We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #77 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and a great location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as a family (3 of us) at the start of April on a city break. We wanted a hotel close to the centre of things so that we could easily walk to the sights but not too noisy, thus we were very happy with the Marriott's location only a couple of minutes from the Leidsplein square. The rooms were of a good size, the beds large and comfy and the bathroom was clean - all essential items for a decent hotel room in my book. We were disappointed that there was no milk provided for the tea/coffee in the room and that we had to pay an extra 6E for 24 hour wi-Fi access, as we thought this should be included. The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice from omelettes, bacon, sausages and mushrooms to fresh fruit, muesli, pancakes, croissants, smoked salmon and herrings. Yum! The hotel is a 40E taxi ride from Schipol airport, a 20 minute walk from the Anne Frank house and 10 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum. We would return to this hotel and recommend it if staying in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAGDEVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    1,178
    346
    104
    60
See reviews for
769
827
119
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotels exterior dosent look that great but the interior is very nice, staff were very pleasant, service with a smile. The rooms are quite small but very comfortable. The beds are very nice, on the soft side and quilts and pillows are all very nice.

Location is good with pleanty of bars, restaurants shops all within easy access. Would recommend this hotel, especially at PL prices .........

Amsterdam bikes and trams are a silent menace for those who are less aware, be careful

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teflontinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was here for business trip two months ago and so I only stayed for couple of days. So being that it was only business trip my expectations was not to its max. I really just needed a place to settle, sleep and rest. Whatever perks are thrown in is a plus. Mostly I was satisfied with the cleanliness and service! I am always very appreciative of quality service and staff was splendid. Another plus for me was the location of the hotel. Right next to it is Vondell park which is a quite good for relaxing walks. Further down is the town square where you can be entertained by street acts and performances and many many other interesting places to visit such as the museums! Overall, good service and ideal location. Satisfied.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank manelli_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larbert
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We did a mini cruise from Newcastle to Amsterdam and back and stayed at the Marriott Amsterdam.

The hotel was a typical Marriot. Plush and clean wit high levels of service, that's why we picked it and we got what we paid for. Only downside was I am not great with lifts and we were on the eighth floor and the only stairscase was the fire escape.

Our room was spacious and clean with English speaking TV and a choice of channels including BBC1 and BBC 2. Spacious bathroom and as there were three of us 2 queen size beds.

The location is great for the museums and all the south side attractions but due to Amsterdams conjested streets we found the easiest way about was by canal boat. All the museums are within easy walking distance. As was Anne Franks house.

Breakfast was in the mid town grill and I was glad it was included as the cost would have been £27 each! Expensive even for a city centre hotel.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor if you don't like using lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfromlarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel and felt rather disappointed from the moment I walked in the door. The location is good if you want to check out the Dam Palace or the red light district and it is also well positioned for museums. Unfortunately there's very little else to add that is really positive. The ambiance in the lobby is that of a large office building, the room we had was large, clean and boasted very comfortable beds, but its decor was tired and, well, average. Our room had only one wine glass in it and when I rang down for a second, we waited for nearly half an hour before I rang again. The response? "I forgot". The restaurant is also pretty ordinary both in respect of service and food. I wouldn't bother going back.

Room Tip: Opt for two queen sized beds to guarantee a good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have stayed in this centrally located Marriott many years ago, which is a small bridge away from famous Leidzplein and Dam squares, where you find so many restaurants, bars and cafe's. It is one of the most lively spots of Amsterdam. The Marriottt is nicely located on a street corner across a small bridge overlooking Leidzplein Square. The Hotel has a great bar night club as well. Besides good rooms with its famous large Marriott standard beds and lovely equipped bathrooms. It is a recommended stay for both business and pleasure indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Not really impressed. Average house keeping. Sound proofing between rooms is not so great. Bar service was poor. The executive lounge sounded good but didn't deliver. However, it is clean with good furnishings and well situated in the western side of central Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,205 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing