We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #75 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service Ideal Location”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The service at this hotel is great, both at reception and in the executive lounge. We've stayed at many Marrott and the executive lounge at this hotel was by far the best experience we had with regards to service and food. Unfortunately the lounge can get really busy. We requested a quiet room and we were not disappointed. The room was a good size and the washroom was satisfactory. Museums are in walking distance. The tram is just steps outside the hotel which goes to the main train station. There's a tourist information centre within walking distance where tram tickets and museum passes can be bought. Plenty of restaurants in the area. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which was great although the view from the window was not the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    1,174
    346
    104
    60
See reviews for
767
825
119
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here April 30 - May 2, 2014. The rooms were spacious for European standards. The concierge, and the business center could not have been more helpful. The location was good. Internet is free in the lobby if you don't want to pay for the internet package in your room -- so the lobby is always well populated. In the lobby the Marriott keeps big pitchers of orange water or lemon water etc for their guests -- a welcome feature. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a good stay in this hotel. I feel that the correct rating should be somewhere between average and very good. The location is excellent right next to Vondelpark and on the edge of the old town, the lobby area, bar areas must have been revamped fairly recently and the result is a modern and warm (when the fire place is on!) decor. However, the rooms (certainly the one where we stayed) are still in the old style, this is a bit of a contrast that some people may not necessarily like. It wasn't a big deal for us. Generally the staff was very helpful. The one thing that we felt was not of good standard (hence the average rating) was the Concierge service. We received some not great advise about restaurant booking for a Saturday night. A good Concierge should have advised that 3 o'clock on a busy Saturday evening meant that getting into a good restaurant was not possible, a good Concierge should have some influence into getting guests into good restaurants. As a result we found ourselves with nothing and had to take what was available and ended up dining in a restaurant that served good food and where we were virtually alone. The following morning another not so great advise about breakfast... Despite this, I would advise people to stay in this hotel due to the great location and the generally good standards the hotel offers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were happy to read that you had a good stay at the Marriott while enjoying the Leidseplein neighborhood and the Vondel Park. We appreciate your recommendation for the concierge to remind our guests that some of the restaurants have a tendency to be busier in the weekends in hopes of insuring a table. Please accept our apology that we had not better anticipated the high demand on this particular evening. We look forward to the possibility to welcome you back again soon and hope you will contact us prior to your arrival so that we can better prepare for your stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Staying at the Marriot was great. When we first got there we were given a room with a disappointing brick wall view - but the staff was very kind and helpful and they changed our room to a better one.
The rooms were very clean and kept that way.
The staff was very nice.
The hotel's location is perfect (right next to Leidseplein).

The only negative thing I could think of is the price.

Also take into account that room wifi and breakfast are not included by default - adding them on the last moment is very expensive (about 70 euros a day per person).

Overall a good experience at the Marriot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del carmen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

As an avid traveller and platinum member I was very confused by the 70$ charge nightly for the concierge lounge. Anyone can pay and not have to be a platinum member to enjoy this experience.This was not a great experience due to long lines and unsupervised children running around. I talked to one guest who didn't even know what a platinum member was. If you are a platinum member you will not be treated any differently. The location was accessible to museums
and downtown. The food was average and nothing to die for, front desk and concierge were extremely helpful with any questions. The rooms were small, but this was Europe. Would I stay there again? No! Only to try another Marriott property.

Room Tip: Even though you book a suite look at the room once you check in, it may not be what you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen61666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. I was sorry to learn that there was confusion surrounding your room rate and that our Executive Lounge did not meet your expectations. I'm happy to clarify your rate further however, please contact me directly to look into your reservation details.
We are glad to learn that you found the hotel's location convenient and the Front and Concierge Desk extremely helpful. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This Marriott is a warm gem of a hotel, it's a great find. The stay here was memorable, excellent hotel staff service and lovely appointed rooms. They've got a breakfast and afternoon cocktail package, a bit expensive but I'd say go for it. Great location, many of the tourist sites are within proximity. Have a blast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nissangtp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We go to Amsterdam nearly every spring. Staid at the Marriott hotel in Leidsplein.
Overall good rather than excellent hotel when compared to other Marriott's we have used.
Clean but our bed had a sizeable lump in the middle. Bath robe,shoe horn not provided as standard. Staff very helpful and friendly. Could not get in at Mid Town grill on day of arrival - arrived late evening - not very pleased. Booked a table for Sunday night- service slow,food badly presented but good wine stock.There was a particularly angry and bad tempered bald waiter,must be in contention for worst waiter in the Netherlands. This man ruined what could have been a passable evening. This restaurant is not value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mid Town grill,the Mid Town bar is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,195 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing