We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Nice Hotel in the Heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #77 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel in the Heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel, it shows it's age in some areas but the rooms are clean and very modern. Great location. Hop on-Hop off bus is a rip however which is right across the street. Do the canal hop on-hop off it is much better. Vondel Park next to the hotel is quite nice for a walk. Nice shopping across the canal from the hotel as well as a Hard Rock Cafe. They were also gracious when we arrived at 9:30 AM from an 8:30 AM flight and let us check into our room. We very much appreciated that.

Room Tip: Towards the front of the hotel, higher floor. We had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,083
    319
    91
    50
See reviews for
676
733
113
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Europe which included a stay at the Amsterdam Marriott.

The hotel is located close to everything and is just outside the outermost canal of the central area. It's right on several of the main tram routes and is just a few blocks from the main museums including the newly remodeled Stedelijk Museum (a must-see).

The room was extremely comfortable and the staff was really helpful with directions and suggestions. I didn't use the gym but did check it out and it seemed like one of the largest and best equipped hotel gyms I've ever seen.

The restaurant / bar in the front of the hotel has pretty good food and is a great place to sit, relax, and watch the pedestrians and bikes passing outside. Speaking of bikes, there is a major bike path just outside the main entrance to the hotel. The cyclists definitely have the right of way throughout Amsterdam so be careful when leaving the hotel and be sure to look both ways before approaching the pedestrian crossing. (Also watch for trams)

The person I was traveling with had access to the executive breakfast room which was fantastic. The breakfast provided each morning was fantastic and included a very wide selection of choices. The food was great. Not sure if you can pay extra for this service but if so, definitely consider it.

If you want to take a canal boat tour there is a stop right across the street from the hotel and tickets can be purchased right at the boat ramp.

Overall we loved Amsterdam and the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel with a view of Leidseplein plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Its okay, but a little bit boring, Excellent breakfast, excellent location, most probably one of the best in Amsterdam. But its a Marriot hotel and as such it lacks something , maybe its to streamlined. Nothing really to complain about but needs to add some personality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Protravellerswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice hotel. Actually much better on the inside than it looks on the outside. Its in a very nice central spot in Amsterdam with a quick walk up Liedenstraat (sp?) to all the nice shops, the flower market etc.

The room was very nice and clean. The bed was atrocious. It was like sleeping in a ditch. I didnt say anything because I knew my stay would be short and I cant normally sleep in any other bed than mine.

The bar, the reception and concierge were all SUPER nice and helpful. Concierge did a little research for me to find a bicycle shop that sold racing bikes. Found a nice little package and map to a few under my door when I returned from my conference. Very nice work!

I'd definitely go back to Amsterdam. I'd consider Marriott again - but with a super firm mattress

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Awesome hotel, staff was great, room was very clean. We had a great time. Awesome location in the heart of Amsterdam. Breakfast in executive lounge was outstanding. Concierge staff were VERY knowledgable and helpful. Great exercise room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgrice4psu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A really good hotel. If I was going to be picky then you want to avoid being on one of the lower floors at the front of the hotel because of the traffic noise, but other than that I would definitely recommend. Good facilities, very clean and the staff are very nice and friendly. Of particular note was the room service food which is the best I have had in a long time - and I travel every week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Review – Amsterdam Marriott, September 14 – 19, 2012
Rooms 852 and 745

We stayed here for 5 nights, September 14-19, 2012. We were efficiently checked in by a Trainee who assigned us to Room 852. Imagine our surprise when we walked into the room and noticed that our window faced nothing but a red brick wall (see photo) and looked down over an air-conditioning plant several floors below. We rolled our suitcases back to the front desk and asked another person (not the same Trainee) if we could possibly have a room that didn’t face a brick wall. Noticing our Platinum Elite status, she was profoundly apologetic that we were even assigned to that room and upgraded us to a large corner room (745) with a view over the Stadthoudskade, a canal, and the Leidseplein. This room was much nicer. Decorated in red & gold, it was very large with a substantial foyer area, a sitting area with sofa, chair & cocktail table, and a large desk. The room was very well-lit and had unobtrusive high-intensity lights for reading in bed. We very much enjoyed the spaciousness of this room and are grateful to the lady at the front desk for the upgrade.

The bathroom was divided into two parts. The sink area was very small with little counter space. It was like a galley, with sink on one side and closet on the other. There was no door for privacy to the sink area. The toilet and tub/shower combo area did have a door, but the space was extremely tight. The bathtub was typical European style, deep, narrow and curved bottom. It was so narrow that there was hardly any flat bottom area for standing firmly in the shower. One could not place one’s feet flat on the bottom for good balance, and both of us found the shower to be a bit treacherous (we are in our 60’s with small or normal size feet). I say this just as a word of caution to others.

The Executive Lounge, located on the Lobby level, was perhaps one of the most unpleasant experiences we’ve ever had at an Executive Lounge of any hotel. We are accustomed to an Executive Lounge that serves as a place of respite for select guests after a long day of work or touring – a place to relax, have a quick breakfast, have a refreshment in the early evening, read a newspaper, reflect on the day in quiet surroundings before heading out to dinner. This lounge was absolutely packed with people at breakfast and in the evening. The “buzz” from so many people made it impossible to use the Lounge as a place to relax for even a few minutes and sometimes, even to have breakfast comfortably. We ended up hardly using it at all, instead, grabbing a bottle of water or a cup of tea and seeking respite in our room. Although there was plenty of seating, you were lucky if you did find a seat. Much of the seating available was in lounge chairs with a low, small table. This made it inconvenient for knife & fork eating at breakfast. Where did all these people come from? Are they all Marriott Elite clients or was the Lounge just opened to everyone in the hotel? To those whose room included free breakfast? (This is what it seemed like to us, because we had never experienced such an Exec. Lounge crowd at any other Marriott in the US and abroad, and we are frequent Marriott guests). Some groups even seemed to use the Lounge as their “home base” corralling a table around 5 pm and still sitting at the same table, surrounded by empty wine & beer bottles, at 10:00 pm when we came back from dinner. It was the most negative lounge experience we had ever encountered.

Despite the unpleasantness of the heavy crowds and the loud noise, the breakfast buffet in the Lounge was marvelous – among the best we have seen. It had an array of fish (smoked salmon, herring, roll mops, smoked mackerel); assorted cold cuts; cheeses; fruits; yogurt; cereal; eggs & bacon; sweet rolls & breads; juices; and other drinks. However, because of so many people using the buffet, things ran out rather quickly. The staff worked as hard as it could to replenish items, but I think they were overwhelmed. In the early evening there was an appetizer buffet, which we never tried, so I can’t comment on that. (Too crowded, too noisy). Since we were never there during the dinner hour, I do not know if there were any dinner items served. In the late evening, there were some small cakes.

The location of the hotel was ideal, within steps of the bustling Leidseplein, the Casino and the Vondelpark and a very short walk to the Rijksmuseum and Museumplein. There was a canal boat stop just across the street.

I should mention that my review of the Amsterdam Marriott is colored by our stay the previous 5 nights at the wonderful Berlin Marriott. Compared to the Berlin Marriott, the Amsterdam Marriott is one or two steps down. The Amsterdam Marriott is an older hotel, and while not shabby, it lacks the newness, sparkle and upscale chic of the Berlin Marriott. If the Berlin Marriott is run by a staff that views hospitality as a serious profession, the Amsterdam Marriott is run by a staff that seems to view hospitality as a job only. In all fairness, the Amsterdam Marriott was quite full during our stay. It was well-staffed, but they were constantly busy attending to someone or something. It was our impression that they are simply too overworked to provide exceptional service. After stellar service in Berlin in quiet, relaxed, upscale surroundings, our expectations were perhaps too high for the crowded, bustling, ordinary quality, Amsterdam Marriott. Nevertheless, I do recommend it for its location, large rooms and Executive Lounge (when not crowded).

Positives: location; room size; Executive Lounge breakfast & evening appetizer buffet.

Negatives: average service; average decor; tight bathrooms; very crowded Executive Lounge; dirty dishes left in hallways outside rooms

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn’t face a brick wall. Corner Rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#80 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing