We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean, comfortable and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night and this hotel is phenomenal! Gorgeous rooms, 5 minute walk for the train station, friendly staff and a warm feel.

Seems very new, wonderful modern decor throughout (lobby, hallways, rooms). Very friendly and helpful front desk and concierge staff as well.

We were mainly stopping in to sleep - check-in, walk around, come back for a few minutes to grab a few items, and then sleep. We did not try any of the services offered, including breakfast, so I can't speak to any of those.

My only complaint is the lack of free WiFi, however we were offered a package upon check-in which included free WiFi, breakfast, and a few other amenities (we declined).

Would definitely stay here again, and would certainly recommend. A fantastic base of operations when exploring Amsterdam!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jesus_IV_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 3,333 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

the only reason why I cannot say that this is an exellent hotel is that the building itself is a bit outdated with very small windows and a lot of the rooms will be faceing a fairly ugly courtyard.

Haveing said this the hotel is perfectly located. Its just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central station and still in the middle of the city.

Rooms are re-furbished. Not so big but just fine. Internet is provided by iBahn. Very slow. Nearly useless.

I have mixed feeling about the front desk. The morning shift were just super-fantastic. Very sweet and incredible helpful. The evening shift on the other hand was dreadful. 2 young man were there who seemed to be only interested in chatting-up young female guests.

Breakfast is fine.

All-in-all this is a very good hotel were i would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pricey, but central. I booked what I thought was a double room through expedia only to find out at check-in that they only had a twin room available which I wasn't too pleased about as I was charged at the time of booking. By the way that did not include breakfast. If you're booking a double room it might be best to check beforehand that that is what you will get when you arrive.

Room Tip: See comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deaglanoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel was great - its location perfect, clean, well furnished rooms. Good bathrooms. Nicely decorated. Let down by some of the small details - we booked 2 rooms - one double and one twin. They must have known we were a family, yet they put us on the 1st and 4th floor - with a long walk up and down corridors from the lifts. Not ideal ... and it is a big hotel with a lot of rooms. Replenishment of tea, creamer and coffee was poor - they did not automatically replace what you had used ... we ended up with loads of coffee and no creamer after day 1.

We ate out all the time ... found lovely places to have breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: Probably try and get above 1st floor as there was some noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister & I took a side trip from Paris. Neither of us had ever been to Amsterdam. We had such a fabulous time. # 1 I am glad a am a Gold Club Marriott because we were able to get Club Lounge access and free breakfast, where we didn't even get the free breakfast at the Courtyard in Paris... The customer service was Excellent from the time we walked in the door.

The hotel is located within walking distance from the Train station, which was great getting around town because we just had to hop on any trolley that said central station to take us back to the hotel. The Concierge staff was so very helpful, whether it was directions to the ATM or around town to see the sites. Just really, nice people who seem to enjoy their jobs and the same goes for the folks in the Club Lounge just really nice and caring.

Our recommendation to enjoy Amsterdam!

Room Tip: You may want to stay in a room on a high floor for less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diamond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel overall we enjoyed our stay the rooms were clean and the staff were polite and helpful. The only complaint is the traffic noise at night and that they tried to charge us for breakfast when it was included in the cost of our stay but apart from that we would stay there again because of the location only next time we would request a room on the inside because of the traffic noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 3 nights and we were both really happy about it. The location is great, you can easily walk into the city centre. Our room was really nice, quite spacious and really clean. The bed was amazing, so big and comfortable, it was probably the best sleep I've had in a long time!!
The price is really good for a 5 stars Amsterdam hotel, you'll hardly find anything better for that price!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $198 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing