We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, friendly staff and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #79 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights late September. Great hotel, modern large rooms and great location. We did not use the breakfast so cannot comment. Alternatively consider to go to Sportsbar Cafe at Leidscheplein for a big breakfast. Centre of Amsterdam is a good 15-20 minute stroll through Leidschestraat, a nice shopping street. Ending in the Kalverstreet, centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    1,083
    319
    92
    50
See reviews for
677
733
113
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Don't be misled by the unremarkable facade of the hotel, although not very large the rooms are well-appointed and very clean and the same applies to the bathrooms; the housekeeping department does a great job. Staff at the front desk is nice and efficient without being ‘artificially’ polite. The hotel handles remarkably well check-in and check-out for large groups of visitors; when this happens the lobby can get a little crowded. Location is great, not very close to the tourist areas but within walking distance to Jordan. The airport bus station and station to the tram to the Centraal Station / train station are steps away from the hotel. Will return to the Marriott Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel do not offer the best view but they are quieter than those facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALSIM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Amsterdam. Walking distance to everything. Great service. Hotel made a special occasion very special by surprising us with a bottle of champagne in the room when we arrived, Great room with a balcony and a superb view of the city. Concierge lounge is great. Wonderful breakfasts and evening hos d'oeuvres. Terrific staff. Cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott while visiting the city and had an awesome experience at this hotel; it was perfect in all respects!

First, the quality of the hotel was exceptional. The staff was friendly, courteous, helpful, and really made us feel special. They late us check in early which was great as we had just flown in from the US. We had access to the Executive Lounge and it was exceptional as well and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and drink offerings throughout the day.

By European standards, our room was enormous and comfortably appointed with Marriott's quality furniture, beds, sheets, towels, etc. The cleaning staff did a great job and each night there was a treat left on the bed. There is coffee service in the room and a fully stocked refrigerator and snacks, for an extra charge or course.

Finally, the location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. It is only blocks from the museums, shopping in the area was great, and there is a direct bus from Schiphol airport that stops right in front of the hotel.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and a lot of Marriotts, and I rank this one tops for value and location.

Room Tip: We had an interior room that had a glimpse of a park. Consequently, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a business meeting over several days in Amsterdam and my wife joined me. We arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight from the USA. The front desk was very helpful in finding an available room for my wife and me when we arrived. Our room was great and it was a welcoming site that early in the morning. Everyone on the staff we encountered was helpful friendly.

The hotel is also kind of historic. This was the first international Marriott ever established. It has been a Marriott property since the the mid-70’s. During our stay we found out many of the employees have been there for years and were very proud of their hotel. This showed in the service. The Executive Lounge or Concierge Lounge was extraordinary. We had breakfast there every morning. The senior bartender from the Hotel’s bar was a delightful fellow with wonderful insight into Amsterdam.

Our room was nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was the usual size and make up that one would expect. One thing that was nice was plenty of electrical outlets, including one that take USA style plugs.

The location could not be better. You are just a couple of minute walk from trams, busses and the Leidespein. At the Leidesplein, you will also find numerous restaurants, cafes and the like as well as canal tours. Just a few minutes away are parks and the world class museums of Amsterdam – Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh have recently opened after lenghty refurbishments. We were able to get vouchers from the hotel conceirge which saved us a lot of time in buying tickets. If you want to see the rest of Amsterdam, you are just a short tram/bus ride away. I have been to Amsterdam several times before and this hotel will now be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel, great location. I would definitely recommend. Getting taxis can be a bit of challenge, so book ahead for airports and long trips. Well located to walk into town or rent a bike.

Good workout facility and bfast. Would pay, if not included, for the lounge access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel does not deserve its 5 star rating; it is barely a 4 star.
It has two outstanding good points - its location was excellent as were the breakfasts. The location was just a 15 minute scenic walk to the centre of Amsterdam or a five minute tram ride. The breakfast buffet was well laid out, with an excellent choice of well prepared hot and cold food.
There were far too many negatives however. The hotel in general was a little tired. The carpets looked worn; in places they were curling up at the edges and in the lifts they were actually threadbare. The bathroom linen was a disgrace. The towels, far from being fluffy, were more like worn out rags. If I had these in my house I would tear them up and wash the car with them.
Absolutely everything was an extra or had to be requested. There was no complimentary water in the room; it was priced at 5 Euros for a small bottle. Wi-Fi was 6.95 Euros for one hour. Bathrobes and slippers had to be requested. Car parking was 55 Euros per night. Also nearly everything in the room was available for purchase, including the cheap quality towels and a nondescript bath mat.
There were a lot more minor irritations. There was a shower curtain in the bath; more reminiscent of a two star hotel (you could probably have bought the shower curtain as well).
To watch the TV it was necessary to go through five selection options every time to bypass the pay per view options. There were a couple of cracked floor tiles and a couple of broken wall sockets.
I had pre-booked the room well in advance and requested a room on a higher floor overlooking Leidse Park. When I arrived I was offered only what was available at time of check in (a room on the second floor) - nothing had been pre arranged. Why have a requests box?
This hotel is all about maximising profits. I have stayed in far superior 5 star hotels and if I return to Amsterdam, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekenderpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing