We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location, Accommodation a bit old and "European service"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #78 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Location, Accommodation a bit old and "European service"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed there for 4 days last month, first time in Amsterdam and i have to admit it's the best location i could have found. Walking distance from the pedestrian arena with all outdoors activity in summer, concerts, improvised shows, coffee shops and a bit further walk, the red light area.
Concerning the accommodation, it's comfortable but looks a bit old. The ceiling is very low in the lobby and the entrance is quite dark. Rooms are ok but nothing shining. Staff is nice but nothing close to the service you would get in Asia or in top hotels like Four Seasons. Maybe i am spoiled by living in asia for so long.
Overall, good location to visit the city and hang around, but the price is that of luxurious hotels with only ok service/accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,082
    317
    91
    50
See reviews for
675
733
112
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
724 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel. It is an older hotel (I was told by the manager that it was the first Marriott opened outside of North America, I am not sure if it is really true) but it has been updated and upgraded. The lobby and the rooms are modern and spotless. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms are fairly large for a European hotel: we are a family of four, and we were accommodated in one room. The location of the hotel is very good, around the corner from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum as well as Vondel Park. It is about a half hour walk to the Central station, but in front of the hotel there are a number of tram lines that all go to the Central station.
During our stay, we were lucky to have gold Marriott rewards status as part of a promotion that Marriott had which entitled us to free Wi-Fi Access as well as access to the Executive Lounge. The lounge is open from 6:00 till Midnight everyday, with an extensive breakfast in the morning and snacks and drinks including beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks in the evenings. This was followed by deserts from 7:30 till 9:30 every evening. The snacks were quite high quality: one evening they served Angus beef sliders which were absolutely wonderful.
Our hotel stay happened to occur on my birthday. On that day, we arrived to the room in the evening to find a card and a box of cookies. They must have flagged the day from my Marriott rewards card. It is a small touch that really impressed us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Amsterdam Marriott. Let me say first that this is a modern hotel in a very nice location. If you are looking for a "Amsterdam type" hotel in an old canal house type setting, this is not the place for you.

The hotel is located in the Leideseplein area of Amsterdam which means many restaurants, bars and clubs very close by. The Holland Casino is across the street (although not worth the visit), The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are in easy walking distance as well as Vondel Park. The hotel is very near the tram stop so access to many locations in Amsterdam is very easy.

The only negative that I can say about the hotel is the charge for internet connection. At 20 euros per day, it is very expensive and not worth the cost. There are many cafes nearby with free internet, so that would be the best way to go.

The hotel room was very nice. It is standard Marriott type room. Our room was on the 10th floor facing Leidsestraat, but there was absolutely no noise except for the occasional police car passing by.

We recommend paying the extra 42.50 euro per person for access to the Concierge lounge. It is located on the first floor and is open from 7a.m. till midnight. It has a great breakfast buffet, snacks during the day, light dinner and desert in the evenings. Also, free access to drinks (soda, water, great coffee selections, beer, wine and some liquor at all times.) It actually will save you money on the cost of food and drinks during your stay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. You can also buy a one day tram pass (7.50 euro) at the concierge desk for use on all the trams in Amsterdam. The pass is good for 24 hours from when first activated when you get on your first tram.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms with a balcony so I'm not sure I would even try. Ask for a high room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spursone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Marriott Amsterdam has been one of our favorite hotels for the 20 years we've been going to the city. Unbeatable location and just far enough - a few hundred yards - from the wildness of Leidseplein to keep the noise level low. A recent renovation brought the hotel up to modern standards and, if you have access to the club lounge, a very nice full breakfast in the European style (meats, fish, breads, etc).

I prefer the rooms that face Leidseplein, there is a good view of the city from the high floors. The bar and hotel restaurant are at or just above average for a 5 star hotel, but seriously you don't go to Amsterdam and drink/eat in the hotel, do you? Of course not!

Rooms have both Euro and USA plugs in them, great for charging phones and laptops. The staff is very helpful and will print anything you send them via email and deliver to your room. The beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: High floor, facing Leidseplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very good location near Leidseplein, canals, and parks. There's a charming pancake house across the road on the canal(a decent breakfast...the hotel breakfast prices are ridiculous). The bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip. More places to put suitcases would be useful in the room, we ended up having to lay ours out on the floor. The room was more spacious than a typical European hotel room ( and more expensive!). For the price paid, I would really expect there to be free Wi-Fi in at least one area of the hotel, but there was only a fee based service.

There's nothing at all wrong with this hotel, but given the price, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and that our Marriott Revive beds were the most comfortable of your entire European trip. A luggage stand is available in all of our rooms, and we can provide more stands, when requested. In order to provide more value to a guests stay, we offer executive rooms which include internet, breakfast and snacks in our Executive Lounge, with an exceptional service and value. Our guests also have the opportunity to use free internet service in our Midtown Grill steakhouse as well as the Sorels lounge while having a great steak or sipping one of our cocktails of the week! Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a conference in the hotel . Food , service and organisation all excellent . Special call out for bar staff . Great little hair salon on site . Only negative is charge for wifi which is a bit much considering room and conference rates !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EiboNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Marriott Amsterdam was a central location for our weekend trip to the Gracht City! It had convenient and safe parking for our bikes (we brought them from our home in 's-Hertogenbosch, NL), easy check in even though it was busy, and they valued my platinum membership by upgrading us to a suite with an amazing view on the 11th floor. We had great service and it was also easy to buy tickets to local attractions from the concierge at the front desk. Everyone was very accommodating and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks for a great experience from the brand I choose most when I travel, Marriott!

Room Tip: 11th floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing