28 EUR in the hotel restaurant.

9)
I found some regular priced restaurants and bars, when you turn right at the front door, walk towards the canal (15 meters) and turn left. Follow the water for several blocks. The further you get away from the Central Station, the lower the prices get. You are walking towards the University area. The crowd gets younger.

10) You can find the red light district if you turn left at the hotel doors. For wommen, go the first right, for guys use the second to the right. Families with children should know that women are sitting behind the windows on street level in this area!

However if you are planning a canal cruise etc. its good to stay close to the central station. (dont use the first one you see. Tours for 1 hour are available from 7.50 EUR up...and are more or less the same as the 15 EUR tours (tours further away from the station are usually less expensive).

11) If I have to return to Amsterdam, I might would stay here again but would also consider other options before booking (maybe the Marriott).

Room Tip: Get a room to the less noisy side streets, not the main street. This way you can sleep with your win...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Renaissance and it was excellent. I got a great deal on Hotwire last minute. I would highly recommend this hotel. Very clean and modern with nice amenities. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it. Perfect location. I took the train in from Paris and it is in walking distance of Amsterdam central. All the major tram lines run close to it. Lots of restaurants close by. Red light district and plenty of coffee shops close as well if you are into that kind of thing. Overall A+

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpinder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is really modern and walking distance (5 min away) from the Central station.
Service was great, super helpful and friendly.
Amsterdam is easily walk-able, Dam square is 5 min away from the hotel, Anne Frank's house 15 min walking distance and the Tram 5 stops outside the Rijksmuseum / Van Gogh museum and will leave you close to the hotel.
Lovely experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is well located, and if you want to stay in the surrounding area you don't miss restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc. The place is clean and well maintained but rooms are small (at least mine was) and dark, because most of them face internal yards. Also, the hotel appears to be distributed over two separate buildings, so if you are assigned a room in the other building it is quite a walk from the elevator. Being a gold Marriott member, I could access the lounge at the first floor, but in two weeks we basically had always the same food available (I mean, exactly the same), and - most important - the food is taken away at 7:30pm sharp, which makes difficult to take advantage of, if you are on business trip. One issue was that almost every morning it took quite a lot of time to have a taxi : if you try to book it in advance, they tell you that it's not needed, but then you have to wait 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the back street, people getting out of the restaurants at late hours a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,922 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $194 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing