We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #75 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is centrally located. There is a bus/tram stop nearby that will take you directly to the airport for 4 euros, faster than a taxi. It is within walking distance to museums, like Rijksmuseum, etc. It is also within walking distance to all the flower market and most downtown locations. the hotel itself has a nice fitness room. The actual room was average for Marriott, not bad but average size. We had a family of two adults and one child and requested a two queen. Upon arrival they said they´d be happy to put us in a King with supplement, but alas! after we agreed, there was a 15 euro charge. I guess they charge you for most things in Ámsterdam, so I´d say it is common practice. As you can imagine, it rains a lot... By 8am all the umbrellas were taken. So if you need a nice big umbrela, complimentary from the hotel, you´ve got to be early. They rent bikes, which is very convenient!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Amsterdam Marriott. We were glad to read that the location was great for you and your family to get around and that the Schiphol Sternet bus#197 from the airport to Leidesplein was both economical and convenient. These are local buses which travel four times an hour from 5 a.m. until midnight and takes approximately 40 minutes. And we agree, the fall weather this past month as brought a fair amount of rain but we are hopeful for a white Christmas and ice skating on the canals. We look forward to welcome you back to the Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    1,050
    302
    87
    49
See reviews for
659
701
110
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really excellent staff..very helpful and polite..a few small problems but sorted immediately by the staff. The most comfortable beds we have slept in anywhere!...Room very quite..we were 8 floors up but no noise from other rooms. Room kept spotless....Nice turn down service.
Rest of hotel nice and comfortable. Only a small minus..the bathroom needs updating...some wallpaper on walls which for a bathroom is not a good idea..should be all tiled. Fridge products as seems to be common everywhere about 125% mark up....if price was reasonable more people would use the items!...,.,...BUT....all in all a wonderful stay in a very nice part of amsterdam!

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rayhayes4995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read your enthusiastic review about the Amsterdam Marriott. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our well-kept rooms and having appreciated the thoughtful turndown service before retiring into one of our comfortable beds. We were excited to hear that it was the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in. And thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel staff and feedback about the minibar. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for our family. There are plenty of restaurants around Leidsplein, plus the museum district and Vondel Park are within walking distance as well.

If you want to use the public transportation, tram stops are just close by. It was very convenient to get around Amsterdam.

The concierge provided us with maps & bus schedules and was always helpful even though the hotel was busy during the weekend. The breakfast buffet was reasonable but the restaurant is quite small considering the size of the hotel.

There's a small souvenir shop at the ground floor which sells the things that are sold in the downtown area within the same price range. Definitely helpful when you are short on time to shop around.

Overall, we truly enjoy our stay there especially since we have little kids with us. The hotel was quiet at night even though there are plenty of bars, restaurants & cafes across the bridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madreFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel located greatly, if you're less under pressure to be near the Dam, central station etc.
It's close to the Casino, Vondel Park, leidseplein, Museumplein and in the general one of greatest concentrations of restaurants in Amsterdam.
The hotel is 20-25 minutes walk from the Dam, but the trams (Which their service is excellent in Amsterdam) are very close to the hotel so "commuting" is quite easy.
I liked staying in a room with a view to the Leidseplein hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: * View to the Leidseplein, especially during night is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott and that you appreciated your room overlooking Leidseplein. The city center is at our door step, filled with many cultural, historical and culinary choices to choose from, and the concierge can provide you with complimentary entrance vouchers should you like try your luck at the Holland Casino. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Amsterdam multiple times and this Marriott is by far one of the nicest. It's central located near the museum area of Amsterdam, steps from public transit and many great restaurants. The decor and atmosphere doesn't even resemble a Marriott, but more like a Renaissance hotel. Very modern lobby and common areas, the club lounge offers an abundant breakfast and evening snacks, as well as liqueur. The staff was very friendly and efficient during checkin and checkout. Rooms were modern with very comfortable beds, reliable HVAC to warm and cool the room, Juliet balcony and best of all clean.
I would definitely return as recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Called the guest service at night to ask for help ... people in the alley bording the hotel were speaking loud (actually had the impression they were in my room!).
Answer from the hotel: we cannot help you or will ask you to move to a quieter room "inside". Wait a minute... How can a Marriot hotel seriously propose noisy rooms when they do have quieter rooms available ?? Before you book here, make sure you know the guest service is ugly. On top of that, the food at the hotel restaurant is ... average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with us. We were sorry to learn that the noise from outside guests had disturbed your evening, and that we had not resolved the issue as you had expected. Our guest rooms have double glass in the windows, and we reserve rooms at the end of the hallway for guests who have specific wishes for quiet rooms so they are further away from the elevator with fewer guests walking by, and would like to apologize if this was not clear during your stay. We always welcome special requests or emails from guests so that we can better prepare for their stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marriott should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked a family room for 4 nights directly with the hotel. Checkin was smooth and the room is your typical Marriottt. It is not large by American standards but had all the amenities that we needed. It's located in the neighborhood of Jordaan, a lovely upscale neighborhood close to museums, shopping and the tram. I was nervous given the reviews which mention poor and indifferent service. This was not our experience at all. The staff were All pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast is grossly overpriced, they wanted 27 euros per person so we did not partake, there are plenty of cafes all around where you can have a much more reasonably priced breakfast. The health club is well equipped. The hotel was very busy with many families and business travellers. They also charge for in room wifi but its free in the lobby. It was not cheap, paid over 1100 euros for 4 nights but the beds were very comfortable and the linens and pillows were divine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#106 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing