We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern, contemporary hotel in quaint neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #81 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a beautiful, modern, contemporary style hotel in the middle of a quaint neighborhood. The hotel is clean and modern, and has a great location. You're close to the Central station. We walked easily to all sights in Amsterdam. If you have Marriott status, you'll enjoy the nicely stocked club lounge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlightSurgeon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,302)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel many times. There's always a warm welcome, the rooms are always clean and of a high standard. I also like the location, near to the hustle and bustle but in a nice quiet street. It's also close to the railway station making for a stress free arrival. There is a little burger bar which does excellent lunches, and the main restaurant is great fir evening meals. I am biased, but that's because I've never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. The location is already quiet but a high floor guarantees total silence.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FHR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent location in a quiet street very near to Centraal Station. I stayed one night and this was a perfect location. Clean modern rooms, close to main attractions and transport. Felt very safe and would definately choose this hotel for a return visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is a very short walk to Central station and many other attractions in Amsterdam city. The hotel is clean and the rooms are adequately sized or European standards. I just wish the front desk staff had put in a little more effort into making may stay more comfortable when they couldn't accommodate my early check-in request. They don't have free wifi and three hours into my wait for my room I found out there was free coffee and a complimentary wifi card they could have offered me. Most of the time when hotels realize you've been on a long flight (10 hrs plus in my case) they try to accommodate your request for an early check in or provide you with some little comforts while you wait. Even when I asked the front desk person where to wait she gave my this blank look before pointing to the main. Again, I later found out there was a more private part I could have waited.

I just want the hotel to know that there's more to the hotel industry than clean rooms, customers, especially new ones have to feel welcome and well cared for. They were polite but missed the boat on being hospitable. I have not decided yet if I'll be going back or not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agyasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last Spring and based on that good experience, we chose it again for a week long visit here with family during September. We liked the location close to Centraal Station and were so satisfied with the hotel that when we found ourselves able to extend our vacation, we chose to stay here two more days. Our room was in the section called the Annex, which called for a bit of a walk from the elevator but we were very happy with it. We were away from the street noise and the room was large, comfortable and well equipped. The staff was friendly and helpful with everything from tram tickets, directions to sights and suggestions for shopping, to just plain visiting with us when time allowed. We were able to use the Club lounge and found the staff there to be just as helpful and friendly. We plan future trips to Amsterdam for those family visits and will always hope that there will be a room available at the Renaissance for us. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futbal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Marriott after our Celebrity cruise of the Baltic. The staff was so very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The two restaurants were very good and you always felt welcome. The staff was so nice and helpful they helped make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good location to ride canal boats, and to catch a tram. Both of those are right in front of Centraal Station which is about 2-3 blocks. We took Connexxion shuttle from airport to hotel which was reasonably priced. Room was fairly small but ok for one night. It faced the street and was a bit noisy in the wee hours of the morning. I could hear people talking on the sidewalk. Concierge lounge was large and well-stocked with a friendly staff. Computer connection there was fast. We would definitely stay there again because of location. Front desk staff was friendly and we were able to get our room before noon which was helpful after a sleepless overnight transatlantic flight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,925 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $204 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing