We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Service, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

LOVED the Renaissance Hotel. Expected a good hotel, but the Renaissance was really above and beyond for a downtown hotel. Wasn't too expensive as we booked through a last minute deal, the people that work there are warm and friendly. You can't beat the location.

The hotel is located on a lovely, triangular street block just a ten minute walk from the Centraal Train station. this was ideal. despite being located downtown, it is quiet, full of character and the room was very very clean.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat. You can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Any room is fairly quiet, but street cleaners sometimes go by. If you would be bothered by the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,169
    344
    110
    63
See reviews for
420
1,072
139
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I cannot use strong enough terms to fully explain how badly My family and I were treated by this hotel.

I bought a 'mini-cruise' from Newcastle with DFDS with a one night stay in Amsterdam. We paid £1550 for two nights on board and one night in Amsterdam so not a bargain break!

When I arrived at the Renaissance, I was told there was no booking and despite offering numerous pieces of evidence to show I had ALREADY paid there were not at all interested.

After waiting for an hour and being that our trip in Amsterdam was going to be very short as it was, I simply agreed to sort it out at my end. What really annoyed me was that I was asked for a credit card for any incidentals in advance. I provided this but then the hotel charged nearly £500 for the rooms on top! And without my permission.

The hotel was 'all fur coat and no knickers' - I dont care about a projection screen on the floor or ridiculous over-design but I do care that I am treated with respect and given the help I need. I was given a room on the top floor which was literally tiny! Too hot and the air conditioning was so poor it was more effective to wedge the door open. Small bed, nothing special about it at all. The rack rate for the room was OVER THREE HUNDRED EUROS!!! What planet are these people on??

When I went to the concierge for help getting the local number for dfds, I waited a good 5 minutes whilst he dealt with the person in front. To my disgust, he then ignored me and started to serve a Dutch person. I told him I was waiting first and he apologised to "the other chap, who has pushed in" and not to me. To add insult to injury, he then started to attend to the queue jumper WHILST he dealt with me.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE DUTCH - YOU WILL REGRET IT!

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE ON BUSINESS - THE STAFF ARE NOT INTERESTED.

On a positive note, we went for breakfast which was not only full of lovely fresh fruit etc. but had some really lovely staff. Not dutch staff! Finally, my heart felt thanks to Gladys - your smile as your served breakfast was the only saving grace - you are the star of The Renaissance.

Dont risk it there are loads of fantastic hotels in Amsterdam - THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!!!

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel than this. If you have no option, insist on checking your room first. Some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we saw the photos of this hotel we couldn't believe it will actually be like that on reality, but it sure was! Great hotel, Great location and super great stuff! They will help you with everything you'll and will do it with big smile!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagiTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location. The room was clean and nice, and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Check in ok, very nice room, good location - 5 minutes from train station and 10 minutes from Dam Square.

No free wifi - even Mcdonalds and Burger King offer free wifi for guests. It could be establish a limit for data traffic and charge over this limit.

Breakfast on the 2nd day was a complete chaos. The man who received us told that, for à la carte order, it would take a long time. He turned around, showing that the room was full of people and added a question "what can i do?" Ye,s it was full of people ans I think a hotel being full of people is what it is supposed to be. Yes, and what can we do? No options. It took 20 minutes for the food to come: 1 pancake, 1 french toast and 2 cappuccinos. The day before another couple of guests asked for à la carte service and I noticed that it took a long time too and the restaurant was not full.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This Hotel was great, service, people, staff, location...all perfect.

Room Tip: these people will do anything to make you feel comfortable,, we had a room facing the street and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbruno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AisleSeat67
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just checked out of the Renaissance and my wife and I still cannot stop talking about how great it was....the helpful staff, big rooms, classy and new feel of the place, the location. everything was top notch.
What stood out was how accommodating the staff were for us to feel relaxed/rested since we were travelling with our 10 month old and arrived after a long overnight flight from Asia.

Will hope to come back on our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing