We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #86 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. The location is excellent, a 15-20 minute walk to the train station or city center. The rooms seem very new and although on the smaller side, they are comfortable and very clean. The bathrooms are fresh too. There are two bars, each very different. The executive lounge is worth the extra fee. This is a hip, modern hotel that I highly recommend and would stay at again if visiting Amsterdam!

Room Tip: There are three excellent restaurants directly across the street from the hotel - ask the concierge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vg411973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    1,322
    398
    131
    75
See reviews for
491
1,262
160
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited the Renaissance Hotel recently and firmly believe this is of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

The location is great, less than ten minutes walk from the central station and about the same to the centre of the city.

The entrance lobby is gorgeous and you really feel that you have stepped into luxury when you enter the hotel. There are plenty of staff on hand to help and an incredible fireplace to sit by. We visited in December and a warm fireplace was just what we wanted when coming in from the chilly streets.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I was unwell one day of my trip so I spent a good deal of time in bed and can firmly say they are everything you want from a bed, soft, clean, cosy and plenty of pillows. One of my pet hates is when a hotel doesn’t have enough pillows, well I’m glad to say this is not an issue here.

If you can get into the club room you are in for a treat as there are complimentary snacks and drinks.

Breakfast is somewhat overpriced, at 28 Euros each it is pretty overpriced considering the hotel is within 5 minutes of dozens of cheap places to eat

All in all though it is an incredible experience to stay in this hotel, one which I will be returning to for sure next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

hotel, about 10min walk from central station, is situated in the most cozy part of town amidst houses and buidings from the 17th century and within strolling distance to the picturesque canals and houseboats. a bit of a good 4star hotel in amsterdam is extremely expensive, but the renaissance delivers a good price/quality, even more by choosing a room with executive lounge access. lobby area appears modern and chique, much more appealing than the marriott. check in was quick, friendly and very professional. the gentleman gave us a large king room with "koepelkerk" view and sofabed for our teenager... and here comes the only negative experience, which we unfortunately encounter in so many high class hotels: this may never ever be called a sofaBED! it is like sleeping on an indian bed of nails. do not expect somebody to sleep on it. furthermore the room and bath were excellent, modern, clean, with all amenities of a top hotel. besides coffee,tea,chocolates,soft drinks and computer terminals the executive lounge offers mini sandwiches and 2 choices of hot finger food together with a very limited choice of wine and (draft-) beer from 5.30pm to 9pm. i would not consider the food as a dinner option (like in many german marriott lounges). the breakfast however is a blast. here the choices are plentyful with cold cuts like salmon etc, an omlette station and much more to choose from. choose this place, if not on a budget. the renaissance and surounding area delivers and we would always choose it above the other marriott hotel in town.

Room Tip: ask for street and/or "koepelkerk" view. many rooms face a dull courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam hotel 10/10/12 - 10/12/12 for a post cruise stay. I read the reviews online and with the feedback on Tripadvisor I selected this hotel. I was not disappointed. All 6 in the group enjoyed this hotel. The location is superb within a 5 minute walk to the Central Station. It's surrounded by restaurants within steps you have great choices to eat. In back of the hotel is an alley way to restaurants and souvenir shops. The hotel sits on the quiet street called Kattengat and it's a beautiful block. I felt safe walking alone and walking through the alley to the restaurants and shopping. The staff at the reception desk was superb. The Concierge gave us a great tip on arriving early to the Anne Frank Museum before the line queues up at 9:00 am. The doormen are superb ready to call a cab and give directions without expecting a tip. The room was spacious, clean and modern. There's a nice restaurant on site although we didn't eat there due to time. The lobby is cozy with lots of seating and a nice fireplace. My room mate left a pair of sneakers and the hotel sent to the U.S. by mail. You can't ask for more personal service. If you're looking for a good hotel in a great location that's clean and friendly then the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel meets all your needs. I was so please and thank you for your feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stopwaitingandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Amsterdam on our honeymoon. We named our own price on Priceline.com. We were excited to see that we got the Renaissance Amsterdam hotel because it had such great reviews on trip advisor. The reviews are accurate. All of the staff was wonderful. When there was a line to get information at the concierge, even the doorman stepped up to help guests find where they needed to go around town. We mentioned that we were on our honeymoon when we checked in and that night we were surprised to find a bottle of champaign and fruit in our room along with a very thoughtfulhand written letter from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are nice, clean, and small, but of course this is Europe. Lobby is nice, awesome coffee machine! They should have free wifi. Better sound proofing would help as well. We have a church facing room with a king. Hotel is located near the shopping area and many of the attractions.

Helpful?
Thank gianna2u
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlsbad, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not what I expect from a Marriott Renaissance. The Hotel is in a good area, however, the hotel itself is not impressive. The rooms are typical Marriott style rooms. The service is terrible, with the typical iBahn ripoff for internet ($24 a day) the bad taste is immediately in your mouth. We were then put in the "900 wing" of the hotel which involves taking a hotel to the second floor then walking for about 3 minutes across an indoor bridge to another building, then taking another elevator to the 3rd floor of the 900 building. What a pain, 5+ minute walk just to get to the lobby and there is no other exit or entrance.

To top it off the hot water has not worked for 2 mornings in a row. When I called the desk, they said that the maint guy has been working on the water.... well nice of them to let us know that there may not be any hot water available for 2 mornings in a row around 10am.

No continental breakfast, no free coffee (at least that was advertised to us on check in), no map of the area until I tracked down the concierge to tell us about the city for a couple mins.

This is exactly why we don't stay in big American hotels while traveling for vacation, we thought that since we had some free points it would be worth a try. Very disappointed in Marriott's services. Stick to the boutiques where service matters.

Room Tip: DONT ACCEPT a 900 room. It is not in the same building and is a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spicoli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,839 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#101 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing