We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel if you can get it at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #81 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel if you can get it at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good location although I prefer a location near the center ring and a bit closer to Dam square but less than half an hours walk is good enough. The room was big and clean and the service was very good. The breakfast at the executive lounge could improve but was fine. I parked on the street behind the hotel at half the price hotel parking would cost but you need to be lucky to find a spot.
Would definitely look at this hotel again if I come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    1,107
    319
    95
    55
See reviews for
692
752
116
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The Marriott Amsterdam was a super hotel. The majority of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful from check in to check out. The room was amazing (view,size,cleanliness etc) except that my dad found it hard to sleep in one of the beds a few of the nights but had the best sleep in years another night. We got a great package while checking in which included wifi,breakfast and access to the executive lounge for €90 each a day which is a super deal as you cover breakfast,lunch and dinner and the very important wifi.Great hotel

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank themadhatter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination nevertheless it is nice. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I must admit they got me with the phone and internet fees but removed the fees once I made a big stink about it.
The view from this hotel is amazing and made it worth while. I was there in December during the holiday season which made it worthwhile!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Of course this is a Marriott, and that entails a level of comfort and service that is to be expected from this brand.
I'll talk about the pluses and minuses.
Here are the few positives we experienced:
- on arrival we were upgraded to the only room that has a balcony, room 1025; the view was magnificient and the balcony almost turned our family room into a suite!
- excellent bedding, nice and soft
- pretty good neighborhood, once you get to know your way around. Personnally we might have preferred a hotel closer to the train station, since this is where we came from, but once you know you are at Leidenplein, you quickly figure out the tram possibilities. There is a large and lively pedestrian shopping street very close by, as well as a large 'restaurant neighborhood' also very close.

The minuses: We were made to feel as if we were game for all kinds of commercial pursuits to ensure we are squeezed clean of our last possible euro.
- first, the breakfast: 28.50 euros, about 35 dollars. I'm sorry, but when I am travelling, I am not looking for an unforgettable breakfast experience. This is the price of a Champagne candelight dinner.
So the first morning we were looking around the hotel for a decent breaksfast alternative and came upon the worst tourist trap you can ever imagine. It is situated right next to the Burger King and is called "Pancake Corner' and '"Sport cafe". Disgusting food, and totally overpriced. I knew they were dishonest when I read, on their menu, "For hygienic reasons we do not serve tap water"...
- Coming back to the Marriott: the overpriced breaksfast is also here to induce travellers to buy a 90 dollars a day "executive lounge" upgrade: more upsell.
- Then, the room is full of temptations: close-up pictures of juicy steaks to advertise their restaurant, and an indecent display of candies. It was difficult for my kids to resist. Some hotels in other parts of Europe simply offer an empty fridge as a convenience, it's much more honest and 'friendly'. Note also that we didn't see any price for all these goodies.
- the computer situation also shows stinginess: wifi you have to pay for, and only 30 mn of free computer time per day. Here at Ibis Leiden, where I am staying, there are 2 connected computers available in the lounge 24 hours a day. Yet, Ibis is a much cheaper hotel.
- The 'entertainment package ' may not be specific to Marriott, but I still find it annoying. Before you can access your TV, you have to navigate through screens after screens of paying options. Even listening to music comes with a charge. Then there is the ridiculous 'full package' of TV, Internet and radio: as if people travelled to spend all their time in front of a screen. No, we want to make moderate use of services that should be free: wifi, a business center, music radio and even music TV.
And not to feel we are fair game, a captive audience for all kinds of petty extra profits.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor, city view and were delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I travelled with my wife and two teenage children to Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel for four nights. We were not disappointed and from the moment of arrival the concierge and reception staff were very welcoming, friendly and had a wealth of information to give to us. The following points in relation to the hotel really contributed to us having a great break.
1. Location: it was very convenient to take the 197 bus directly from Schipol to the Leidseplein stop only about 100 metres directly in front of the hotel. When coming out of the airport to the bus stances, the 197 leaves from the middle layer of bus stops, with the first layer being for the courtesy buses. The fare is 5 euros for a single fare payable to the bus driver and it took around 30 minutes to get to the hotel. The bus is a single deck partitioned vehicle and the luggage is taken on board. There are various points in the bus where cases can be placed and as these were taken up, we sat in seats where the bus bends and the cases were fine in this area. At the end of each day, it was lovely to arrive back to the hotel at this location as it is close to the action but slightly away so is quieter. We used three restaurants in the vicinity - In De Buurt and Kop van Jut for dinner which were both excellent and de Vier Pilaren (wooden creperie across the road in front of the hotel) for lunch which was also very good.
2. Helpfulness of the staff: in addition to the very helpful front desk staff, housekeeping were also excellent. We were out early most days but on one day, we rested up for a morning. Housekeeping put a card under the door respecting our privacy and inviting us to call the housekeeping number when we were ready to have the room serviced. They followed this up with a phonecall in the early afternoon just as we were ready to go out to check when they could service the room. When we returned at night, the room had been completed to a great standard by Shirley. I'm not sure if Shirley worked in our room every day, but it was the same high standard throughout our stay. Finally, on a day I needed e-tickets printed, I asked about access to the business centre computer. I planned to log onto my e-mails and access the tickets. Instead the concierge took me to an office manager who I forwarded the e-mails to and she printed out all the tickets. This was quick and much appreciated.
3. Spacious family room, very comfortable beds and amenities: we were very happy with the size of the room and although we had brought four UK to Europe power adapters, it was very useful to have the UK socket in the desk panel which could be used for our laptop. The four of us loved the beds and slept very well.
4. Wi Fi is payable at 6.95 euros per 24 hours. We didn't mind this as it covered five of our devices and was adequate for everything we needed it for.
In conclusion, the hotel really added to our trip and the staff were a great credit to the hotel. We are very grateful for all their help.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back will be quieter but we enjoyed the view from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chungsongyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Definitely not a 5 stars hotel, i would give it 3. Unfriendly staff, and less than average lobby and service. Rooms are extremely small, are however clean. You have to pay extra for breakfast and the parking is at 55 euros/24 hours. it's cheaper to park using a park meter

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us in Amsterdam. We always aim to provide exemplary service and would like to apologize that this was not apparent during your stay. We would very much like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you personally and would be grateful if you would contact us at your earliest convenience.

Thank you in advance,
Meredith Opten
+31 20 607 5500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his birthday weekend. The rooms were clean and reasonable size. Very close to all the main attractions and canals.
The staff were very helpful and polite especially Luis. Nothing was ever a problem for him and he went out of his way to help us each time. Thank you Luis!

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast is not included if you book with points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing