We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #80 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
295 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This Marriott has a great location nearer Leidseplien and blocks from the Rijksmuseum. Reception was fast and efficient and the bell service was very good. My room was nice with a great view of Leidseplien. Bed was Marriott comfortable. Nice big TV. The bathroom was large and very clean. Room service was also good and not too expensive. The parking rates seem high but they were less expensive than a neighboring car park. The executive lounge was nice and had a good assortment of snacks and drinks. I would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay from the prompt check in, to enjoying a good meal in the luxury of your comfortable room while overlooking Leidseplein. The parking in Amsterdam is limited, and reservations are suggested when traveling to the city so please be sure to contact us in advance of your next visit so that we can again provide you this valuable service. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    1,031
    296
    86
    48
See reviews for
645
684
106
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Centrally located. Beautiful. Very nice staff. This is a very nice hotel. Breakfast can be very hectic. VERY. They are often full and out of some things although they try to keep up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here while in the city for a conference. A bit of a distance from the conference centre but nice a central from restaurants and evening entertainment.
Travel to the main Amsterdam conference centre was staging forward short walk then one tram. Day tickets available on the tram.
Nice rooms and very pleasant staff. Did not eat at the hotel but the bar was comfortable. Top tip if you are planning the visit the casino over the road get a free entry ticket from reception.
Overall generally satisfied with my stay and price.

Room Tip: Get a free entry ticket for the Casino over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Yes, of course the beds at a Marriott are great.
For an Amsterdam hotel they have a great gym - not busy at all, and great equipment.
The breakfast is excellent.
I stayed at the exec. lounge rooms. The lounge was OK for European standards, but if you ever go to Marriott properties in Asia or the Middle East, please don't expect the same standards in Europe....Food very so so

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read your positive review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your comments about our comfortable beds, and the availability and quality of our fitness equipment that exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is also located next door to the famous Vondel Park for biking, running, rollerblading or a game of tennis. We hope to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over New Years with 2 friends and had a pretty good stay. The room was massive, 2 large beds and a great bathroom however our view in to offices was far from great. Decor is not as modern as other hotels (including other marriotts I've stayed in) and could do with an update. However very clean and cleaned frequently and had plenty of amenities inside. Cute free gifts in the evening (chocolate and christmas tea). We received free wifi for our room which was great and had access to the breakfast buffet in the morning. The breakfast was another story. No plates for the food, limited food left (even though we were there early), no seats, lots of people pushing towards the food and the tables constantly had piles of plates on them. One morning after breakfast the lifts broke which led to us, and several other guests, having a nightmare trying to get back to our room, which was only on the fourth floor. This was due to being unable to access the staircase from the first floor apparently which we thought was bizarre?! Unfortunately (for us), we only realised on our last day we had access to evening snacks and drinks in the same room as breakfast so were not able to make the most of that! The staff were polite and helpful (when eventually served) and on New Years helped my friend when she had lost her purse, which was very luckily handed in to the hotel. The overall stay was good (minus the breakfast) and the location of the hotel was handy as we were able to walk to most places we wanted to go and had several restaurants close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was travelling to amsterdam last few months and stayed at the marriott in amsterdam a number of times. The location of the hotel is good, however I wasn't very impressed with the check-in facilities, the reception desk wasn't too friendly like my other Marriott experiences and the room did not give any luxury feeling for the price paid. The in-room dining expereince wasn't great either and i found better restaurants in the city later.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vsindwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the past few years & just disappointed each time. I'm platinum Marriott & this is my least favorite hotel. Rooms are outdated from long time ago Marriott decor. I continue to be told the rooms I receive are upgraded but still tiny & certainly nothing special. Had my family with me last time & they felt like the staff was unfriendly & didn't care. We stayed a week & everyone treated us like strangers. The concierge was a joke & always expect long delays at the front desk. Really like the location but still would suggest elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dsdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,758 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,339 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing