We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The usual wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #92 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The usual wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really like the Renaissance brand. Clean, modern, comfortable with great service. Big bed, spotless room, modern and functional bathroom and this one is completely central in Amsterdam.

I have but one complaint otherwise this would be a five star rating. Why do you rape business travellers by charging 19.99 Euros for WiFi that is not even very good or fast?

Room Tip: Bring your own WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ODonnell-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,283
    387
    126
    74
See reviews for
474
1,207
155
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
349 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Frequent visitors to the city, we have tried a number of 4 & 5 star hotels and came across this hotel via Marriott advertising. Excellent location within a very easy walk from the station. Don't bother with taxi as will take longer to queue and get in and out! Well appointed rooms. Heating/aircon a little noisy and single glazed window had loads of condensation but it was during a cold snap with snow. Minor issues. Club lounge was OK but we seemed to be limited to draft beer. Not sure we made the most of the extra cost of the club lounge but will definitely be back to the hotel when in town.
Breakfast (included in our rate but 29 euro each for full 'American'/everything - ouch!) was top rate and would try their restaurant next time as chefs knew their business. Best scrambled eggs in Amsterdam over the years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Renaissance Amsterdam is a smart, stylish hotel near to the Centraal Station, and ideally located for the Canal Ring and the town centre. The room was large, and the bed comfy and soft. All the amenities you would expect were provided (others have commented that there is no wi-fi, but this was not something I would need).
I only haven't put 5 stars as we were priced out by the very expensive breakfast option (ranges from 23 - 27 euro I think), so I am unable to comment on the restaurant's quality. On the plus side there are lots of places to go out for food in the vicinity, so that was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is in a very good location and clean rooms with nice beds. No view but that wasn't a problem. What was a problem was the "trek" we had to make to our room which was located in an adjoining building and had to go through many corridors to get there and no bellman service available to help us. I wound up hurting my back lifting my suitcase onto the bed because I had to drag it through several corridors. It put a real damper on our whole Amsterdam portion of a trip that was the start of a pre-package stay for a HAL cruise from Amsterdam to New York. While there were some nice restaurants nearby (notably Van Speck), there really wasn't enough of a choice for someone who could hardly walk because of a wrenched back. And, they don't indicate the multi-corridor issue on the hotel website which might make some of us older travelers with arthritis think twice about using this hotel. Did not try out the food at the hotel so no issue with that. Staff was very nice if a little understaffed most of the time.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the first building so you don't have to make the "trek" and i mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The website doesn't do justice to this modern classy hotel in the middle of the best part of Amsterdam. At the price it is great value, and the staff offered some reasonable add on specials on arrival. The only issue is that I found it hard to locate the entrance with hotel signage in various streets confusing the issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location (very close to the Centraal station) and in the heart of Amsterdam. Club lounge is a mess and far too many people. The same goes for breakfast - canteen like and filling in slips of paper at the table? Room was fine with great beds - no views but clean with a small bathroom. I have yet to find a Hotel in Amsterdam with great and friendly staff and willing to go out of their way to be a bit more than just average. I cannot believe that WIFI is charged for....
Its a good but very forgettable Hotel and does little to make one want to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wasnt sure at first about the small scale of the hotel, in which smaller hotels tend to be dirty, dated and akward. Upon entering the lobby, i was greeted with warm welcomes from the staff looking upon the refreshing decor. The hotel's interiors are much more forgiving than it's drab shell. The breakfast bar was decent and the rooms were overall clean. It's a great stay if you want to be near most of the main street attractions but not too engulf by the busy streets; as it sits off tucked away from busy roads but still near the canals. If u can look past its extremely small rooms (common in most Europe hotels) it has a very nice charm with a touch of sophistication.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing