We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Marriott, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #81 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott, great location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights on business. It's a typical 4 star Marriott, a very ugly building from the outside but great central location (just around corner from Rijksmuseum, not that I had time to visit it), comfortable and well-appointed rooms with everything you need and excellent service from helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast was very good, buffet lunch variable though (one day very good, another day not great). The business meeting rooms were all without windows, which I hate, but this is not unusual. The free wifi in all public areas of the hotel was very useful, if a little unreliable in terms of connection and speed. If you've ever stayed in a Marriott before, you'll know exactly what you are getting.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We were happy to hear that the room met your expectations and the staff was helpful and friendly during your stay. We realize how important it is to have daylight during a meeting and that is why we recently renewed one section of our ballroom on the 1st floor to include a large window. And on our main floor, we have a new multi-compatible and flexible meeting facility space called Naarden which has full daylight with state of the art technology. We look forward to the possibility that your travels will bring you back to the Amsterdam Marriott and that we will have the opportunity to show you our new improvements.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    1,147
    338
    103
    59
See reviews for
738
802
119
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived late at night and a bit knackered from the journey. I was greeted by a bellhop eager to help with my bags. Check-in was both quick and smooth, and my room was well-appointed albeit lacking in view.

During my stay, I found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful, even to the point of loaning me a razor knife so I could repair a piece of baggage. Directions to local sites were clear and concise, and recommendations for things to do were spot-on.

I'm generally not impressed with restaurant offerings in Marriotts, but Sorels was great. The service was superb and the atmosphere surprisingly fun.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustAnOrdinaryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Rex A.G. Nijhof, General Manager of the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel we would like to thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you had a warm welcome when arriving to the hotel, and that our staff had exceeded your expectations. Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit so we can arrange a room with a view and another fun experience in our Sorels Midtown Bar & Lounge.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
662 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arrived very late checked out early. Check in was smooth, hotel was usual European Marriott style. Rooms was big as I was upgraded to a corner room. Location was excellent had I not been knackered.

What was exceptional was the bar..... I ordered a curry it was exactly as ordered slightly hotter than on the menu which I asked for it was wonderful. When it arrived it was not steaming hot so I sent it back, I got a full apology free drinks etc

Service here was wonderful food was excellent enjoyed football in the bar. When you have a tough trip the Marriott really scores. Service is great , the food is always good butto be honest this was the best meal I have had in a Marriott

The bar staff cannot be faulted. A cultural melting point and great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lobby area has been modernised. Rooms and corridors are looking tired. Everything was spotlessly clean. Plenty of towels and bathroom supplies. Beds uncomfortable but I prefer very firm beds and rooms uncomfortably hot even with air on on. Sorel's Bar was a great spot to people watch in the evening. Bar staff very attentive and friendly. Reservations Desk staff slow and in-efficient on check-out. Don't expect lavish luxury even though you might be expecting it at their very expensive rates.

Room Tip: Room352 does not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with us. We were happy to read that you valued the service in our Sorels Bar and that the hotel room and amenties met your needs. We appreciate your feedback regarding the temperature in the room and the speed of the check in as these are things we can improve upon. We look forward to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott and would like to ask if you could contact us prior to your next stay so we can arrange a room with bed board to assure a good night rest.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with family for 4 nights at the Marriott in Amsterdam. Although the location is great (Leidscheplein), the accomodation is a little worn-down. The rooms are rather small and freshing up would be a need to have in this rather high level hotel. All in all the stay was good and since I could "pay" with points, it was no issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLOTUAB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is ideally located near the Museumplein and Leidesplein, a short tram ride to anywhere you want to go in Amsterdam Centrum. I stayed with my wife and two children for 2 nights in a room with two double beds, the room was clean, smart and had everything you could need, although in keeping with other European hotels there was nowhere near enough milk/creamer for the coffee!
Each and every member of staff was courteous, attentive and helpful. The concierge was particularly knowledgeable and helpful (as you would expect!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ash Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Marriott is very well located in Amsterdam and easily reachable. The staff were all very well presented and very polite and always gave a smile. My main appointment's were the cost of parking your car at the hotel (more than 50 Euro a day), and how little you get for your price. Having stayed in lots of hotels i always look to find the extra value that i have just paid for. Wifi (not included), breakfast was additional, parking was very expensive.
However....the hotel was very clean and the room was very comfortable with plenty of room and space.
If you have some extra money available then you could very easily feel it was money well spent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious, even rooms facing main road were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#89 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing