We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice & Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #81 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice & Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A nice and perfectly located hotel; not too close to keep you up but not too long of a walk either.

Recently stayed at this hotel when visiting Amsterdam and could not have found a better location for us. We arrived by train from Paris and it was literally 3 minutes walking from the train station. We checked in and were greeted nicely, no problems. The hotel itself looks nice with a great big lobby, receptionist and concierge all day. We noticed just a bit of every style of people were staying here, from families to younger couples and business people as well (the hotel had a small convention take place the day we were leaving so we noticed a lot more check in then).

We walked to the red light district at night and took the fairy to Anne Frank, then walked to Van Gogh and Heineken Experience as well as to the I AMSTERDAM sign, which is a must for tourists.

We had a small problem with the hotel printer, but the staff had no problem helping us print out our passes for us.

All in all, I would stay at this hotel again if visiting Amsterdam; good location, quit, comfortable beds and a friendly staff willing to help you with anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    1,218
    365
    115
    65
See reviews for
437
1,139
151
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stlouis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Clean, sufficient amenities..but the smallest hotel room I've had in years, if ever. There was a bed and just enough walking space between bed and closet and tv. One small chair in a corner... Disappointing given the amount paid per night.....

The location is great...walking distance to Central STation. Canal rides, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pashadarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May, one on either end of a Baltic cruise leaving from Copenhagen. We chose the hotel for it's convenient location. This hotel is just a 10-15 minute walk (dragging your luggage) from the Central Train Station. For those of you not familiar with Amsterdam, the Central Train Station is about a 15 minute ride from the airport and the trains run frequently.

The hotel was busy and we waited more than a few minutes to check in (twice on separate stays), but I attributed that to the attention the desk clerks paid to each customer. English is widely spoken here (and in most of Amsterdam) and Bellmen were attentive and available. This hotel was also close to some tourist attractions (canal tours, for example); shops; and restaurants. Our room was well-appointed looking out on a tree-lined side street; the bed was super comfy (nice after a trans-atlantic flight); and we had turn-down service.

I used Marriott points so I can't comment on the price or value. For Gold (and above) Elite members the Renaissance has a complimentary "Club Lounge" with 24-hour coffee,tea, wi-fi and printer; European breakfast in the morning; beer, wine and snacks in the evening

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Functional, classic with a modern twist and all the facilities you expect to pay for...nothing over the top, but essential if you want more space without being ripped off! And in a great location... Ask for twin beds and you could get a bigger room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LodonBrazilFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the train station, close to restaurants, central Amsterdam, and other attractions. The hotel rooms are very nice and clean. The lobby and restaurant area is great. The hotel rooms are small but that's typical of European hotels.

The hotel is very busy so I did not get my double size bed but opted for two twins due to my early check in. I would definitely stay in this hotel again on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel wants to present itself as a top hotel. It is not. The staff is badly trained and check-in lasted for an eternity. Then the guests were divided into club members and not-members. The management has some job to do correcting this. Wi-fi at an exorbitant price, 20 euros per day. We chose the hotel because it is close to the station. No one can deny that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently stayed here to attend the conference. I do not think they were expecting females to travel by themselves on business at this hotel; and some of the lippy service by the bell staff in particular reflected that. Also, if you are coming in from the US (I wasn't) don't expect to get a room right away. They will make you wait even if you're an elite Marriott customer.

But yet, I still give the hotel 4 stars. Why?

First, the location is great in terms of proximity to the station; and it was also easy to get to the multiple locations I needed to attend for the conference. That convenience paid for itself. Second, the room was very nicely apportioned. The bed was soft, the bathroom was done very nicely. It also looked like someone had done turndown service for me, which was a big surprise and helpful (as I didn't get back until late). Third, the gym was fabulous. Fourth, there was a woman at the front desk who checked me in who was very knowledgable and very polite. She made up for the attitude. Finally, although it cost in the rooms, there was free WiFi in the lobby and power sockets were plentiful. I thought, "if I was traveling transatlantic and waiting for a room, this would make it tolerable".

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing