We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent American hotel in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #76 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“decent American hotel in Europe”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Rooms are a bit smaller than standard for Marriott -- and thus bigger than typical European rooms. Good lounge if you can take advantage of that. Good food, plentifiul wine, beer, and soft drinks -- although only the USA Today for English newspapers was a bit of a drag. The gym was very good for European standards. They fit a decent amount of equipment into a unique space. The sauna seemed new and evrything was very clean. Hotel is very conveneniently located off of the Leidesplein which means that you can take the 197 bus for 4 euro directly to about 50 steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelhoundPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Amsterdam Marriott. We were delighted to read that the accommodations were larger than you anticipated in Europe, and that the quality and quantity of food in the Executive Lounge exceeded your expectations. We were also pleased that the equipment and space offered in our gym met your needs, and agree, the separate sauna’s are an excellent way to reward yourself after a hard work out. Maybe on your next visit, we could invite you to rent one of our bicycles to enjoy a beautiful bike ride in the Vondel Park.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    1,176
    346
    104
    60
See reviews for
769
825
119
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel. The staff is great. We asked to have our room change so we could be closer to my brother and sister and their families, that was not a problem. They had answers for very question. You are can walk to a lot of shops, train and bus station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We were moved here when our hotel (Grand Hotel Amrath) over-booked. The architecture of the hotel is a bit bland and the rooms quite small but the service is excellent and very friendly. The free food and wine in the executive lounge in the evening were really good, though when we ordered lunch in the same the next day the price we were being asked to pay was not the same as that advertised. Location is good near the museums and a simple walk to the Olympic Stadium which is where we needed to be for the Amsterdam 8k. All-in-all, though not quite perfect, certainly very good (say 4.5 stars). The food (whether free or paid for, and including breakfast, lunch and dinner) was good. Would stay here again - though perhaps not at the room rate our original hotel ended up paying!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have never been as mistreated by hotel staff as I was during my stay at the Marriott in Amsterdam.

The staff was incredibly rude and disrespectful to us the entire stay. We felt discriminated against the entire time based on our age, which is just disgusting. You should be ashamed of how you treat guests who pay the amount we did to stay in your so-called 5* hotel. I wouldn't give you one star based on how we were treated, especially as tourists. They took every opportunity to try to rip us off. I was charged 20 Euros to make a collect call to my credit card company just to find out that it was the hotel's machine that wasn't working, not my card. And they refused to refund me the 20 Euros. Disgusting.

I can assure you that this was my last stay ever in a Marriott. And I will ensure that my friends and families, as well as my social media followers, will be made fully aware of how poorly we were treated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith_Opten, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our General Manager, Rex Nijhof, we would like to express our regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us in October. We always aim to provide exemplary service and are disappointed to hear that this was not evident during your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally and hope you will contact us at your earliest convenience in the hopes of proving ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
+31206075500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Just retuned from a trip to Amsterdam and stayed at the Marriott for the week. The hotel is fine having recently been updated. Bed need a new lining but other then that the room is fine. Food is over priced for what you get. They turn their breakfast bar into a steakhouse by night which seems odd. It has all the charm of a breakfast room and nothing of a texas steakhouse

Better off at mono across the street. Very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms are standard Marriott type , but well kept., Service is decent , location is great , and really you cannot expect anything more from this Marriott.
The steak restaurant within the hotel is excellent and offers a variety of food and an excellent choice of wines.They should only work on ventilation a bit so as to make it perfect.
All in all ,one of better Marriott hotels I stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Quick recap - I've stayed at this property six or seven times and have always found the same problems with the bell staff and concierge staff. It's the same people I've seen for a decade and none of them seem to enjoy their job. As if helping people disrupts their day (even though that's the only thing they should be doing). Otherwise everything else about the property is fantastic including the rest of the staff, the location, rooms etc.

Pros -
Great location! Far enough outside the center to avoid the riff raff :), but close enough that's it's only a tram ride from Centraal Station. Also right next to Van Gogh and Riksmuseum, plus right at Leidseplein to grab the hop on hop off canal boat.
Large, clean, comfortable, quiet, soundproof rooms with high quality Marriott beds and bedding. (Tip - always request a Leidseplein view room :)
Excellent air-conditioning (sadly that can't be said for too many European hotels)
Great executive lounge

Cons -
Bell and concierge staff range from Indifferent to rude. They seem to hate their jobs, it's strange.
Marriott has yet to refurbish all their bathrooms with large walk in showers. I keep hoping and waiting, but this property, like most Marriott hotels, still has that annoying shower/tub combination :).
It is expensive to stay here. For about the same rate you could stay at the ultra deluxe Hotel L'Europe - but to be honest for all the positives, it's worth the price.

Full review
The front desk staff are very overworked but every time I arrive they are friendly and helpful and always try to find a great room. You should always ask for a Leidseplein view room, with a balcony. There are only a few of them so don't hold your breath, but if you get lucky, it adds a wow factor to your stay.

Amsterdam has a great tram system and there's a stop about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The canal boats are about a 30 second walk away. The Van Gogh and Rikjmuseum are just walking distance so if you're a museum person this really is the perfect spot.

They have a steak house which is good, if not insanely overpriced. They important all their steaks from the US though so the prices match that. Otherwise the food is typical Marriott - club sandwiches, burgers, everything you expect.

The executive lounge is great. The staff has been around for years and they always remember you. Breakfast is wonderful and the free drinks and snacks at night make the experience so much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Leidseplein room with a balcony. There are only a handful, but if you get lucky you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,200 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,846 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing