We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #86 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, especially given its location, close to the train station, good glitzy bar ( also the pub on the corner is actually part of the hotel, though it looks old and separate), decent if pricey room service and immaculate. The toilets were a bit whiffs end of last year and early this year, but the rest of the hotel and the rooms are always immaculate, so I expect they have sorted by now. It's not perfect, and it isn't the cheapest, but it is a good reliable option. Recommended

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ParisMilanDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    1,322
    398
    131
    75
See reviews for
491
1,262
160
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. I had read some reviews that this was not the case - not so! Anyone we passed was always polite and friendly. The concierge desk was extremely helpful. Anyone at that desk always offered helpful suggestions and directions. The room was always cleaned from day to day. The hotel is in a nice location - close to Central Station and within walking distance to everything. The club room meals were always filled with the morning breakfast food and the evening appetizers. If the plates were empty, they were immediately refilled. The staff in the club room was always friendly. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Renaissance for two nights after flying in from the states. Great service! Immaculate hotel (which is something which cannot be taken for granted here-- we found this out from staying at several other places while in the Netherlands). The location is convenient, very close to Centraal Station, while also easy walking distance to other locations. Our room was spacious and quiet at night. The breakfast buffet had many delicious choices. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The staff was wonderful. They allowed us to check in super early and check out late. The location is great. Easy walking distance to great restaurants and bars. The room is lovely. The fitness center is great. I am not sure how this place could get much better. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here before. It was excellent, especially the breakfast, but the wifi sucked. Well, they fixed it up so now I had no problems using face time & viber. It's a very good hotel in a good location. The gym is nice. The rooms clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsingborg
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in Amsterdam for a weekend and spent two nights at the Renaissance. We where happy with the overall stay and would like to point out the following "pros" and "cons".

Pros:
- The hotel is situated within five minutes from the train station (where you arrive from Schipol).
- The hotel is new and fresh and gives an overall welcoming approach
- The front of house are very friendly, check in was smooth
- There is a free of charge guide at your disposal and this person has a broad knowledge of Amsterdam (use him!)
- The beds are fantastic.
- The lounge bar is pleasant has provides free of charge board games.

Cons:
- Breakfast is served in a rather noisy atmosphere. You do not want to linger for long.
- The rooms are rather small and lacks some fundamental equipment for a de luxe room (hair dryer for instance)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Viking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I liked this hotel, nice atmosphere, nice staff, nice exec lounge - usual standard snacks (same every day tho) & it had a help yourself BEER TAP, an alcoholics dream! I only had one beer though, honest!!

The only real problem was the key system they use, we had to go back down to the lobby at least six times to get the door keys reset, they just stopped working... I had a flick through some old tripadvisor reviews and it appears other guests also had key problems. I was actually tempted at one stage to leave the room door unlocked when popping downstairs, sooner than risk the key not working. Great if you're a locksmith who can open doors, or a master burglar, but if you're bad at opening doors then you won't have much fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,839 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#101 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing