We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #83 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

location was excellent. Connecting rooms and rollaway worked very well for my family of 5. internet/wi fi was inconsistent at best. Lobby very busy. Rooms were clean although bed seems at bit too soft. executive lounge had a great variety of food and drinks at breakfast and appetizers, but it was too busy to ever find a seat. Seemed as if the whole hotel had access to the lounge. Staff worked very hard in the lounge, but just couldn't possibly keep up with the influx of people when food was put out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sammydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,012
    293
    86
    47
See reviews for
620
674
105
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Every time I visit Amsterdam we always stay here. It's luxurious without loosing a homely feel.
Rooms are immaculate with a bed that's so difficult to get out of on the morings. ( so comfy)
Reception had a coffee machine which was a nice touch.
Breakfast - had a large selection but service not the best I had to find my own coffee pot which I believe was someone's left overs as only managed one and a half cups. Service better the Sunday although I think it was because they had a function and needed us to move along faster.
Apart from that could not fault the hotel and our room was kept so tidy I wanted to take the maid home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchupgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stay at Marriott properties wherever I go due to the perks I have earned over a career of frequent business travel.

Fantastic location
• Easy walking distance to popular museums, restaurants and shops
• Tram & bus stops very near by
The rooms are nicely appointed but smaller than typical Marriotts in the US but met our needs. Good views are a premium.
They also have an excellent concierge lounge that serves a complimentary breakfast, evening snacks, deserts and beverages if you upgrade your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLgolfer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For three nights I stayed at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. It’s a nice hotel. My room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. I can’t say enough about the Executive Lounge. If you’re not a platinum or gold Marriott member, I recommend paying extra so you can enter and partake of the Executive Lounge’s meals, desserts and beverages. Everything was good.

All the Marriott personnel I encountered greeted me with a smile, were very polite and eager to assist and give directions. That says a lot to me.

The hotel is in a good location, across from Leidseplein. Leidseplein has lots of shops, restaurants, bars and live entertainment. The hotel is also located close to Vondelpark. During my trip, Candy Dulfer & Band, as well as Bruce James & Band, performed a free outdoor concert at Vondelpark (hosted by Mexx). The concert was awesome. Furthermore, if you fancy gambling, the Holland Casino is also close to the hotel. It was easy to get to other places/locations from the hotel.

When visiting Amsterdam again, I will definitely stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, and I recommend it to others.
______________________________

Getting to the Amsterdam Marriott, take bus 197 from Schiphol airport and exit at the Leidseplein bus stop. The trip takes approximately 35 minutes, and the fare was 4 euros. The Leidseplein bus stop was a two minute walk to the hotel. Returning to Schiphol, again take bus 197 at the Leidseplein bus stop (located on the opposite side of the street). The fare is 4 euros each person and each way. Not to knock the shuttle or taxi, but if you want to spend less, this is something to consider.

To get to Dam Square, where the Royal Palace is located and where a lot of tours meet, go to the tram stop located two minutes away and catch either Tram 1, 2 or 5 and exit at Dam Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed there for 3 nights in August 2013. The room was a comfortable size for the 4 of us. The location was great. We took the bus from the airport for 4Euros a person and the bus stop was a short walk from the hotel. We arrived around seven in the morning and weren't expecting a room to be available but thankfully the person at check-in offered to see if there a room available and he found one so we were able to have a short rest before exploring the city. We walked to most places from our hotel - the museums were very close and the Heinekin Tour was also nearby. We also walked to Anne Frank's house and the Central Train station although those walks were longer but very doable. There were a few places very close by to rent bikes from, which we did for one day. The conceirge desk was very helpful - they charged our phones for us as we didn't have European plugs and offered very good advice in terms of where to take trains to to explore areas outside of the city. Free wifi was available in the lobby and there were often several people in the lobby using the service. There was a small gym which looked clean but we didn't use it. We would definitely consider staying there if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I had two 1/2 days in Amsterdam and we wanted to make the most of our trip. The Marriott, besides being a consistently excellent chain worldwide, is centrally located. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. We were a short distance to the museum district and tram stops. Great place to stay. The concierge lounge was recently redone and is quite nice. Had breakfast there both days.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room high up facing the canal. Quite nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very good location, quite close to the tram line and within walking distance to the Rijks Museum. The customer service is excellent and staff are fluent in multiple languages. We had breakfast included in the room rate. We were very pleased with the food quality and variety. Hotel is very clean and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your review on Trip Advisor is a delight to read. We are especially proud that you mentioned our diverse team at the Amsterdam Marriott that includes hosts from over 45 different countries speaking 20 different languages. And thank you for your compliments about the cleanliness of the hotel and quality of food. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,718 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing