We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Four Day Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Museums + Breakfast
Ranked #84 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Four Day Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to Amsterdam after an extended European business trip for a few days off. Was surprised by the many offerings through out the city.
Highly suggest a river canal boat trip. Was an awesome experience offering a one of a kind view.
Rented bikes from the hotel for a day and rode the canals and parks. Another great way to see the city. Food selection is various with many a choices. Enjoy your visit !!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    1,001
    291
    86
    47
See reviews for
614
665
105
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there several times in the executive rooms. We are still pleased with it. Room is quite large, clean and has a nice view. Breakfast and dinner food in the executive lounge is excellent. We did not have to eat dinner after the snacks. The restaurant and the rates are quite expensive. Check in was terribly slow in the dark and gloomy lobby. They could do better in that aspect. Especially one of the check in clerks was talking incessantly while she could see that there were a lot of people waiting in line.

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtofindagoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in a family suite with my husband and teenagers. I thought the front desk staff was superb-very friendly and polite.
The room was comfortable and big enough with good towels and toiletries. Location was great. A couple of food recommendation-if you don't get a free breakfast don't despair. Cross the street from main entrance and go to the pancake place right across, it looks like a large wagon. The pancakes (both the thin crepes and the Dutch tiny ones) are to DIE for. A highlight of our stay. Also try to find De Klos restaurant. It is a 5-7 min walk from the hotel, on a small street off Leindesplan. We stumbled on it by accident and had amazing meet (smoked chicken is fabulous).
Overall, I really enjoyed the Marriott, the décor, the service and the location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, we had a comfortable room; comfortable bed, from the window a canal could just about be seen. Very close to Vondel Park; the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. It is easy to get to the hotel from the Central station as tram no. 1 stops nearby. It is a Marriott so you know what to expect; staff were accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked a side street, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fzk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
599 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after our cruise. Everything was great and the service was outstanding. We had not trouble checking in even though we were many hours early because our cruise had come in at 6:30 in the morning. My husband is Marriott Elite, so even though we couldn't check into our room, they held our bags and let us use the Executive Lounge for breakfast before our real cards were activated! Nice location, easy tram access although we walked everywhere.
Great because there were 3 of us and the family suite did the trick.
Close to the museum area. Right near the canal boats, so we had our early morning canal ride on Sunday. We were able to walk to all of the museums and even to Dam Square if you follow the tram lines!
Staff held our bags because we had a late night flight out of Amsterdam and they were very helpful in making sure that we got a cab that took credit cards and that would hold the 3 of us and our 4 pieces of luggage. Can't say enough about the staff, especially the nice Polish concierge who could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stay for 4 nights.

Pros : near to the city centre, it just a walking distance. it's close to one of the famous park, Vondelpark and also walking distance to the Rijksmuseum.

Cons : The front desk staff is not that friendly(maybe I went there during peak time). Not much choice for the channel tv.

Oh, don't rent the bike from the hotel. Theirs is quite old, even the staff did not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and appreciate your recommendation for additional channels as we are looking into the programs most watched, to provide more choices. We would also like to inform you that we have recently serviced all the bicycles and would like to apologize if this and the level of service was not evident during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again to prove ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Smile and friendliness make customer to feel welcome and those manners create a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately all staff of the hotel has not understood the meaning of those manners.
I arrived to the Marriott elite desk and there was one woman on the phone. She did not raise her head to face the customer and to smile. Luckily for me, the woman who served me smiled and was really friendly.
In the following morning, we went for a breakfast. The man did not say good morning or did not even watch the customer. I said it to the woman who served the coffee etc. She was sorry and she was really nice and she smiled and it was really nice feeling. Unfortunately she did not work on the following 2 mornings. Maybe she was asked not to come because her attitude was totally different than the rest of the staff. Chef was also really friendly. He smiled to the customer and asked “how are you doing”. I said thank you to him really loud so that the rest of the staff would understand the hint. Cleaners also were really friendly and they acknowledged customers. When you faced other staff in the corridor, they just watched down.
I also ordered Marriott burger from the room service. They asked me how I want to have the meat. I said medium. When I received the burger, the meat was really well-done and it was almost burned.
When I checked out from the hotel, I was lucky because the staff (female behind the desk and male who ordered the taxi) who served me, were really friendly. They smiled and really took care of the customer. Unfortunately there was again one woman on the phone behind the desk who did not lift her head to smile etc.
Hopefully Marriott does not think that customers can be served however they want. Amsterdam is full of hotels so that Marriott also need to do some efforts so that the customers come back, which is the most difficult part in business. Maybe some of Marriott staff should join those smiling/friendly staff for one day so that they notice how much nicer the working day is and how nice atmosphere is spread by smiling/friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in Amsterdam. I was sorry to learn that you did not feel welcome upon your arrival and that you were not greeted by one of our Hosts in the restaurant. I can imagine that these experiences may give a negative impression and our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
We were glad to learn meanwhile that our Chef in restaurant, Housekeeping Hosts and Front Desk Hosts who assisted you during check out gave a much more positive impression.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
Guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,709 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#100 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing