We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very clean, modern hotel in a great area. The executive lounge is a real benefit and all the facilites are well kept and modern. I found the staff, from top to bottom to be very helpful. Very much enjoyed my stay and look forward to next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_D_In_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    1,138
    332
    102
    59
See reviews for
724
783
118
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as a kickoff to our 10 day European trip. the main attraction of this hotel is location along with the Marriott standard level of quality. I think the Leidseplein area is the best area of Amsterdam for central location purposes plus the amount of bars, restaurants, clubs that are 5 minutes walk away. Also all the tram lines are 3 minutes away.

We did have a view of a brick wall for the first night, this in spite of requesting a nice view on a high floor via the Marriott site well in advance. They offered to move us but we were too jet lagged to deal with it but moved to a room overlooking the street and park for the next 2 nights.

This hotel is expensive but so is everything else nice in Amsterdam ($300 euros per night) other more luxurious hotels were as high as $400 per night. Given the prices we didn't eat or drink at the hotel (why would you when there are a hundred more interesting places 5 minutes away)

But we enjoyed our time here, probably will stay here again (or at least will stay near Leidseplein)

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't have a view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyrider_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
603 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The Marriott in Amsterdam is a beautiful hotel and is in an ideal location. The hotel is within walking distance of plenty of bars, restaurants and casinos.
The property is very modern. My room was fantastic. It even had a balcony overlooking the park. The room is spacious and has a nice layout of furnishings. Very classy.
The onsite restaurants and bars are also very nice. I wrote a separate review on these venues.
This hotel has a lot going for it.
I am going to come back to this Marriott.
They also offer secure valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGF, MO
Level Contributor
246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here three nights for liesure travel mainly for the location, access from the airport and presumed Marriott standard quality. We were thrilled with the accommodations on all counts.
We caught the Connexion bus #194 out of Schiphol airport for $4 each which dropped us off immediately across the street in front of the hotel at Leidseplein in about 20 minutes. Very prompt, cheap & easy.
Leidseplein became our "go to" for evening meals and drinks in this very popular, diverse and comparatively upscale entertainment area. Couldn't have asked for a better location in the city. Far enough away from the Dam area to be out of the beehive yet close enough to easily walk to the Centrum if we didn't want to take one of the many trams running through. The Museumplein and Vondelpark were virtually next door for exploring the Rijks and Van Gogh museums or taking a quiet stroll throught the lovely park.
The property is condensed yet functional without some of the adornments typical of the States but simplisticly chic.
The hotel reception was prompt in checking us in and storing our bags until a room became available. The Concierge as well as the remaining staff was very helpful and professional. The lifts were centrally located, secure and of ample dimension.
The king room was well-sized and had all the conveniences and comforts we would expect from a stateside Marriott. The bedding was extremely comfortable and the large flat-screen was convenient for catching up on the next day's weather or late news. The bathroom was very clean and good sized with superior toiletries.
My only complaints would be the outrageous cost of the internet and prices at the restaurant though we opted to walk across the street to bustling Leidseplein to take our meals from the vast selection of small restaurants of all eithnic and economic stripes. Had we had access to the executive lounge for breakfast we might have enjoyed the property more but overall the impact on our satisfaction was limited. If you have rewards pull you would appreciate the property even more.
Though this is primarily a business hotel, we found the Marriott Amsterdam an excellent, accessible, professionally managed property perfect for our exploration of Amsterdam's many attractions.

Room Tip: Be a stud or studette in the Marriott rewards program. They will fawn all over you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on business for the second time. It is very much like an American full-service Marriott. Very good condition. Concierge very helpful in arranging transportation for business and for weekend sightseeing. Location is great for walking to many restaurants and shopping. Short walk to Vondelpark. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was nice for a business hotel. I felt like they nickle-and-dimed you on everything. No internet service, expensive dining in-house. The front desk was not particularly helpful...

Just an average, nice business centered hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klockner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in HK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked online for a family package of two adults and two children, we received a room with two double beds but we thought we were getting two King sized beds... We decided that wasn't too much of a problem because we had a lovely view over Amsterdam and we could even open the doors and let in some fresh air , so we set off to explore the gorgeous city. The hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam so everything is available at your door step, which was really fabulous. However after a full day of walking we came back in dire need of a cup of tea. We had two cups and two tea bags, so we asked for some more of each from room service. They turned up 3 hours later when we were asleep (after ringing again), we had just waited too long. The following morning we asked for an extra towel as there was literally only 2 of everything. After another day of cycling and walking we came back to find the extra cup had been taken and still two of everything. So I rang again to ask for more tea bags, a cup and a towel, only to be told that we were in a room for two people. I explained that I had in fact requested a family room, they said that it wasn't in their system. I asked if they could change it and thay said no... I asked if it was possible to have an extra cup, tea bags and a towel and they seemed to be inconvenienced by this request...they did eventually bring up a towel and cup, but the tea bags were a bridge too far. We had such a laugh in the end, especially when we received only two chocolates the first night, and none for the following two nights.
We had been travelling in Europe for 6 weeks and we have stayed in wonderful family run bed and breakfasts, various apartments, and resorts that put this kind of service and hospitality to shame. I am a member of the Marriott club and every time we stay in one we find it is like something out of Faulty Towers. I will never understand how offering the little things like extra tea bags, a cup and an extra towel, or even chocolates, is against hotel policy, we have come to accept that free wifi is out of the question in the big chain hotels, but we are rapidly coming to the conclusion that star ratings really don't mean much at the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonameAussieinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing