We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a fun hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
In Transit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fun hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a delightful hotel with a super friendly staff. The location is perfect in the center of everything and every staff member we encountered went out of their way to accommodate.
The rooms are comfortable, food is tasty and the atmosphere is fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    1,217
    363
    115
    65
See reviews for
437
1,139
150
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I did not like the tiny room I had at this hotel. There was even a part of the wall that stuck out above my tv and desk and when I walked into the room, I had to lean to the left in order to not hit my head on the wall. Not exactly the most comfortable room. Also, the air conditioning did not work and neither did the internet. I dont know if I just received one of the least favorable rooms this time around, but if all the rooms were like that, I would not stay at this hotel again. The front desk staff and door staff were really nice though. Hotel was clean which is very important!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got back from a one week stay at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. My room was ready when I arrived at 9am. Only draw back was it was a very long walk and two elevator trips. My room was huge, bathroom had a heated floor and the bed was super comfy. The hotel is well situated for sightseeing and walking the city. I found the staff to be very helpful, especially Otto. He gave me great tips for getting around and was very friendly. The location is very close to the main train station so getting to/from the airport or taking day trips to the countryside is very convenient. There is also a very close tram stop. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The location is great being so close to Amsterdam Central station. It is close to all of the the things to do here. Access to the clubroom is a bit pricy but if you would like a place to get work done with peers or a place to grab a quick breakfast and an evening beer, wine, and/or snack it is worthwhile.

This is a great location for tourists. The hotel is in a quiet location and a short walk or bike to anywhere you would like to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here twice, for a few days at the beginning of a trip and for one night at the end. This is a large hotel with very contemporary decor so if you prefer 'old world' Amsterdam, this is not for you. It's right near the train station and within a nice walk to both the '9 Streets' shopping area and several canal house museums. The service was good but not warm and even a little brusque at times although the front desk clerk who checked us in was delightful and unusually welcoming. She deserves a raise and promotion! Although I always stay at Marriotts, this was my first stay at its Renaissance brand and for me, it was a little too modern and business-like. Also, the Marriott on the other side of town has much larger rooms and a great restaurant. The restaurant at the Renaissance had very slow service with only one waiter taking care of both the bar and the entire cafe. The food was only fair. Furthermore, although the room seemed clean, on our first night, I was disgusted to discover a large finger nail clipping on the bathroom vanity that clearly had not been carefully cleaned.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger and look out at church dome instead of at courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duxburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is one of my goto hotel when I am in Amsterdam and staying for more than two nights. It is walking distance from Centraal Station and on a quiet side street. The hotel has over the years added small things to make a guests life more comfortable. From one power outlet in the beginning to more.

However charging for internet remains a peeve. The buffet breakfast which was included in my room rate was good and very convenient in the morning as there is no place to get one in the early morning hours.

The attached Kopel Cafe is a nice place to chill after coming back from a long day. It can get crowded in the evening when there is a conference in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel in a package deal and got a gem! This turned out to be one of our favorite hotels in the last 4 weeks of our travels. It is close to the train station, it is in a little quieter part of town, and the kingsze bed is awesome. The hotel restaurant and other attached restaurants serve outstanding food. The concierge service has been impeccable. They have gone out of their way to answer all of our questions and serve our needs. The room is large, clean, and well stocked. I didn't know it was part of the Marriott chain so the bonus points were a pleasant surprise. I will stay at this hotel anytime I travel to Amsterdam. Don't search the web...just select the renaissance Amsterdam Hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Papadan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#26 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing