We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“For families to sleep only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #83 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
FIN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For families to sleep only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall rating would have been "very good" if even something would have been for children. Perhaps hotel for business and adults only.

Most of nights we slpet well, one night some young guys made noice and shouted

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petri_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    1,009
    292
    86
    47
See reviews for
619
672
105
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great hotel and brilliant location near the museums and the park. Easy walk into main city but not too near the Red light area. Helpful concierge service for sightseeing trips and information about getting around.
The American style steak restaurant downstairs was also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our concierge team and the excellent dinner in Midtown Grill. We look forward to welcome you back for another brilliant stay at the Amsterdam Marriott!

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Locationwise you can't go wrong - cross the street and you will find the shops in Leidsestraat and Kalverstraat. Walk 10-15 minutes and you are in the Jordaan and the Anne Frank house.
The Vondelpark is a few 100 metres away.

As for the hotel: check-in was quick, room was typically Marriott style. The halls are a bit outdated but that is part of the Marriott heritage, i think. Coffee/tea in the loby are free of charge, for wifi you have to pay (which I never do, besides, Amsterdam has a lot of free wifi hotspots).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is normally a great hotel. We stayed there July 14-19. I had the choice of The Marriott, or The Renaissance hotel. I always stay at the Marriott and have never had a bad experience until now. When we made the booking, no warning was given of construction in the hotel, and had I known I would have booked the Renaissance.
The hotel is in a great location, close to museums etc, we paid the extra 95euro to upgrade to a corner suite which is normally great.
Day 1, 07:30 in the morning, it sounded like the world was ending, hammer drills! We were tired and jetlagged, and looking forward to a late start to the day. Day 2, 08:00 hammer drills again, so we complained and were promised that they would not start before 9.00 am. Day 3, 08:30 they started! Day 4 - headed for the executive lounge for breakfast, and the noise was deafening.

Staff were apologetic, but it really ruined the break for us. I don't see how they can charge top dollar and not pre-warn you. If you are staying here - check if the construction has finished.

Room Tip: get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are working hard to set a new stage for our Banquet facilities and would like to again express our regret for the inconveniences caused while the demolition was taking place. The improvements will be completed by the end of August 2013 and hope for the possibility to welcome you back so we can personally show you our new enhancements because we are dedicated to enhancing our guests travel experience.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a very good location. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are clean though the beds are a small..We paid too much money for this hotel through the

hotels.com. it was another extra 100 euro per night!!! So don't make our mistake and try to book in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's Marriott so:

Friendly, efficient service- check
Scrupulously clean - check
Quiet rooms with comfortable beds - check
excellent Wifi - check check check

But also,
Great free breakfast in the executive lounge hot eggs, bacon, sausage, lots of cold cuts and cheeses, disappointing baked goods and fantastic coffee machine that makes you an instant latte. Also appetizers and free drinks in the evening and desserts after 7:30. Coffee, tea, etc. always available

Very close to major sites - the museums, shops and restaurants. Lively nightlife area, but very safe. Hop on hop off canal boat stop right across the street and the tram, but very easy to walk everywhere.

We are gold level Marriott members and used points to stay here.

Room Tip: Even with our window open, street noise did not bother us on 8th floor. Ask for a view of the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yomama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This property in an old building retrofit to house a hotel is in easy walking distance of the Central train station and metro, so it is easy to reach from the airport taking the commuter train to Amsterdam CS and then a 5 min. walk to the hotel. The design and décor of the hotel is quite interesting. It is also close to many districts for different walks and site seeing.

Room was very well appointed and the executive lounge was good but not great. The breakfast in the morning was horrible - one of the worst I have seen anywhere for quality of food and variety. The afternoon / evening food and drink is much better. The lounge staff were quite stiff and business like, but they warmed up once you started talking to them.

In spite of the breakfast deficiency, I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure use for its great location, good décor and cheerful front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,714 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,277 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing