We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for our family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #78 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for our family trip”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year for three night during a family trip to Europe. Staff was really helpful. The executive lounge was great; a time and money saver. The location was ideal. We were easily able to walk or take trams everywhere. Granted it has a very American feel, but it worked well for us.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank matthausmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,159
    343
    104
    59
See reviews for
754
810
119
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Amsterdam Marriott prices are higher, but the quality follows. The room was great, except for the bathroom that seemed a little bit too small but also very good. The hotel is located a few steps away from Leidseplein, Museumplein, Rijksmuseum, etc. Amazing location. The hotel facilities were very good, the staff is excellent. Parking is in the hotel, with a valet, and the price 55 Euro per day, sttep as for any other parking in Amsterdam. I recommend this hotel if you have the budget: you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of July. The staff were helpful and the rooms were very clean, comfortable but compact. We had a very comfortable sleep. We booked a city tour through the concierge. Easy tram links to different parts of the City. Walking distance to many restaurants, both big chains and small independent restaurants. We were within walking distance of the Rijks museum. My only criticism was that there was not free WiFi in the room. Nowadays that is expected as standard in all hotels and especially a big chain such as the Marriot group. The "free" WiFi the public areas did not work properly.

Good location and would probably stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher levels if possible so that you can get a better view of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLondonLady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Level Contributor
403 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for four days in April sight seeing. We enjoyed the hotel. The amenities were good. The food was good. The staff was helpful and the concierage was incredible(sorry can't remember her name). We booked a couple of tours through her to the flower fields of Keukenof and to Volendam which were vere very good. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel was close to all forms of public transportation and parks. There was a water tour operator acrss the street on the canal which was very good. Language was not a problem and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city. All the main attractions are easily accessible by public transportation and I would encourage you to buy the multi day public transportation pass which you can use as much as you want to help you wander the city. My only complaint was the internet didn't always seem to work that well. I don't know if it was me or the system. I would also recommend a bike tour of the city for a day, it is such a bike oriented city you have to get out and ride to really appreciate what the locals see and do each day. remember look both ways when you cross the bike lanes!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
470 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Its been said in a number of previous reviews, but this is a good standard Marriott in a great location in Amsterdam. My room was comfortable and clean. Bar area was welcoming although large. Didn't have dinner but the breakfast was good. My room rate was expensive, but I was told that there was an event going on in the city and hotel rooms were at a premium. Would stay again, only if I could get a good rate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Normally I prefer independent hotels but I was staying here due to a conference being held at the same venue. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was a problem with the entrance to the executive lounge however they still provided the same services and amenities at another location. Internet was seamless throughout which was critical for any business trip.

Location was also lovely as it was very close to a busy square. Lovely to walk around on a sunny day. On my arrival, It was already 10pm however the concierge still found a lovely family run Italian restaurant which was walking distance from the hotel.

I would say the only area which was not up to par was the breakfast where the overall choice was limited. For a five star hotel I expected a five star selection.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the square nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMehta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Hotel is not worth the price you pay.
Some good stuff about the Hotel first.
- Excellent Location and nearby to most of the attraction
- The bed is soft and Very comfortable.
- Room is clean and tidy.
- The service staff are good and very helpful.
- Bus 197 goes direct from airport to hotel so you don't need a Taxi.
-Tram also stops near to hotel and central station is just 10 min by tram.

Now the real stuff that matters the most.
1. No free WiFi in the room for the price you pay. Feels like Marriott is still in the 18th or 19th century. Internet is a basic need for all of us when buses, eateries and museum can provide free internet whats the problem with this guys ? Its a shame for Marriott not to provide free internet.

2.No complimentary water bottle on arrival absolutely ridiculous. I am not asking for everyday just 500ml of water on the day of arrival would be great.

3. No bathrobe or bathroom slippers which is expected for Marriott standards.

4. They are very commercialized. Fridge is full of drinks for sale no place to keep your drink but in the facilities provided they say fridge provided, not sure for whom for us or them to sell products. The whole coffee shelf and tray filled with snacks again for sale. Worst is even in the bathroom they provide anti-slip mats but comes with a sticker saying please purchase it if you need them.
5. They cal it as family room with 21 TV Channels. Most in dutch 5 in English but 4 are news channel. No Kids channel in English.

I am Glad I did not purchase Marriott membership before actually staying in Marriott. We wanted to purchase Marriott timeshare at Singapore for 45 yrs but wanted to experience Marriott before purchasing it. Thank God this experience helped me to save that money. I would rather pay and stay in better hotel instead committing myself with this corporate business minded Marriott.
Making Money is the first priority of Marriott then comes customer service or satisfaction.
My Few cents advice to Marriott if you are keen to improve the customer satisfaction.

1. Please provide free WiFi it helps us to keep our-self busy and also search and plan our trip.
2. Since you call the room as family rooms. Kindly consider to provide some family channels and kids channel which keeps them busy if not they keep irritating the parents. Which makes the whole experience terrible. You must consider some children activities so parents can take a break. Just like how Club Med does or even Holiday Inn does.
3.Since Amsterdam is a cold place its good to provide some bathroom slippers at-least.
4. You need to look at the data and see how many English speaking and non-dutch speaking Guest you have in your hotel in the past 1 year and provide appropriate entertainment TV Channels in English. Like some sports channels , Educational and cartoons.

At the End I should command your front desk and room service for the Excellent service they gave. The rooms are big and clean. I love the soft comfy bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNPAWAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. We appreciate hearing from you since the feedback we receive is valuable to us, in order to maintain and or improve in all areas where possible and necessary.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We will share your feedback within the hotel team to see how we can improve. Meanwhile we were glad to learn that our Front Desk and Minibar Hosts provided an excellent service and you enjoyed the room cleanliness and Marriott bedding.

if you would like to share any additional feedback please feel free to contact me direct.
Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,163 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,813 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing