We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #75 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his birthday weekend. The rooms were clean and reasonable size. Very close to all the main attractions and canals.
The staff were very helpful and polite especially Luis. Nothing was ever a problem for him and he went out of his way to help us each time. Thank you Luis!

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast is not included if you book with points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    1,176
    346
    104
    60
See reviews for
769
825
119
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Compared to other hotel options, the rate for the Marriott was very competitive and often lower. In addition, the location of the Marriott is nearby a bike rental, the canal tour ticket center, museums, the park, and the Heineken brewery. We got so much more accomplished staying at the Marriott than we otherwise would've. Lastly, the Marriott rooms were spacious, the shower and bathroom were solid, and the lobby was welcoming. There was also a good sized gym offered on the premises. If I ever come back to Amsterdam, I will stay here no question.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turp3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Those who have experienced Marriotts on business trips know how competent the chain is and how it fits the needs of business travelers -- always comfortable accommodations and decent food resources nearby. My wife and I had to catch a cruise ship in a couple of days, and decided to spend some time in Amsterdam which we had never seen before. The hotel which was located on Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 Es Amsterdam, Netherlands, was hard for the taxi driver to find since it is actually located on a side street . Look for the Midtown Grill sign which is prominent on the main drag. The hotel was well located within walking distance of notable museums and on the "red bus" line for tourists. Across the street you could see the Hard Rock Cafe (for a touch of the USA), and a canal cruise tour business was nearby. Excellent dinner meals at the hotel's Midtown Grill. For a few bucks you could get access to a private room for a decent breakfast and cocktails in the afternoon. For folks like us (retirees) who visited Amsterdam for the first time, we have to recommend this hotel for its central location, superb dining near by, no-surprises accommodations, and, of course, very hospitable treatment by a staff well used to people from the USA. No language problems!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that faces the main street since that's where you will see a lot of ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Marriott is always my first choice and this hotel did not disappoint. At the top was fantastic service at both the front and concierge desks. We arrived at 8 a.m. and the room was already available, but we opted to wait in terms of a gold upgrade. We had immediate access to the lounge and grabbed a great breakfast before heading out on the town. Kudos to Frank for answering many questions we had since it was our first time in Amsterdam and most of the planning was done in the US. He pointed us in all the right directions and offered great recommendations.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in a clean, name-brand hotel within close proximity to bus and train lines and the downtown area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a bit bigger, I hear. Upgrading to the concierge level is a good investment as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location near many of the main sights, canals, restaurants. Friendly, discreet and helpful service. Family room probably the largest I've ever used and with good view over square below. Bar prices not extortionate for a city centre hotel. Would use again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

we had the opportunity to stay at the marriot twice in two weeks- once before going to rotterdam for the cruise , and again after the 7 days cruise- but the marriot was a good hotel no doubt. Its central location in the heart of amsterdam's bustling life made it easier for us to just walk around the vondel park, or take the trams to the central station.
The hotel has a nice breakfast, and the rooms are good, well- appointed. we had the view of the plaza area in the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms in the front of the hotel for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

the hotel was very clean and well mannered. the location is amazing right in the middle of the city. there are many museums nearby including the van gogh museum and the newly opened rijk museum. eveything is walking distance from the hotel. the hotel even provided us with unbrellas when it was raining. the area and hotel felt very safe and friendly. i rate this hotel a 6 out of 5

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jared901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,195 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing