We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott consistency but no real Amsterdam feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #76 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Centrally located for visiting the museums. Walking distance to many Amsterdam restaurants. Some rooms have view of canals. However, you have little feeling of being in Amsterdam. So, a solid choice for the business traveller, but not as much fun for the traveller looking to be part of the local action.

I am a gold Marriott member and have stayed here a number of times for work. Hints for staying here - Make sure to have breakfast included in your rate, otherwise too expensive as a stand alone meal. If you arrive early and your room is not ready, you have to lug your bag down steps past all the equipment to have access to the shower and changing room. You want to avoid this if possible by insisting on early check in. Gym is small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Marriott properties are consistent and perfect to explore a place you have never been to. There are 2 Marriott hotels in Amsterdam and we chose this one. So glad we did. It is in the quieter museum district, steps from Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Vondal park and high end shops, nice cafes and restaurants. A quick 5 block walk to the busier, less expensive shopping areas, cinema and restaurants. close to tram, buses which can take you to central station.Room is quite large, especially for Europe, clean and had a nice view. Breakfast and snack food in the executive lounge is excellent and includes wine, beer, coffee and cappuccino.Great complimentary bathrobes awaited us every evening after a long day of exploring. Purchased tickets from the concierge desk and avoided lines at the museums.
Staff was helpful and accommodating. Try Restaurant Freud out of the city center, but reached by tram for a spectacular dinner experience.Marriott really helped to make our trip a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to Amsterdam after an extended European business trip for a few days off. Was surprised by the many offerings through out the city.
Highly suggest a river canal boat trip. Was an awesome experience offering a one of a kind view.
Rented bikes from the hotel for a day and rode the canals and parks. Another great way to see the city. Food selection is various with many a choices. Enjoy your visit !!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there several times in the executive rooms. We are still pleased with it. Room is quite large, clean and has a nice view. Breakfast and dinner food in the executive lounge is excellent. We did not have to eat dinner after the snacks. The restaurant and the rates are quite expensive. Check in was terribly slow in the dark and gloomy lobby. They could do better in that aspect. Especially one of the check in clerks was talking incessantly while she could see that there were a lot of people waiting in line.

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardtofindagoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in a family suite with my husband and teenagers. I thought the front desk staff was superb-very friendly and polite.
The room was comfortable and big enough with good towels and toiletries. Location was great. A couple of food recommendation-if you don't get a free breakfast don't despair. Cross the street from main entrance and go to the pancake place right across, it looks like a large wagon. The pancakes (both the thin crepes and the Dutch tiny ones) are to DIE for. A highlight of our stay. Also try to find De Klos restaurant. It is a 5-7 min walk from the hotel, on a small street off Leindesplan. We stumbled on it by accident and had amazing meet (smoked chicken is fabulous).
Overall, I really enjoyed the Marriott, the décor, the service and the location

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, we had a comfortable room; comfortable bed, from the window a canal could just about be seen. Very close to Vondel Park; the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. It is easy to get to the hotel from the Central station as tram no. 1 stops nearby. It is a Marriott so you know what to expect; staff were accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked a side street, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fzk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after our cruise. Everything was great and the service was outstanding. We had not trouble checking in even though we were many hours early because our cruise had come in at 6:30 in the morning. My husband is Marriott Elite, so even though we couldn't check into our room, they held our bags and let us use the Executive Lounge for breakfast before our real cards were activated! Nice location, easy tram access although we walked everywhere.
Great because there were 3 of us and the family suite did the trick.
Close to the museum area. Right near the canal boats, so we had our early morning canal ride on Sunday. We were able to walk to all of the museums and even to Dam Square if you follow the tram lines!
Staff held our bags because we had a late night flight out of Amsterdam and they were very helpful in making sure that we got a cab that took credit cards and that would hold the 3 of us and our 4 pieces of luggage. Can't say enough about the staff, especially the nice Polish concierge who could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,337 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,977 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $216 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing