We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard star Hotel at a superior location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #77 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a standard 5 star hotel in every way. Nothing exceptional about it but it delivers what's intended to deliver. The rooms are somewhat new but a little outdated by todays new designs and standards. We stayed at it because we got an exceptionally low rate, Euro 169 per night otherwise I would prefer to stay at a more design oriented hotel. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. They offer most things that you expect to find in a Marriott. Most of the hotel guest were American and Asian. The location is superior and within a walking distance to everything you may need to walk to during your trip. I would only recommend this hotel if you get a good rate otherwise stay at something more authentic and less generic. We stayed at room 325 which is excellent and faces the Lidseplien square.

Room Tip: Get a room that is facing the Lidseplien and not the rear of the Hotel. Get an upper floor room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qubain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,955 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you're coming in from Schiphol the 197 bus marked Leidesplein drops you just up the road; as it turns onto Leidesplein you'll pass the Marriott and then see it in the rear window. €4 single. A short, even walk of a few minutes from the stop. Leidesplein is lively after dark, but it's well lit and policed. If you're arriving by car best of luck with the traffic. Either way, if you're new to Amsterdam keep an eye out for the mopeds zooming along in the cycle lanes. Accepted practice here.
Rijksmuseum a short walk away, canal tours a little further along, beautiful walks in Vondelpark behind the hotel and lots of quiet streets nearby for exploration on foot, or bike if you're up to it.
Easily the most welcoming check-in I've experienced. Large, comfortable lobby, but often busy. High floor request got me the sixth, with a view of the hotel across the street and part of the street out front. Standard size for Europe, clean and in decent repair. Firm bed, small work table, small bathroom with a shower/tub combi and the minimum of toiletries. No robe or slippers. Not sure if it was unique to my room but the extractor in the bathroom is the noisiest I've ever heard and permanently on; when I first opened the room door I thought someone was in the shower. Didn't bother me as I was out most of the time and I'm a heavy sleeper; as ever, YMMV.
Obligatory flat screen with lots of channels, enough storage for one for a week. The minibar has drinks and snacks and a small shelf for your own stuff. Small mercy, another Marriott that allows multiple devices on wifi, although the speed fluctuated. If it isn't comped you'll be stung; €19.95 per 24 hours if memory serves.
Gold also got access to the lounge. Standard spread at breakfast - as usual in Europe the hot options are limited to the holy trinity of bacon, scrambled egg and sausages - limited after breakfast, but the free drinks through the day are welcome and the lounge is spacious and has some very friendly staff. As with the wifi, though, if it's not comped I'd be loth to pay for it, unless I planned to drink them out of house and home.
Didn't try the restaurant or bar. Prices didn't look ridiculous for Europe but a quick look at a map - even Apple's - will light up with places to eat and drink in the area.
Downsides ? Quibbling largely. Flannels not replaced one day, the carpets in the elevators are a bit worn, the interior's uninspired. The only real niggle is that as with most Marriotts in Europe you'll leave thinking it was too expensive for what it offered, but that's the price you pay for a known chain in a good, central location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a detailed description of your stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott. We were honored to learn that you had the most welcoming check in you have ever experienced and that the location was a perfect combination for business and pleasure. Complimentary internet is available in the lobby and restaurant area so we hope on your next visit we can invite you to try our restaurant Midtown Grill for one of the best steaks in town. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcome you back at the Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I satyed 1 night ar the hotel. Its location enabled me to walk towords the center of the city. Everything is nearby. The hotel itself is very good. The room was big and well maintained. The service was greate and all the staff members were helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank amitgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great service, fantastic hotel, people caring! absolutely woth the price! I forgot my walking stick and staff was able not only to retrieve it but to send it via Fedex to my next hotel so I can have it back! I' m so grateful for your service and attention!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good location located next to most attraction. Rooms spacious and with all comfort, clean and godo quality. Bed is extremely godo standard. Staff is very friendly. Cigar lounge, bar and restaurant. What is missing was free wifi. Breakfast a bit caotic the service. Probably staff shortage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in Amsterdam Marriott for a couple of days - most of all great location. Nice and clean room, small bathroom though, not to functional, but clean and tidy. Nice breakfast also a restaurant offers good selection of meat. A lot good things to say. Newspaper in the morning alongside with the invoice for bar drinks from night before (weird).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a fabulous hotel, perfect location on busy pretty square with lots of shops and eateries. Hotel was clean and comfortable with spacious room, bed linen was very crisp and the beds extremely comfortable. I had read reveiws of staff being rude but never experienced this, in fact quite the opposite with nothing being to much trouble. Special thanks to the lady who checked us in for providing maps and info on places of interest locally. Dam square was a 20 minute walk away through an abundance of shops which was awesome. The breakfast was superb, lots of choice to suit all requirements and very plentiful. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking the square if you like to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niki481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip advisor. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that the comfortable clean rooms and outgoing staff exceeded your expectations with a warm welcome combined with an abundance of local information. From December 6th to January 19th, the Amsterdam Light Festival will begin for all ages, in which the historical center of Amsterdam will present a unique décor for an international light and water festival. Thirty different light sculptures and projections will illuminate the city, so should your next trip be in the upcoming holiday season this is a wonderful event which shouldn’t be missed. Thank you again for recommending the Amsterdam Marriott and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,332 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,971 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $216 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing