We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“For Amsterdam, the Marriott is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #75 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“For Amsterdam, the Marriott is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Amsterdam is way overpriced compared to other world cities.
For Euro 150 (US$225) , you get a tiny room that totally needs updating. The Marriott, which would be US$140 if located in Los Angeles or Hong Kong, is Euro 300 (US$450) here in AMS.
Professional staff, huge (for Amsterdam) rooms, spotless. Most North Americans will be shocked at what little you get for your money in this city. If you expect American amenities and decor, you should stay here. If you are willing to accept a tiny, run down room (probably clean) you can stay at a small local hotel for Euro 150.

I loved the Marriott. The location is perfect. 5 min walk to Tram, Leidseplein, Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh museum or the Vondelpark.
I can't blame them for their prices...they fill their rooms every weekend. I wanted to stay 2 nights longer but they were booked up.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    1,052
    302
    87
    49
See reviews for
659
701
110
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
469 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Our extended weekend trip took us to the Marriott in Amsterdam. The rooms were great for a family of four with two full-sized beds. We were basically within walking distance of most everything: shopping, the Rijksmuseum, street car line, etc. Amsterdam is a very walkable city and being centrally located helps immensely. Our room was comfortable and clean and the staff were generally helpful . . . with the exception of the "confused/overworked/not interested" baggage guy that placed our bags in a holding area since we needed to check out before it was time for our train. He managed to separate and lose our 4 small bags in the span of two hours. Other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

This is in a perfect location, you have the nicer entertainment spots of Amsterdam nearby, the museums are less thn 5 minutes walk and it has a network of trams less than 2 minutes away to get around the rest of the city.
The service was good, the restaurant we are told is great (we didn't try though) and the rooms were of a good size and very clean.
It's certainly not the cheapest Amsterdam option but if you can afford slightly more then we would suggest it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryLee316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

My partner and I had a great weekend in Amsterdam, the only poor decision was to chose the Marriott as our hotel. The Marriott is nothing like the Marriotts you would be used to in the States, upon arrival we were greeted by over wrought staff at the old and tired looking lobby. Having waited about 30 minutes to be checked in (some issue with the card machine), we were brought to our room. The deluxe room was very small (which I dont mind in europe) but it was the tiny window with no natural light at all was disappointing when we rang a week before to request a room with any type of view.

We stayed for two nights and both mornings (saturday and sunday) we were woken before 9.30am by the cleaning staff knocking. On the sunday she called 3 times before 11.00am (each time we told her to come back at midday). Check out is at 12.00pm, and on a weekend this is completely unacceptable.

Having had a disappointing stay over all, we went to check out on the sunday. My partner had given 100 euro cash as a deposit and we asked for that back. The receptionist said she had taken it off the bill. When we checked however we saw we had been charged the full amount. When we said this to her, instead of being apologetic, she got very aggressive actually using the words 'I know how to do my job', it was only when we pointed out a second mistake on the bill ( we had been charged 55 euro for a lunch we never had) she actually started to take notice, and realised we had been overcharged 155 euro in total. At this point we were at reception about 45 minutes (there were other disputes going on at the same time too it seemed) and when she finally had settled our bill correctly, there was a muted apology but no offer of anything complimentary etc.

If you expect anything in terms of standards of service, or hotels that put the customer first in your choice of accommodation, please avoid the Marriot in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Our stay at the Marriott in Amsterdam was of course, the usual, the best. We were on the executive floor which made it even better. The hotel is very clean and very customer friendly. The restaurant "Quoy" was great. I had the Lobster with spinach and mashed potato with rosted onions, the food was great and every thing freshly cooked. The only thing I did not like was the parking. It's 30 Euros a day to park at the hote, which is not unsual. However, you are not able to get your car or park your car between the hours of 11:00 P.M- 0700 A.M. The garage closes at 11:00 and reopens at 7:00 A.M, so if you plan on being out with your car watch those times. oOher than that the hotel is great and it's in the center of everything, so you really don't need your car unless you are going out of the city to explore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Amsterdam Marriot recently for 4 nights.

Overall I would recommend the hotel. It was in a great location, opposite the Leidseplein and next to the Vondelpark.

I would thoroughly recommend hiring the hotel bikes (12.50 euro per day) and using them to see the city is the dutch way.

The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and something we looked forward to every day. The service at the reception and concierge desk was also excellent.

The room was great, with 2 double beds and an opening window. We had an issue with the hairdryer though, which cut out after less than a minute. We had it replaced and the next hairdryer did exactly the same. I would recommend you bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The internet service was not free.. as for me that service shouldve been free. food was good but they need to make changes everyday imo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#57 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#106 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,194 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing